[SOLVED] problem with pnst in porteus v09 and v01-alpha

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

[SOLVED] problem with pnst in porteus v09 and v01-alpha

Post#1 by crashman » 21 Feb 2011, 20:53

For connect via wifi to internet in my laptop i use ndiswrapper and small srcipt in rc.local:

Code: Select all

if lspci | grep -o AR2413 ; then
echo "ustawienie sieci bezprzewodowej" # echo say 'setting wifi'
modprobe ndiswrapper
iwconfig wlan0 essid HOME mode ad-hoc channel 3 key 1234567899
echo "przydzielanie adresu przez dhcp" # echo say 'dhcp broadcasting lease'
sleep 2
dhcpcd wlan0 -t 15
echo "done"
fi
In slax-remix-v08 work is very good but in porteus 09 and 01-alpha system hang in:

Code: Select all

dhcpcd wlan0 -t 15
and wait 15 second.

I use pns-tool for connect to internet if run from build network work fine but if buld zzz-pns-tools-config.lzm
and reboot system internet not work.
my rc.local:

Code: Select all

modprobe ndiswrapper
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf > /dev/null 2>&1 &
where is bug ?
Last edited by crashman on 22 Feb 2011, 21:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: problem with pnst in porteus v09 and v01-alpha

Post#2 by brokenman » 21 Feb 2011, 21:00

ndiswrapper would not compile for me with new kernel 2.6.38-rc3 so it was left 'as is' from v09. This should be fixed in next release.
You will also need to change your rc.local to suit your ndiswrapper connection script.

Code: Select all

iwconfig wlan0 essid HOME mode ad-hoc channel 3 key 1234567899 > /dev/null 2>&1 &
sleep 4
dhcpcd wlan0 -t 15
Please remember that this is an alpha release ... thanks for reporting your bug.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: problem with pnst in porteus v09 and v01-alpha

Post#3 by crashman » 22 Feb 2011, 20:27

dhcp run faster but wait for broadcasting lease 4-6 seconds !

EDIT:// Replace /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 from slax-remix-v08 network work fine

Thank you brokenman for help me

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] problem with pnst in porteus v09 and v01-alpha

Post#4 by fanthom » 23 Feb 2011, 09:49

@crashman
this is little bit strange....
i have compared /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 from slax-remix-v07 with Porteus-v1.0_alpha and found only one difference. This string is missing in current rc.inet1 implementation:

Code: Select all

/sbin/ifconfig $x up 2>/dev/null
will add it for the FINAL.

Thanks for sharing.
(brokenman - will send it to you)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply