[Solved] How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
AiR-0nE
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Mar 2014, 10:08
Distribution: zorin-os
Location: France

[Solved] How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Post#1 by AiR-0nE » 05 Mar 2014, 10:52

Hi,

I search but not found a way to tweak firefox like i need.
I plan to use in future the PXE option so i understand to not use the rootcopy folder.
I would like to disable search and adress bar but keep a custom "homepage button" , back and forward and important : tabs !
I dont kwow if it's in 003-settings.xzm or 002-firefox.xzm and and a way to do it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :good:
Last edited by AiR-0nE on 06 Mar 2014, 08:38, edited 1 time in total.

AiR-0nE
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Mar 2014, 10:08
Distribution: zorin-os
Location: France

Re: How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Post#2 by AiR-0nE » 05 Mar 2014, 12:53

I think i found a good start :

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Localstore.rdf

And the file is in 003-setiings.xzm (home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default/localstore.rdf

But i dont know what i need to edit in this file to get the customization that i want :(

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Post#3 by fanthom » 05 Mar 2014, 15:35

yes - localstore.rdf is the file you need to modify. here is how i did it:
- back your existing .mozilla folder
- copy .mozilla from 003-settings.xzm to your /home/username folder
- launch firefox and exit fullscreen with F11 key
- right mouse click on navigation bar and choose: 'Customize'
- add 'fexible space' component next to the homepage button
- remove URL bar
- go to fullscreen again and close firefox
- copy modified localstore.rdf back to 003-settings.xzm
- restore your original .mozilla

effect:
http://i61.tinypic.com/11jrjvc.jpg

btw: moving this thread to 'User's modifications to the Kiosk ISO' category where i did not supposed to be involved.
well - sometimes i can make exceptions :wink:
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

AiR-0nE
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Mar 2014, 10:08
Distribution: zorin-os
Location: France

Re: How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Post#4 by AiR-0nE » 06 Mar 2014, 08:38

Thank you fanthom !

Exactly what i was looking for :good:

lemon
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 02 Dec 2015, 13:46
Distribution: Slackware
Location: ITALY

Re: [Solved] How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Post#5 by lemon » 18 Dec 2015, 08:02

I'm sorry, this thread is marked as solved and about 18 months old, but I'd like to understand what phantom meant with "backup your existing .mozilla folder".
As i cannot make these modification (right klick on navigation bar...) on Porteus Kiosk I wonder where to make there. Obviously I have to do it on a second computer, maybe it could be a Windows one, too?
Maybe someone could explain these steps more detailed?

Thank you very very much

Lemon

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: [Solved] How to customize Firefox Toolbar ?

Post#6 by fanthom » 18 Dec 2015, 10:01

Hello lemon,

This thread is old and i dont think the same tricks still apply to latest Firefox with Australis UI.
Please post what you would like to achieve.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply