Screen saver slide show

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
Post Reply
ericz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Mar 2014, 23:31
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Screen saver slide show

Post#1 by ericz » 06 Mar 2014, 18:13

Is it possible to have a slide show of images play instead of going to a black screen when the screen saver kicks in?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Screen saver slide show

Post#2 by fanthom » 06 Mar 2014, 21:44

you could disable DPMS (this is the black screen you have mentioned) and enable our default screensaver in the wizard. if not happy with it then you'll have to add xscreensaver package, resolve deps and figure out how to start and stop it.
bit of work...
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

ericz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Mar 2014, 23:31
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Re: Screen saver slide show

Post#3 by ericz » 07 Mar 2014, 14:55

I disabled DPMS and enabled the screensaver in the wizard but it doesn't seem to do anything. I've tried several times. What is the screensaver supposed to show? Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Screen saver slide show

Post#4 by fanthom » 07 Mar 2014, 15:16

check the little twister on left down corner - it moves around the screen, sometimes there are 2 twisters :)
http://i57.tinypic.com/ifmvi9.jpg

default delay before launching screensaver is 5 mins so maybe change it to 1 for testing.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

ericz
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 05 Mar 2014, 23:31
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Re: Screen saver slide show

Post#5 by ericz » 10 Mar 2014, 15:01

Got the screensaver working but it leaves twisted areas behind it every couple minutes which distorts the text I'm trying to display. Plus a few times it didn't deactivate when starting to use the kiosk again. Weird.

Post Reply