Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#1 by brokenman » 07 Feb 2014, 19:38

RC2 is out and we are looking for a feedback. Please do not hesitate to report bugs and suggestions so we can make 3.0 final as stable and feature rich as we can.

Thanks
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#2 by Axel » 08 Feb 2014, 12:28

brokenman wrote:RC2 is out and we are looking for a feedback. Please do not hesitate to report bugs and suggestions so we can make 3.0 final as stable and feature rich as we can.
In Porteus 2.1 Xfce, cpufreq operates in "ondemand" mode (800Mhz, 1200Mhz, 1600Mhz or 2000Mhz) always:

Image

However in Porteus 3.0 RC2 Xfce, this does not occur. BTW, in this version, it works always in "performance" (2000Mhz) mode.
This is unacceptable, so the fan is running always, and the laptop battery is discharged quickly ... Image
I do not like this option, and I want to change it to ondemand (like Porteus 2.1)
How could do it?

Image

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#3 by brokenman » 08 Feb 2014, 17:18

Please post output of: cpufreq-info
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#4 by Axel » 08 Feb 2014, 17:41

brokenman wrote:Please post output of: cpufreq-info
Image


:unknown:

biotec
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 23:50
Distribution: slackware
Location: Oviedo

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#5 by biotec » 08 Feb 2014, 17:59

Hi, I'm happy with porteus 2.1, but would need to switch to 3.0 eventually. However, it seems that you dropped vesa support from the kernel and cheatcode vga=771 don't work any more. I'd like to be able to use 800x600 in text mode as it was supported in porteus 2.1, and in slackware 14.1. I guess you must have a good reason for this, but, could you continue to provide a kernel with vesa support as an alternative, please? Or, is there any work-around I have missed?

Thanks,
Ricardo.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#6 by fanthom » 08 Feb 2014, 18:47

@Axel
ondemand is default governor in Porteus. check if you have it in /etc/laptop-mode/conf.d/cpufreq.conf.
if yes then maybe XFCE palys a role here?

@biotec
please follow:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=2954&start=105#p21208
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

biotec
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jan 2014, 23:50
Distribution: slackware
Location: Oviedo

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#7 by biotec » 09 Feb 2014, 00:06

Thanks for your answer, but adding 'video=800x600' cheatcode to the text mode did not work for me.
I am running an unmodified Porteus-LXDE-v3.0-rc2-i486.iso on virtualbox 4.2.18 (it is important for me to be able to run the same iso on virtualbox, and on real machines from an usb or a cd).
Porteus 2.1 with cheatcode vga=771 works perfectly under the same setup.

As you suggested on your reference post, I run 'lspci -knn': this is the output:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 440FX - 82441FX PMC [Natoma] [8086:1237] (rev 02)
        Kernel modules: intel_agp
00:01.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82371SB PIIX3 ISA [Natoma/Triton II] [8086:7000]
00:01.1 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE [8086:7111] (rev 01)
        Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH VirtualBox Graphics Adapter [80ee:beef]
00:03.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller [8086:100e] (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Intel Corporation PRO/1000 MT Desktop Adapter [8086:001e]
        Kernel driver in use: e1000
        Kernel modules: e1000
00:04.0 System peripheral [0880]: InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH VirtualBox Guest Service [80ee:cafe]
00:05.0 Multimedia audio controller [0401]: Intel Corporation 82801AA AC'97 Audio Controller [8086:2415] (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Intel Corporation Device [8086:0000]
        Kernel driver in use: snd_intel8x0
        Kernel modules: snd_intel8x0
00:06.0 USB controller [0c03]: Apple Inc. KeyLargo/Intrepid USB [106b:003f]
        Kernel driver in use: ohci-pci
00:07.0 Bridge [0680]: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI [8086:7113] (rev 08)
        Kernel modules: i2c_piix4
00:0b.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller [8086:265c]
        Kernel driver in use: ehci-pci
00:0d.0 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 82801HM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [8086:2829] (rev 02)
        Kernel driver in use: ahci
Any suggestion, please?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4937
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#8 by francois » 09 Feb 2014, 01:54

Everything seems to be working fine here.
Last edited by francois on 09 Feb 2014, 14:57, edited 1 time in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#9 by Axel » 09 Feb 2014, 11:36

fanthom wrote:@Axel
ondemand is default governor in Porteus. check if you have it in /etc/laptop-mode/conf.d/cpufreq.conf.
if yes then maybe XFCE palys a role here?
This is the cpufreq.conf file:

Code: Select all

#
# Configuration file for Laptop Mode Tools module cpufreq.
#
# For more information, consult the laptop-mode.conf(8) manual page.
#

###############################################################################
# CPU frequency scaling and throttling
# ------------------------------------
#
#__COMMENT Laptop mode tools can automatically adjust your kernel CPU frequency
#__COMMENT settings. This includes upper and lower limits and scaling governors.
#__COMMENT There is also support for CPU throttling, on systems that don't support
#__COMMENT frequency scaling.
#__COMMENT
#__COMMENT This feature only works on 2.6 kernels.
#__COMMENT
#__COMMENT
#__COMMENT IMPORTANT: In versions 1.36 and earlier, these settings were included in the
#__COMMENT main laptop-mode.conf configuration file. If they are still present, they
#__COMMENT overrule the settings in this file. To fix this, simply delete the settings
#__COMMENT from the main config file.
#
###############################################################################

# Enable debug mode for this module
# Set to 1 if you want to debug this module
DEBUG=0

#
# Should laptop mode tools control the CPU frequency settings?
#
# Set to 0 to disable
CONTROL_CPU_FREQUENCY="auto"


#
# Legal values are "slowest" for the slowest speed that your
# CPU is able to operate at, "fastest" for the fastest speed,
# "medium" for some value in the middle, or any value listed in
# /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies.
# The "governor" can be any governor installed on your system, this usually
# includes "ondemand", "conservative", and "performance". The
# "IGNORE_NICE_LOAD" setting specifies that background programs that have
# a low priority ("nice level") should not cause the CPU frequency to
# be increased. (You generally want this to be enabled in battery mode.)
#
BATT_CPU_MAXFREQ=fastest
BATT_CPU_MINFREQ=slowest
BATT_CPU_GOVERNOR=ondemand
BATT_CPU_IGNORE_NICE_LOAD=1
LM_AC_CPU_MAXFREQ=fastest
LM_AC_CPU_MINFREQ=slowest
LM_AC_CPU_GOVERNOR=ondemand
LM_AC_CPU_IGNORE_NICE_LOAD=1
NOLM_AC_CPU_MAXFREQ=fastest
NOLM_AC_CPU_MINFREQ=slowest
NOLM_AC_CPU_GOVERNOR=ondemand
NOLM_AC_CPU_IGNORE_NICE_LOAD=0


#
# Should laptop mode tools control the CPU throttling? This is only useful
# on processors that don't have frequency scaling.
# (Only works when you have /proc/acpi/processor/CPU*/throttling.)
# 
# This is only useful on older P4 processors that do not support frequency
# scaling. On such processors, this is the only way to reduce power consumption
# but at the cost of higher performance penalty.
#
# Enable this only if you have a processor that does not support frequency scaling
# On most new processors, you might want to disable it.
#
# Set to 0 to disable.
CONTROL_CPU_THROTTLING=0


#
# Legal values are "maximum" for the maximum (slowest) throttling level,
# "minimum" for minimum (fastest) throttling level, "medium" for a value
# somewhere in the middle (this is usually 50% for P4s), or any value listed
# in /proc/acpi/processor/CPU*/throttling. Be careful when using "maximum":
# this may be _very_ slow (in fact, with P4s it slows down the processor
# by a factor 8).
#
BATT_CPU_THROTTLING=medium
LM_AC_CPU_THROTTLING=medium
NOLM_AC_CPU_THROTTLING=minimum
As you can see in this capture, the cpu works always to 2000 MHz and this value never goes down. So, it does not work correctly.

Image

I want to change it to ondemand (like Porteus 2.1)
How could do it? :O:

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#10 by fanthom » 09 Feb 2014, 17:31

@biotec
Vbox does not have drm enabled driver so i have to bring back VESA for 3.0 final. will drop simplefb as unneeded - thanks.

@Axel
please generate xpsinfo report for porteus-2.1 and 3.0-rc2 and link both here so i can make comparison.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#11 by Ahau » 09 Feb 2014, 18:25

@Axel

I double checked and my cpu's were running at 1.2ghz out of 3.4 max and the fans turn off a few seconds after XFCE loads up. You can install cpufreq through usm in 3.0rc2. This may be an issue in the kernel that is related to your specific CPU as well.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 911
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#12 by neko » 10 Feb 2014, 01:58

The 'evince' window of
Porteus-LXDE-v3.0-rc2-i486.iso/Porteus-LXDE-v3.0-rc2-x86_64.iso
does not display icons.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#13 by brokenman » 10 Feb 2014, 02:25

You can install cpufreq through usm in 3.0rc2. This may be an issue in the kernel that is related to your specific CPU as well.
Thanks Ahau. In particular please check in cpufreq-info if the intel_pstate driver is in use.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Gargone
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Feb 2014, 03:40
Distribution: Mint 16
Location: USA

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#14 by Gargone » 10 Feb 2014, 03:43

was the GUI Porteus Package Manager removed? All I can find is a command line interface. I rather liked your PPM...

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 842
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc2 bugs/feedback thread

Post#15 by ncmprhnsbl » 10 Feb 2014, 04:09

Lxde 3 rc2

Does amd-catalyst-13.12 support my 'Mobility Radeon HD 5730' and xorg 1.14.5?
hmmm i think this only supports up to xorg 1.13? http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/d ... x%20x86_64
catalyst 14.1 beta maybe.. claims to support up to xorg 1.15
all i'm getting is a blank screen....no backlight even... no keyboard response, only powerbutton shutdown....same with rc1
Gargone wrote:was the GUI Porteus Package Manager removed? All I can find is a command line interface. I rather liked your PPM...
a GUI for the new USM package manager is in the works. for the final release, i believe...
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply