Blank Desktop and Menu Icons On XFCE Install

Get help with MATE specific problems
Post Reply
jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Blank Desktop and Menu Icons On XFCE Install

Post#1 by jimwg » 01 Mar 2014, 03:41

Greetings:

If you boot MATE (3.0rc1) on a flash that was installed for XFCE, only blank desktop and menu and title bar icons appear and I lose configs for wifi and desktop images. Everything else seems to work well, but how could I fix this condition?

Thanks

Jim in NYC
Porteus 3.0rc1

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Blank Desktop and Menu Icons On XFCE Install

Post#2 by brokenman » 01 Mar 2014, 18:10

In theory there should be no difference. You should be able to move the xfce module out of the base folder, drop in the mate module and reboot to a mate desktop. The first test would be to do exactly this and then boot with no changes to see if the problem resides within the changes folder/file. If all is good then start looking at changes within the user directory.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Blank Desktop and Menu Icons On XFCE Install

Post#3 by fanthom » 01 Mar 2014, 20:34

please run /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/update-caches (name of the script could be little different), relogin and see if that helps.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Blank Desktop and Menu Icons On XFCE Install

Post#4 by brokenman » 07 Mar 2014, 01:29

Yep that will be it. Changes is storing the menu caches from xfce. I was going to send you a cache file script we use here for developing but i see fanthom has pointed out a more elegant solution. I lost track of this thread and just remembered to answer. :oops:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply