?? I've lost a thread!!

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3398
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#1 by Ed_P » 21 Mar 2014, 04:21

There was a thread about the Razor QT System desktop icon but I don't see it even when I click on View your posts. What am I missing??
Ed

dustbunnies
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 01 Feb 2014, 09:17
Distribution: hop_around
Location: Calgary

Re: ?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#2 by dustbunnies » 21 Mar 2014, 07:06

Ed, it sounds like you should take your medication and go lay down :crazy:


Your post reminded me that I've also lost track of a thread here.
Someone asked about preferred programming languages nowadays...
...and the posts discussed CVS versioning (version control) and IDEs.
As I recall, the OP mentioned that he "tried and uninstalled" SVN (hmm, or was it git?)
Does that thread ring a bell for anyone reading this?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: ?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#3 by brokenman » 21 Mar 2014, 13:24

What am I missing??
Searching for it. I moved it o the appropriate category.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3398
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: ?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#4 by Ed_P » 21 Mar 2014, 14:33

brokenman wrote:Searching for it. I moved it o the appropriate category.
Well, it doesn't show up in:

search.php?keywords=razor-config
search.php?search_id=egosearch
Bug Reports
viewforum.php?f=123
x86_64 xzm modules

Even the link shown at the top of this webpage:

https://www.google.com/webhp?rls=ig#new ... fig&rls=ig

comes up empty. So what kind of search do you recommend I use??

Did you use the Set Invisible option on the thread? You certainly didn't use the Leave a link to the new topic option.

And did you post a solution to the problem before moving it? Image
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5117
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: ?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#5 by francois » 21 Mar 2014, 20:16

@brokenman:

Ed_P seems to be right. Googling with the keywords: razor-config ed_p porteus, yields the following link which is empty:
https://www.google.ca/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... 2401,d.aWc
Porteus - View topic - The System desktop icon on Razor QT
forum.porteus.org › Desktop Help › RazorQT‎
Traduire cette page
Il y a 3 jours - 9 messages - ‎2 auteurs
razor-config else echo fi. brokenman wrote: I will assume you can reproduce this problem in always fresh mode. Yes. Ed. Ed_P: Shogun
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: ?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#6 by brokenman » 21 Mar 2014, 20:43

lnteresting. First I moved the thread to the RazorQT category and left a shadow topic in place. Then after one day I removed the shadow topic. I guess removing the shadow removed the topic. My apologies Ed_P for any time spent searching. My answer is:

You can find where an executable lives via a terminal: which razor-config
This is the path you should put in the desktop file.

Here is a cached version of the missing page.

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s ... clnk&gl=br
This was found by typing into google: site:forum.porteus.org razor-config and then clicking on the 'cached' option.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3398
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: ?? I've lost a thread!!

Post#7 by Ed_P » 22 Mar 2014, 02:53

brokenman wrote:lnteresting. First I moved the thread to the RazorQT category and left a shadow topic in place. Then after one day I removed the shadow topic. I guess removing the shadow removed the topic.
Rookie Admin. Did you pass the Admin test before becoming one? Isn't there a FAQ you can read that tells you how to move a topic without loosing it? Boy!!

:ROFL:
My apologies Ed_P for any time spent searching.
I understand brokenman. I've done it also. Apology accepted.
My answer is:

You can find where an executable lives via a terminal: which razor-config
This is the path you should put in the desktop file.
Another interesting command. Thank you.

But I did have the correct path in the desktop icon, I mistyped it in the lost posting. And the icon now does indeed work. :Yahoo!:

Thank you for helping fix the icon, and finding the lost thread. :beer: Is the reason the original script didn't work because I'm booting an ISO?
Ed

Post Reply