Porteus 3.0 final feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback -> eth0 and eth1 are swapped

Post#76 by att » 24 Mar 2014, 19:02

Hello,

I noticed that Porteus 3.0 sometimes calls the first ethernetcard "eth0", sometimes he calls it "eth1".

This is very inconvenient for me, because I have some /etc/rc.local - bootscripts and firewallscripts, etc. which are relying on the fact that the networkcard should always be the same device.

Any help with that?

att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#77 by att » 25 Mar 2014, 08:49

More feedback:

a) New TigerVNC 1.3.x needs a new command line so it will not resize the specified geometry settings:
vncserver -geometry 1280x1024 -extension RANDR

(The "-extension RANDR" is new and important)

b) Unfortunately, SABNZBD crashes now, and I do not know just what to do; he complains about md5 being deprecated:


bash-4.2$ /usr/local/src/SABnzbd-0.7.16/cherrypy/lib/cptools.py:8: DeprecationWarning: the md5 module is deprecated; use hashlib instead
from md5 import new as md5
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/src/SABnzbd-0.7.16/SABnzbd.py", line 44, in <module>
import cherrypy
File "/usr/local/src/SABnzbd-0.7.16/cherrypy/__init__.py", line 161, in <module>
from cherrypy import _cptools
File "/usr/local/src/SABnzbd-0.7.16/cherrypy/_cptools.py", line 226, in <module>
from cherrypy.lib import cptools, encoding, auth, static, tidy
File "/usr/local/src/SABnzbd-0.7.16/cherrypy/lib/cptools.py", line 8, in <module>
from md5 import new as md5
File "/usr/lib64/python2.6/md5.py", line 10, in <module>
from hashlib import md5
File "/usr/lib64/python2.6/hashlib.py", line 136, in <module>
md5 = __get_builtin_constructor('md5')
File "/usr/lib64/python2.6/hashlib.py", line 63, in __get_builtin_constructor
import _md5
ImportError: No module named _md5

[1]+ Exit 1 python /usr/local/src/SABnzbd-0.7.16/SABnzbd.py

Any help with that one would be greatly appreciated!!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#78 by fanthom » 25 Mar 2014, 21:53

I noticed that Porteus 3.0 sometimes calls the first ethernetcard "eth0", sometimes he calls it "eth1".
you must have 2 NICs in your PC so please run 'lspci -knn' and find drivers which supports them. now blacklist one which supposed to be eth1 and then load it with modprobe through rc.local (if you really need second NIC active).

Unfortunately, SABNZBD crashes now
do you have your python module up to date? python-2.7.5 is what we use in slackware-14.1/Porteus-3.x
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

att
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:09

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#79 by att » 26 Mar 2014, 06:25

a) Yes I need both cards, for forwarding some local traffic from one net to another; where and how to blacklist?
Both cards are on the motherboard and are, essentially, the same chipset (Realtek RTL 81xx something)........ !

b)Yes I use the same "python" that comes with the Porteus package.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#80 by fanthom » 26 Mar 2014, 22:08

@att
please follow this article to bind names to MAC:
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-linu ... sing-udev/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

yohap
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 10:53
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Berlin

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#81 by yohap » 27 Mar 2014, 13:14

The AMD Catalyst driver at
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/current/ ... 4-1ftm.xzm
does not seem to be working correctly with Porteus 3.0 final. The following error appears in Xorg.0.log:

Code: Select all

[    16.913] (EE) fglrx(0): atiddxDriScreenInit failed. Probably kernel module missing or incompatible. 
[    16.913] (WW) fglrx(0): ***********************************************************
[    16.913] (WW) fglrx(0): * DRI initialization failed                               *
[    16.913] (WW) fglrx(0): * kernel module (fglrx.ko) may be missing or incompatible *
[    16.913] (WW) fglrx(0): * 2D and 3D acceleration disabled                         *
[    16.913] (WW) fglrx(0): ***********************************************************
However, when I compile driver 14.3 from the AMD download page, the driver loads correctly. It also worked with 3.0-rc1 and Catalyst 13.12. I suspect the driver module was not compiled against the kernel of the final version of Porteus 3.0. Can anyone verify this?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#82 by fanthom » 27 Mar 2014, 21:48

@yohap
could be a driver fault or there is something on your side (maybe you are still booting from rc2 kernel)? please generate xpsinfo report and link here.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

yohap
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 10:53
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Berlin

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#83 by yohap » 28 Mar 2014, 15:14

Thanks for the fast response, here is the xpsinfo dump: http://pastebin.com/ZAAdfAnD

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#84 by fanthom » 29 Mar 2014, 09:31

@yohap
this thread suggest that it could be really a kernel mismatch:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=156665
so tomorrow i'll rebuild this module or even bump to 14.3 :wink:

EDIT:
please test updated modules before i push them on the server:
http://dl.porteus.org/i486/testing/amd- ... 6-1ftm.xzm
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/am ... 4-1ftm.xzm
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

yohap
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 10:53
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Berlin

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#85 by yohap » 31 Mar 2014, 09:26

I can confirm that the x86_64 version now loads correctly! Thanks :)

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#86 by cttan » 01 Apr 2014, 02:58

Hi,
locate complaint about no db:-

Code: Select all

# locate
locate: fatal error: Could not find user database '/var/lib/slocate/slocate.db':  No such file or directory
I ran locate -u and after that able to use as per normal.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#87 by fanthom » 01 Apr 2014, 12:37

@yohap
thanks - removed old drivers.

@cttan
i think this is ok as i never created this db and rather wont do as per different modules which can be included in the ISO.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#88 by francois » 01 Apr 2014, 17:27

cttan wrote: I ran locate -u and after that able to use as per normal.
You need to update so that slocate gets to know what files you have on the computer. If you plug a usb key or create new files and want to search them once more you have to do:

Code: Select all

slocate -u 
This seems to me normal. 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

alexandre-samuel
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 05 Apr 2014, 02:06
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#89 by alexandre-samuel » 09 Apr 2014, 05:31

simplescreenrecorder does not run in RazorQt.

The advanced option of gtk-recordMyDesktop does not work in RazorQt.

The preset option of WinFF is confusing.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#90 by Rava » 11 Apr 2014, 12:28

Was anything substantial changed when it comes to sound via HDMI?

So far, on my only notebook (incl. PC) that I can currently switch onto my only HDMI monitor (my TV) end in the same with 2.1, 3.0rc1 and 3.0rc2: no sound via HDMI, not by default. (First it worked well on 2.1, but after a crash and reboot, without any changes it no longer worked... :roll:)
I think there should be an easier way to get this running, for me hacking or creating text files is okay, but for some users that is a no go...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply