V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
TWalkerNM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 31 Dec 2013, 07:47
Distribution: Porteus 3.0 RC1 / Kiosk 3.0
Location: USA

V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#1 by TWalkerNM » 12 Jan 2014, 22:26

I checked out V3 and it came with some great things like the radio player (GLRP). I would like to use V3 and stay up with new releases but..the package manager doesn't work is closed in V3 due to the newness of the release. It says so when you open it.

I wanted Libre word processing and Skype capability so I built my ISO from the wizard http://build.porteus.org/ and got a build with Libre and Skype but...

No apps like games and GLRP. My question is should I go back to V3 and try and have Libre and Skype or should I stay with V2.1 and try and add the V3 apps like GLRP?

Honestly I really like the ability to use Porteus Package Manager and so I should probably stay with the more stable V2.1 but how would I get "cool stuff" like GLRP?
Can I use modules? If so where would I get GLRP and can I just drop in modules folder V2?

Thanks

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#2 by phhpro » 13 Jan 2014, 03:31

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 00:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#3 by fanthom » 13 Jan 2014, 09:41

PPM will be opened for 3.0 final. we need a time to prepare repo which holds few hundred of modules.
wait few weeks and 3.0 will be released.

if you need just LO and skype then you could grab them manually from here (edit link to match your arch):
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/Po ... 1/modules/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

TWalkerNM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 31 Dec 2013, 07:47
Distribution: Porteus 3.0 RC1 / Kiosk 3.0
Location: USA

[SOLVED] Re: V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#4 by TWalkerNM » 13 Jan 2014, 20:28

Fanthom: GRACIAS SEÑOR....that is kind of what I thought, that I could add those to V3. Thanks

phppro: You are a dumb ass. Even outside of the Newbie Forum that would be an egotistical answer providing no help to me but boosting your arrogance and post count a bit. Nice job. :Bravo:

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#5 by phhpro » 14 Jan 2014, 02:17

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 00:40, edited 1 time in total.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#6 by tome » 15 Jan 2014, 22:53

if you have already modules for v2.1 you can try activate them on v3.0 in fresh mode (but don't mix very basic modules). If they work you can use them. Skype module will be the same because it is distributed only as precompiled binary.

TWalkerNM
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 31 Dec 2013, 07:47
Distribution: Porteus 3.0 RC1 / Kiosk 3.0
Location: USA

Re: V3 Skype, Libre and Great little Radio Player

Post#7 by TWalkerNM » 22 Jan 2014, 01:12

tome wrote:if you have already modules for v2.1 you can try activate them on v3.0 in fresh mode (but don't mix very basic modules). If they work you can use them. Skype module will be the same because it is distributed only as precompiled binary.
Ok I went back to 2.1 and all is well, I have completed my project the past week but I miss that little radio player in 3.0.

So I have tried converting every radio player I could find from various distros through Porteus package Manager but no success.

Question: Is it possible to to into 3.0 and somehow convert/compile the Great Little Radio Player into a module and drop it into to my 2.1 to see if it works?
If so where would all of the files be located? In other words are they all in the same local? Spread out?
Come to think of it is that radio in 3.0 just a widget? Not a module?

I havnt been back into 3.0 in a week or so, I guess I need to open it back up and investigate.


This is solved: I took the package from here: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/grea ... io-player/
extracted>converted to module and it works like a charm. :good:

Post Reply