Porteus 3.0 final feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#91 by fanthom » 11 Apr 2014, 20:00

you should be able to redirect sound to HDMI in Smplayer/Gnome Mplayer preferences. this is what i do myself.
not sure how to do it for firefox, audio players and whole system sounds ...
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#92 by Rava » 11 Apr 2014, 21:24

fanthom wrote:you should be able to redirect sound to HDMI in Smplayer/Gnome Mplayer preferences. this is what i do myself.
not sure how to do it for firefox, audio players and whole system sounds ...
I need it system wide, aka also for Firefox and audacious, and at times audacity...

I used to hack one file, with the additional try and error runs prior that...

Me thinks, all this should be compiled into a HOWTO here on this very site... Cause it took some googling and putting together info, and reading posts and howto pages to have it all in the end...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#93 by Rava » 18 Apr 2014, 22:44

USB aborst when trying to update the databases:

Code: Select all

 alien  database updated.
                               
 Starting salix database update 
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5  DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT  DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz  DONE
Downloading: OPTIFEST.gz  DONE 
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2  DONE                          
bunzip2: /var/usm/salix/MANIFEST.bz2 is not a bzip2 file.
 
                                                                              
==============================================================================
WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!      
==============================================================================
One or more errors occurred while usm was running:
            
FATAL ERROR!           
usm update_database 203           
Could not decompress: MANIFEST.bz2
                                                                              
==============================================================================

sh-4.2#
Since this is a fatal error, the database update stops here... :cry:

Seems, the file is a simple gz instead:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt# file /var/usm/salix/MANIFEST.bz2
/var/usm/salix/MANIFEST.bz2: gzip compressed data, from Unix, max speed

And why I try to get the other databases one by one (not using menu /Updates/Update all) I get this , e.g. trying to download ponce.cc database:

Code: Select all

sh-4.2#
After exiting and starting usmgui anew, this time again trying to update the single database files, it stops here:

Code: Select all

usm -u ponce
sh-4.2# usm -u ponce
 Starting ponce database update
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5.gz  DONE
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2  DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT.gz  DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz -->
Then, trying to update another database, I get the same error as above with the ponce.cc, just the empty sh-4.2 prompt but nothing happens.

It is possible to run e.g. "usm -u slacky" in an root terminal, though...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#94 by Rava » 19 Apr 2014, 00:14

Sadly, even after I created all databases, and trying to create a module (gimp, as in: gimp-2.8.6_x86_64-1.tgz)

I get this:

Code: Select all

Fatal error: LIBS.TXT
and

Code: Select all

Could not find LIBS.TXT
But why?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/var/usm# find . -name LIBS.TXT
./slacky/LIBS.TXT
./slackware/LIBS.TXT
./ponce/LIBS.TXT
./salix/LIBS.TXT
./alien/LIBS.TXT
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#95 by brokenman » 19 Apr 2014, 18:02

Are you using Porteus v2.1 as your profile says?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#96 by Rava » 21 Apr 2014, 09:45

brokenman wrote:Are you using Porteus v2.1 as your profile says?
No, it's 3.0 x86-64 finale version...

____________________________________

What can be done so that Porteus not needs to update every time the system caches:

Code: Select all

Additional xzm modules have been found - updating system caches
Is it possible to include the modules I use all the time, like thunderbird?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#97 by brokenman » 24 Apr 2014, 01:17

I need to update the database which I will have time to do in two days.
What can be done so that Porteus not needs to update every time the system caches:
I don't understand what you mean here.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#98 by Rava » 24 Apr 2014, 06:29

brokenman wrote:I need to update the database which I will have time to do in two days.
Please do post in here an update status so we know when it's done. :)
brokenman wrote:What can be done so that Porteus not needs to update every time the system caches:
I don't understand what you mean here.
When booting, the system tells me

Code: Select all

Additional xzm modules have been found - updating system caches
I want to know if it is possible to create the wanted caches in advance. (So that it's no longer needed to do so with each bootup) Does Porteus use the names of the modules, or does it use md5sums of modules to determine if it needs to update system caches or not?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#99 by brokenman » 24 Apr 2014, 12:45

When you boot with extra modules inside the modules folder, Porteus needs to update the caches for the modules. The same as when you activate a module, or install a slackware package. This is so the items appear in the menus and other caches are updated.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#100 by Rava » 24 Apr 2014, 20:31

brokenman wrote:When you boot with extra modules inside the modules folder, Porteus needs to update the caches for the modules. The same as when you activate a module, or install a slackware package. This is so the items appear in the menus and other caches are updated.
So... there is no way to create these caches so that it's not needed at each bootime?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#101 by fanthom » 24 Apr 2014, 21:04

our system for updating caches is very smart - it checks additional modules for the presence of certain files and updates only specific caches when it's necessary.

i dont want users to start messing with this otherwise we get plenty of bug reports like 'squares instead of fonts'.
if you feel you are advanced enough then please have a look on /etc/rc.d/rc.S script.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#102 by Rava » 24 Apr 2014, 22:01

fanthom wrote:have a look on /etc/rc.d/rc.S script.
Thanks for the heads up. :)
fanthom wrote:if you feel you are advanced enough
Let's see about that... If it is a bit commented then I will easily find my way around...

And I promise not to file in bug reports.... hacking a system like so is kinda voiding any (non-existent) warranties... :D
Cheers!
Yours Rava

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#103 by pchan » 29 Apr 2014, 08:07

Using Porteus 3.0 on my msi u270 amd notebook.

Everything works fine. Except for bluetooth. But then i seldom use bluetooth and I don't know how to get it working even after reading the forum.

I seldom post here because my knowledge of computer and linux is very little.
But I do know that Porteus is one of the BEST operating system I have used.

I sometimes use X-Precise puppy linux and sometimes Porteus 3 XFCE.

I have tried ubuntu, xubuntu, zorin, bodhi but I always come back to puppy linux and now Porteus.

I am very impressed with the porteus modular system. It gets my computer working so quickly and installation of softwares was just a matter of activate or de activate. Boot speed is amazing! And root access was so convenient. Cheat codes makes it so flexible. The one thing that porteus can do that puppy linux cannot do (or I don't know how to do yet) is to place my "change / save" file anywhere I want and it doesn't have to be in the root folder or the system folder.

But puppy linux of course have tons of free softwares, thanks to the community of developers.

Anyway, both puppy linux and Porteus are now my favorite linus OS without bluetooth. In Puppy linux, I also never learnt how to get bluetooth working.

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#104 by pchan » 29 Apr 2014, 08:11

Something just happened while I was typing the earlier post. Suddenly, while i was typing halfway, I could not type in any letters with my keyboard into the texbox. I wonder if this is the proble of Opera 12.6?

Another thing I want to ask is is there a way to get Chrome working under root? Chrome doesn't want to load up under root.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1090
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#105 by wread » 29 Apr 2014, 11:40

When left unattended for say 15 minutes my Toshiba Satellite crashes as soon as I move the mouse or press a key.
The process is so that I can see the Password window for a fraction of a second and then a black window and a cursor arrow....she is dead Jim! The rc version did the same, but there were no Password window.

I think that this is my system's fault. I have an old HP at home that does not crash under 3.0. Otherwise there were others complaining the same thing. :(

I tested it running bare: base_only, norootcopy and AF -without success-. :bad: The same USB runs ok in other machines. I will try running a memory test, this is an old laptop....

Any ideas??
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply