ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/folder

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/folder

Post#1 by rych » 15 Jan 2014, 05:05

Porteus 2.1 x32 LXDE
Firefox. Drag&drop an image, or the address-bar URL, onto the desktop or a folder. No files are created in the target. Instead an odd "Finished" window appears with an error message "The specified location is not supported"

At the same time the .xsession-errors is ammended with these lines

(pcmanfm:2502): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: g_file_info_get_attribute_string: assertion `G_IS_FILE_INFO (info)' failed
(pcmanfm:2502): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
(pcmanfm:2502): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_text_buffer_insert_with_tags: assertion `text != NULL' failed

The problem a similar to http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2041410 where it was solved by adding gvfs-backends, gvfs-bin, gvfs-fuse. But the environment is different and so I guess would be the reason and the solution.
What shall I try to do to solve it?
Igor

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#2 by phhpro » 15 Jan 2014, 05:44

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 00:46, edited 1 time in total.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#3 by rych » 15 Jan 2014, 06:04

Thanks but one wouldn't be doing that every time, besides what about image dragging?

do you reproduce the error on your system?

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#4 by phhpro » 15 Jan 2014, 22:39

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 00:46, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#5 by Ahau » 16 Jan 2014, 15:57

I'm afraid this is a gvfs error. I believe it's related to gvfsd-http, which is not presently being built as a part of the gvfs package with lxde or xfce in Porteus. In order to add support for this, I would have to add libsoup (already in xfce), glib-networking, gnutls, libproxy, and likely a few more packages. I have yet to get this working, as even after adding these deps, I have the following error:

Code: Select all

 /usr/libexec/gvfsd-http 

(process:4401): GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.gnome.system.proxy' is not installed

Trace/breakpoint trap
root@porteus:~/Downloads#
I'll look into that a little more and see if I can get it running. What I could probably agree to do is build the backend as a part of the package but not include all of the dependencies by default; then, users who want this functionality can add the missing packages to get it, and those who don't want the extra weight can live without it.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#6 by brokenman » 16 Jan 2014, 17:16

You can probably add gsettings-desktop-schemas to that dependency list which should fix your error.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#7 by Ahau » 17 Jan 2014, 06:32

yep, that does the trick!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#8 by phhpro » 18 Jan 2014, 02:28

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 00:47, edited 1 time in total.

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#9 by rych » 28 Jan 2014, 07:24

Not sure related or not, but when I drag-and-drop a file with Ctrl+Shift pressed to create a link in the destination, an ERROR occurs with a message "/mnt/sdc1/Work/Linear Algebra/Lax P.-Linear algebra and its applications-Wiley (2007).djvu: Filesystem does not support symbolic links"

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#10 by rych » 28 Jan 2014, 07:30

Actually, suddenly drag and drop is not working at all any more in the file manager. Maybe it never has, I'm not sure now. How do I quickly make a link to a given file without typing anything please?

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#11 by Ahau » 28 Jan 2014, 15:11

@rych, are you copying to a folder that is on a FAT32 or NTFS filesystem (that is to say, is sdc1 using a windows partition)? If so, that's not possible, you can only create or copy them into POSIX compatible filesystems. Drag and drop appears to work on my end, as does ctrl-shift drag and drop to create a symlink. If drag and drop isn't working at all, please check without saved changes and let me know if it's still not working.

@phpro & rych, I have recompiled gvfs to support drag and drop over http so you can drag and drop files from firefox, and this will be in 3.0rc2. However, I have left some of the dependencies for this backend unresolved to save space, so you will have to add libsoup (already in xfce), glib-networking, gnutls, libproxy, and gsettings-desktop-schemas as mentioned above. Once those are installed, drag and drop over http should start working.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#12 by phhpro » 28 Jan 2014, 23:02

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 00:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#13 by Ahau » 28 Jan 2014, 23:28

My intention at this point is to not include the extra packages in the standard lxde or xfce packages because it adds over 2MB in size to the module and runs an additional gvfs daemon, drawing on RAM/CPU resources. It's also a feature that has not been requested until this point.

All that said, if there is broad user support for inclusion of these packages in the standard module, I'd probably do it.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

rych
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 49
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:27
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 32-bit
Location: NZ

Re: ERROR when drag and drop from browser to the desktop/fol

Post#14 by rych » 29 Jan 2014, 06:28

@Ahau, yes indeed the sdc1 has NTFS. Actually, NTFS supports windows symbolic links but I guess the linux driver doesn't support it (?)

As for dragging from Firefox, I've simply installed a couple of add-ons to Firefox to save links and images via context menu.

Post Reply