Porteus changing distro

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
snake
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 10:02
Distribution: Porteus-v3.1 64bit KDE
Location: Finland

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#16 by snake » 22 Jan 2014, 12:07

I definitely vote for Slackware instead of any monsters size distros with more-or-less outdated versions of packages. What should be focused more is CLI tools like rpm2xzm to get other distros packages working as xzms. I don't want to have repository with forexample 100 different email programs to choose from.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#17 by brokenman » 22 Jan 2014, 12:48

@phhpro the list was chosen from distrowatch's most popular i believe.

For some people, changing base would not mean a thing. I mean to say, if you live in a desktop environment everything would probably look exactly the same as it does. The difference would be for those that like to pop the hood and get their hands a little dirty.

Thanks for all the feedback. There are some really good points being made and i am enjoying this thread. Keep in mind we want to remain a lightweight distro which is stable.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
RamonTavarez
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 81
Joined: 14 Mar 2011, 12:00
Distribution: 32 bit, KDE
Location: Dominican Republic

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#18 by RamonTavarez » 22 Jan 2014, 13:29

Hi

My preference is still Slackware.

A goal to reach can be the understanding of the Slackware's pkgs and comlete the process Slackware -> Porteus.

I think that, as a community, we can work to prepare ourself to port for any distro's pkg to Porteus.

We must work together to support all the modules that exist. Of course different users will have differents interest.

Additionally I want to suggest: Don't change the distro's, don't change the distrio, but rather to add the possibility of using other additional distro keeping the one that we already have.
Ramón E. Tavárez

sean
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 144
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 02:30
Distribution: Porteus v3.0 LXDE i486
Location: South Central PA, USA

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#19 by sean » 22 Jan 2014, 13:51

Friends,

Am I missing something? I'm assuming a vote is cast via a "reply" to this thread. Correct?

The thread shows 18 votes with only 17 posts. Several of the "replies" although perhaps "mentioning" a distro name, are merely explanations and answers to questions.

By my count the poll should actually show:

Slackware 6
Debian 2
Arch 1
Ubuntu 1

Total votes 10

Or if I missed a page where one selects a checkbox?, in which case I apologize greatly.

Sean

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#20 by fanthom » 22 Jan 2014, 13:55

@sean
scroll to the top of this page, choose a distro, submit vote or view results.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sean
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 144
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 02:30
Distribution: Porteus v3.0 LXDE i486
Location: South Central PA, USA

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#21 by sean » 22 Jan 2014, 14:02

fanthom,

Thanks, had to be logged in, of course :-)

I will now take some time off so as to get the egg off my face and pound my head with a hammer for several weeks.

I often wonder about myself :-)

Great Day to everyone and please accept my apology,

Sean

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#22 by brokenman » 22 Jan 2014, 14:55

Easy enough to miss if you browse the forum without logging in, or even if you click to go directly to page 2 of the thread.

The important thing is that everybody votes. At the end of the voting period that is what counts. You may only vote once, but you may change your vote at any time.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#23 by wread » 22 Jan 2014, 15:04

Slackware is for me the canonical linux distro; that is why I vote for it.....

Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 842
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#24 by ncmprhnsbl » 23 Jan 2014, 06:56

i would like to try all of them, to be able to compare ;)
funny thing is, arch is the only working examples(porteus/arch/sensei and alphaos) other than slackware that i've experienced(concept proved)
apart from various ubuntu, debian puppies(somewhat different to porteus)
as far as arch is concerned, it would mean a six month release cycle is out. more like three, barring some major system overhaul, depending also how
out of date compared with the present and ARM dates you want to go..potential security issues..
Pclos is also rolling, but much slower than arch, less packages, very stable ime..(just updated a 3 year old install, 1 year out of date, no probs)
Don't know enough about Mageia or OpenSuSE, i guess they have well stocked repos...

so anyway, given the choices presented, with nothing against slackware, i voted Debian
logic being: more packages=less compiling , less compiling=more beer morebeer=happy devs :beer:
altho, just because a package exists in the repo doesn't guarrantee that it works, or is up to date..
and i'd like to see how a debianporteus performs...already know that slackware is great..

to turn this around, heres a question for the porteus devs:
if you had use a different distro(for porteus base), what would you choose?
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#25 by fanthom » 23 Jan 2014, 09:46

if you had use a different distro(for porteus base), what would you choose?
i would go with gentoo stable (using everyday on desktop, no problems since last 6 years) and compile every package in portage tree (19k of packages) then move to porteus repo. once a week i would do 'emerge -vDuN world' and push updates to the repo.
gentoo packages are updated frequently - see column on the left (Wed, Thursday):
http://packages.gentoo.org/
(i remember seeing a stats on phoronix showing number of commits in opensource projects - kernel was first and gentoo's portage was second if i'm not mistaken).

unfortunately this approach requires dedicated server just for compilation which we can't afford at the moment.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4935
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#26 by francois » 23 Jan 2014, 11:54

As this is all about the limitation of porteus-slackware package pasture, see the possibility provided VicktorNova to access to AUR packages pasture under porteus :
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3058
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#27 by ponce » 23 Jan 2014, 14:12

Image

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#28 by brokenman » 23 Jan 2014, 14:39

LOL ponce.

I knew it all along. Ponce IS George Clooney! The Italian name is just an alias.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#29 by ponce » 23 Jan 2014, 17:47

well, actually we don't resemble at all :roll:

roelof
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 112
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 15:32
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 Gnome
Location: Netherlands

Re: Porteus changing distro

Post#30 by roelof » 23 Jan 2014, 18:32

I choose then Debian.

If we also succeed in porting systemd then it would be much easier for porting modern DE like Gnome 3.10 or Cinnamon in.



Roelof

Post Reply