Kiosk Not Resetting

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
godzilla8nj
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 19:22
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: USA

Kiosk Not Resetting

Post#1 by godzilla8nj » 04 Mar 2014, 20:42

I used the wizard to create several kiosks with static IPs. I chose a 2-minute idle reset for each, but it isn't working for any. Running from USB.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Kiosk Not Resetting

Post#2 by fanthom » 04 Mar 2014, 20:53

firefox will be restarted only if an activity is detected. move the mouse or press a key on the keyboard and it should reset.
if there is no activity detected since last reset then there is no need to reset firefox (save some CPU cycles/power).

please let me know in case it does not work even when you move the mouse.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

godzilla8nj
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Jan 2014, 19:22
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: USA

Re: Kiosk Not Resetting

Post#3 by godzilla8nj » 04 Mar 2014, 22:10

That is a very clever idea and not what I expected so I'm glad you told me, however it doesn't appear to be working. I left one for an hour unattended. No reset.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Kiosk Not Resetting

Post#4 by fanthom » 04 Mar 2014, 22:35

will check it myself tomorrow morning.
would be good if you could upload your ISO somewhere and send me a link on fanthom@porteus.org so i would double check if you have selected proper options in the wizard.

thanks

EDIT
checked and everything is ok
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply