Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Igor
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 05 Feb 2014, 14:16
Distribution: porteus

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#16 by Igor » 10 Feb 2014, 07:50

.
Last edited by Igor on 04 Dec 2015, 16:28, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#17 by fanthom » 10 Feb 2014, 09:51

@ncmprhnsbl
AMD driver compiled so i assumed everything is ok (i have HD 4550 so couldn't check myself).
could you boot to text mode and run 'psinfo' report -> save on usb/hd -> switch to working OS and upload to pastebin.ca please.

@Igor
a) please upload xpsinfo raport and link here
b) btrfs is compiled as external kernel module so you cant boot from partition formatted with it but you should be able to access it after booting. dont think btrfs is stable yet but maybe for next porteus release (kernel 3.15?) i compile it directly into kernel and add support to the installer. will see.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#18 by ncmprhnsbl » 10 Feb 2014, 11:39

@fanthom,
here you go..
http://pastebin.ca/2637816
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#19 by Axel » 10 Feb 2014, 15:13

fanthom wrote:@Axel
please generate xpsinfo report for porteus-2.1 and 3.0-rc2 and link both here so i can make comparison.

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#20 by jimwg » 10 Feb 2014, 17:04

Greetings!

Thanks for this update!

Is it possible for someone running 2.1 or 3.0rc1 to have a script that yanks 3.0rc2 modules and vital support files off the web and replaces and updates their current set-up without going through the ISO route, even if it has to be done via a 2nd flash? Just thinking newbie and surfer dabbler ease here.

(As a side issue that belongs another topic, I know -- will 3.0 someday allow one to run Stellarium and Kingsoft WPS in XFCE?)

Thanks!

Jim in NYC

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#21 by fanthom » 10 Feb 2014, 20:58

@Axel
for some reason 'powernow-k8' was not loaded in 3.0-rc2. please run 'modprobe powernow-k8' as root and let me know if that helped.

@ncmprhnsbl
you have i7 + dedicated AMD GPU (two GPU cards). did fglrx work in this combination with porteus-2.1?
could you boot to text mode once again, then run 'X -configure' and upload /var/log/Xorg.0.log to pastebin.com (pastebin.ca cut your last report).

@jimwg
no plans for automatic upgrades as it's not possible to discover from where the kernel was loaded in case when one is using 3rd party bootloader.
updater would update 000-kernel.xzm but not vmlinuz = broken system.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#22 by Axel » 10 Feb 2014, 23:43

fanthom wrote:@Axel
for some reason 'powernow-k8' was not loaded in 3.0-rc2. please run 'modprobe powernow-k8' as root and let me know if that helped.
After run 'modprobe powernow-k8' as root, the cpufreq works as should be. Image

Image

Right now is running in 'ondemand' mode:

Image



Thanks so much for your effort and support. Image




Cheers! Image

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#23 by ncmprhnsbl » 11 Feb 2014, 00:40

fanthom wrote:@ncmprhnsbl
you have i7 + dedicated AMD GPU (two GPU cards). did fglrx work in this combination with porteus-2.1?
oops, it seems i never tested it :oops: ... now i have.. X starts okay but i don't see fglrx listed in modules.... heres 2.1 xorg.0.log http://pastebin.com/63HGdiie (text mode -- X -configure)

and heres 3.0 xorg.0.log http://pastebin.com/2sX0j3eC
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#24 by Slaxmax » 11 Feb 2014, 02:43

Take snapshot when Print Screen SysRq Button is pressed not work in KDE4.
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
bdheeman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 77
Joined: 15 Sep 2012, 19:39
Distribution: Porteus 3.0.1+ MATE/XFCE
Location: Chandigarh, PB, India
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#25 by bdheeman » 11 Feb 2014, 08:05

The Porteus Desktop is for desktop users and all GUI environments must provide kind of a GUI/X archive file manager e.g. engrampa for MATE or xarchiver, but nothing like that is included in for MATE users.
--
Balwinder S "bdheeman" Dheeman (http://bdheeman.BlogSpot.in/)
"Working together, works! The proof is GNU/Linux and F/LOSS Projects;
Do you too voluntarily work on or contribute to making any difference?"

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#26 by fanthom » 11 Feb 2014, 09:49

@Axel
so everything is ok but i still dont know why udev is not loading this module upon boot. please add powernow-k8 to /etc/rc.d/rc.modules or modprobe it through /etc/rc.d/rc.local for now.

@ncmprhnsbl
i never tested it :oops: ... now i have.. X starts okay but i don't see fglrx listed in modules
did you use correct fglrx driver for 2.1? please do two things for me:
a) boot 2.1 with fglrx in /modules to GUI then generate 'xpsinfo' report
b) setup changes for 3.0-rc2 and boot (with fglrx in /modules) to text mode -> generate psinfo report and run 'init 4' command to switch to GUI -> when you get a hang shut down the PC -> extract /var/log/Xorg.0.log and psinfo report from saved changes

please upload these 3 files (xpsinfo from 2.1 and psinfo /Xorg.0.log from 3.0) to some online storage like gmail drive (i need full logs and seems that pastebin cuts them off to certain size) or send me on fanthom@porteus.org.

@Slaxmax
works here - please try in Always Fresh
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

denisik
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Feb 2014, 10:20
Distribution: kiosks
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#27 by denisik » 11 Feb 2014, 10:25

Please add calibration utility for touchscreens in kiosk distribution.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#28 by brokenman » 11 Feb 2014, 11:23

@bdheeman
Thanks. I see now that engrampa got removed from my MATE build tree. I have added it along with the p7zip library for final.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#29 by francois » 11 Feb 2014, 12:14

Wifi network authentification pops up repeatedly in save changes mode, though you cancel it repeatedly.

Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 790
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#30 by ncmprhnsbl » 11 Feb 2014, 12:17

fanthom wrote:did you use correct fglrx driver for 2.1? please do two things for me:
a) boot 2.1 with fglrx in /modules to GUI then generate 'xpsinfo' report
b) setup changes for 3.0-rc2 and boot (with fglrx in /modules) to text mode -> generate psinfo report and run 'init 4' command to switch to GUI -> when you get a hang shut down the PC -> extract /var/log/Xorg.0.log and psinfo report from saved changes
pretty sure.. (amd-catalyst-13.4-porteus-v2.1-x86_64-1ftm.xzm)
a & b done and emailed.....hopefully correct
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply