Porteus 3.0 final feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#151 by Rava » 15 May 2014, 12:21

brokenman wrote:but why is it deleting its temp dir when it's still running?
I don't know. I can not reproduce it. The only time this folder is deleted is in a 'cleanup' function which is only called when the user exits the script, or the script exits gracefully.

And, did you test it already? Could you manage to reciprocate some of my listed errors?
Yes. I tested it thoroughly before release. No I can not reproduce ANY of your errors from the latest version 3.1.1. The files download without error for me. This makes it hard to trouble shoot.
I could run a vanilla Porteus 3.0 without any changes and look if it behaves, or misbehaves again...

I also could put in some debug info with the use of echo in the script itself and see what it does, and when it does delete the temp dir and such...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#152 by brokenman » 16 May 2014, 03:10

I'll take a further look after this weekend when I have time to focus a little more on USM. If you can find at what stage it deletes the tmp file in the meantime it would be great.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE, Openbox
Location: England

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback [SOLVED]

Post#153 by Philip » 17 May 2014, 14:19

I downloaded mate.xzm desktop for the purpose of testing adding an extra desktop to my Porteus lxde. After adding the cheatcode load=003-mate.xzm to porteus.cfg I rebooted and found that I was presented with a login screen, with the text 'Press F1 to toggle desktops'.

By pressing F1, additional text presented itself to say which desktop session was in force - and it looks as if the whole range of desktops would be available, but how can this be? I have only loaded lxde and mate

I attempted to login as guest with mate, but the screen just returned to the login edit box again. I tried root and the same happened. Note I am running on a USB flash disk formatted to FAT32.

The only desktop I was able to login to was lxde.
Last edited by Philip on 18 May 2014, 10:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#154 by fanthom » 17 May 2014, 15:20

having two desktops activated at the same time is not recommended. please use 'noload=lxde load=mate' and you should have no problems.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#155 by Rava » 17 May 2014, 17:43

Another issue...

in XFCe 3.0 x86-64, the menu of audacious looks weird, without any spaces seperating them.

Look at the screenshot, with Firefox as example like it should be above, and the audacious menu below:
Image

(Speaking of FFx, has anyone already checked out the newest "Chrome style / look alike FFx", aka Firefox V29 ? Cause I already downloaded it (2014-05-01 : firefox-29.0_en-GB_x86-64.tar.bz2) but was too busy / too lazy to test it for now...)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#156 by brokenman » 17 May 2014, 22:15

I've played with the new firefox. I was using chrome at the time and installed firefox to test something. When it opened I had to double check that I was in the right browser. I hate it.

I notice a markable smoothness in chrome when watching flash and doing heavy processing (compiling). The flash is smooth as silk. In firefox the more processing power being used, the less smooth the flash experience.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#157 by Rava » 18 May 2014, 09:34

Seems, not only usm is messed up in my system, password-wise...

When I su in a terminal, the su accepts my (correct) root password.

But when I want to run, say, xzm2dir from a non root terminal, I get the little window for the password, and type the very same correct password into it, it asks me this 3 times, (I type the correct password 3 times), then xzm2dir aborts, as if the password was wrong!?

(xzm2ditr exits with code 1, but without any info in the terminal what went wrong...)

Why is that so?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#158 by tome » 18 May 2014, 19:01

@Rava Change password but don't use special characters i.e. blank characters. You can replace psu (gnsu) with something other - I use for example old ktsuss. (I have updated Firefox from "Help->About Firefox" menu - idea of new chrome style is nice but some extensions could not work and Customize menu doesn't offer (flexible) space for toolbars - I have set it for my profile in previous fx)

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#159 by Rava » 19 May 2014, 19:44

@tome:
No special characters like space is in my password, so, why won't it work?

Is it really an issue with the way dir2xzm or usm trying to change to root? Sounds plausible, cause both fail in the same way, while running from a root terminal makes them both behave as they should...

____________________________________

Aaand another issue: often the system time got set back to 2 hours, but I want the hardware clock set to local time, and I set the TZ to Europe/Berlin, aka Western European Time, or now: Western European Summer Time...

Is that bug fixed with the update:
001-core_fixes-20140408:
- fixed 'changes-time' when run from guest account
//edit: nope, I looked into the opt/porteus-scripts/changes-time script and it seems to be about something else... :(
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#160 by Rava » 22 Jun 2014, 13:13

Any news with my above issues:
  • the audacious menu (screenshot above)
    the su / root terminal behaving OK, but GUI su for dir2xzm and usm not working
    date/time issue
Can I give more info? What would be helpful?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#161 by brokenman » 22 Jun 2014, 14:17

Are you testing in fresh mode?

Please give the output of:
file /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/psu
gnsu leafpad
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#162 by Rava » 22 Jun 2014, 16:42

brokenman wrote:Are you testing in fresh mode?
Yes and no. I always run my system in fresh mode, without save at the end.
But I have some settings saved in a local module (or also in rootcopy folder, when I run Porteus from a Linux FS)
brokenman wrote:Please give the output of:
file /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/psu
gnsu leafpad

Code: Select all

$ file /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/psu
/opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/psu: symbolic link to `/usr/bin/gnsu'
and then:

Code: Select all

$ gnsu leafpad
$ 
(Again, 3 times the prompt (Small GUI window) asking for the Password, bit to no prevail. And without any error message in the terminal)

And it seems someone else has a similar issue, but he posted a new thread for that, and not in here. (I tried to find it again but to no prevail...)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#163 by brokenman » 22 Jun 2014, 20:07

So the first thing is to test without any of your added changes. Just the basic vanilla Porteus. Check that your sudoers file was not altered. It should have: Defaults rootpw somewhere near the top. Have you added a new user?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#164 by Rava » 22 Jun 2014, 20:24

The first not out-commented lines are these:

Code: Select all

Defaults rootpw
root ALL=(ALL) ALL
guest ALL=(ALL) ALL
Yep.... dummy me found the issue.... The main user it not guest, I moved its name, permission and folder in /home to "rava".... (cause I don't want to just be a "guest" at my own system... :) ) but forgot to edit the /etc/sudoers file... *facedesks* :wall:

Now I get this:

Code: Select all

$ gnsu leafpad
sudo: leafpad: command not found
Since XFCe has no leafpad, but mousepad. :D

But... when I run gnsu mousepad from the very same terminal, I got not again asked about the root password...

Does gnsu somehow remember I already typed the root password in that very terminal? Strange....

Same with starting USM from XFCe's menu.... First time I got asked about the root pw, but after exitinmg USM and starting it again, USM starts up all by itself, without the asking for the root pw.

Should that really be that way? I see a security issue in that. :(
or is there yet another setup file I need to change "guest" into "rava"?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5516
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Post#165 by brokenman » 22 Jun 2014, 23:44

Does gnsu somehow remember I already typed the root password in that very terminal?
Yes it remembers. The default is 5 minutes. It can be changed to whatever you like or removed.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply