Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#1 by Ed_P » 23 Mar 2014, 22:14

FWIW If when booting 3.0 the Task bar/panel height is enormously tall it can be corrected without rebooting.

RIGHT click on the Task Panel, click on Configure Panel, change Position to Top of desktop and click on Close. Repeat the process for the Task panel at the top of the desktop to move to it back to the bottom of the desktop.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#2 by brokenman » 23 Mar 2014, 23:53

I thought I killed this one but apparently not. I believe it happens because at times the first icon found for the panel apps are used and there is a bug in downsizing it. The remedy (i thought) was to remove the 48px size icon for spacefm so that it can only load the smaller icon. Please show me the output from a terminal of: find /usr/share/icons -name "spacefm*"

The other option to correct it is to open a terminal and issue: killall razor-panel

It's up to luck if it loads again super big. :wall:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#3 by Ed_P » 24 Mar 2014, 03:32

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ find /usr/share/icons -name "spacefm*"
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/24x24/apps/spacefm.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-cube-blue.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-cube-green.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-cube-red.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-folder-blue.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-folder-red.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-pyramid-blue.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-pyramid-green.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-48-pyramid-red.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-find.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm-root.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/spacefm.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/spacefm-128-cube-blue.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/spacefm-128-cube-green.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/spacefm-128-cube-red.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/spacefm-128-pyramid-blue.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/spacefm-128-pyramid-green.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/128x128/apps/spacefm-128-pyramid-red.png
/usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/48/spacefm-find.png
/usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/48/spacefm-root.png
/usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/48/spacefm.png
guest@porteus:~$ 
Do note, I am booted with my 2.1 save.dat file as extramod= so I can move my relevant files to 3.0's save.dat.
3.0's working power icon triggered the desire to upgrade for me.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#4 by brokenman » 24 Mar 2014, 16:24

I believe removing this icon should fix your problem with the panel starting in a large state.

/usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/48/spacefm.png
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#5 by Ed_P » 24 Mar 2014, 18:52

brokenman wrote:It's up to luck if it loads again super big. :wall:
Actually it happened twice today, once in Fresh Mode.
brokenman wrote:I believe removing this icon should fix your problem with the panel starting in a large state.
Unable to delete or rename. I suspect I will have use terminal mode. :(
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#6 by Ed_P » 25 Mar 2014, 18:27

Renamed the icon, Xspacefm.png, and today when I booted 3.0 the panel is high! And it became hugh when I opened Firefox. BTW This not the first time I have booted 3.0 since renaming the icon.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#7 by Ed_P » 25 Mar 2014, 23:59

After rebooting, and a normal panel height, I just noticed the panel grows abit when I open a Firefox window. And shrinks to normal when it closes. I don't recall this happening before.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#8 by brokenman » 26 Mar 2014, 00:25

Thanks. This confirms it is the way in which the icon is searched and subsequently resized. Hopefully it gets some love in the lxdeqt merger.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#9 by Ed_P » 26 Mar 2014, 01:22

brokenman wrote:Thanks. This confirms it is the way in which the icon is searched and subsequently resized.
Even when it's not found?

BTW I rebooted to Fresh mode and it open high again. In that it only happens when booting and it's easy to correct without rebooting it's not a show stopper.

I think I should rename the icon back. Renaming it didn't fix the problem.
lxdeqt merger
?
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#10 by Ed_P » 26 Mar 2014, 03:08

brokenman wrote:Thanks. This confirms it is the way in which the icon is searched
Image If the search is for *spacefm.png my rename may not have worked as well as hoped for. Let me try a different name.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# cd /usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/48/
root@porteus:/usr/share/icons/Faenza/apps/48# mv Xspacefm.png spaceXfm.png
Lets see how this variation works.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#11 by brokenman » 26 Mar 2014, 18:13

Both name changes will work the same. What happens is the system searches for the icon of this name. The first one it finds is 48px and it uses this one in the panel and downsizes it to fit. Somewhere therein lies the bug. Firefox no doubt also has various size icons and the same applies for this if you have a firefox icon in the panel.

RazorQT and LXDE are merging sometime soon (it has already begun) and so I am hoping this will be addressed. I will build what they have so far and test it.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#12 by roadie » 26 Mar 2014, 21:48

RazorQT and LXDE are merging sometime soon (it has already begun) and so I am hoping this will be addressed.
I put together an Lxde-Qt desktop this morning from ponce's packages....seems really nice and a good combination of Lxde and RazorQt.
Still working out the glitches, but up to now, I really like it......no issues with the panel.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#13 by Ed_P » 29 Mar 2014, 04:16

Well I can confirm the icon rename isn't the solution. I experienced the high panel this afternoon when booting.
Ed

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 561
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#14 by tome » 05 Apr 2014, 19:10

you can try edit icon in: '/usr/share/applications/spacefm.desktop'

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3053
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Razor QT 3.0 Task panel height

Post#15 by Ed_P » 11 Apr 2014, 18:19

A script that would move the task panel from the bottom to the top and then back to the bottom again might prove useful. Or one that switches it's location depending on where it is would work also,
Ed

Post Reply