Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#16 by phhpro » 30 Dec 2013, 03:36

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 23:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5116
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#17 by francois » 30 Dec 2013, 03:53

Hello fanthom. Thanks for having a look at it.

I am working linux (i.e. no .dat container) and in always fresh mode.

But you gave me an idea. I am going to save my modules and download rc1 anew. 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5116
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#18 by francois » 30 Dec 2013, 21:18

Thanks Peter,

It seems that I wrote that last post at the same time you were filling yours. Thus I never saw it. This is what I will do. However, I may take a few days off of porteus, as I have a few other things to do.

I imagine that by minimal you mean porteus base: 000-kernel, 001-core, 002-core, 003-kde and a browser 04-firefox in the case I need to fetch some files.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#19 by phhpro » 31 Dec 2013, 01:07

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 23:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5116
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#20 by francois » 02 Jan 2014, 03:36

Finally, I decided to build cups 1.7.0. Here is the problem:
I have some difficulty building the cups-filter from:
https://github.com/willysr/SlackHacks/t ... ps-filters

Under root:

Code: Select all

root@porteus: ./cups-filters.SlackBuild
...
...
chown: invalid group: ‘root:root’
root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/64bit_v30/porteus/test-cups/cups-filter# 
Under normal user:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~/cups-filter$ su ./cups-filters.SlackBuild
No passwd entry for user './cups-filters.SlackBuild'
guest@porteus:~/cups-filter$ ./cups-filters.SlackBuild
mkdir: cannot create directory ‘/tmp/build/package-cups-filters’: Permission denied
Any turnaround? I would like to run ./cups-filters.SlackBuild in root mode.
Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#21 by phhpro » 02 Jan 2014, 04:40

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 23:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5116
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#22 by francois » 02 Jan 2014, 05:48

I imagine you are right:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/64bit_v30/porteus/test-cups/cups-1.7# id root
uid=0(root) gid=0 groups=0
This first link of yours does not work, but the second one is really on target. Thanks a lot, I will have a try during this day. :D
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5116
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4 or cups 1.7.0

Post#23 by francois » 03 Jan 2014, 14:08

It seems that I got it sorted out. The difficult part was to build the cups-filters package. I should come back with the necessary cups package 1.6.x and 1.7.0 as soon as porteus 3.0 hits the road.
http://www.linuxfoundation.org/collabor ... enprinting
PDF is the standard print job format from CUPS 1.6.x on

All important desktop applications (GTK/GNOME, Qt/KDE, LibreOffice/OpenOffice.org, Firefox, Thunderbird, ...) send print jobs in PDF and not in PostScript any more by default. In addition, a complete CUPS filter chain to process print jobs in PDF is available and used.(continued)
These packages get us in the pdf era characteristic of the actual printer related packages: most packages are able to generate pdf files directly. There is no need to work with ps (postscript files) anymore.
http://www.bsmdevelopment.com/Reference ... 30002.html


Comment on cups 1.6.x and higher:

The cups package were built with the following slackbuilds:
https://github.com/willysr/SlackHacks/t ... uilds/cups
For some reason the slackbuild would not work out of the box, so I built some dependencies according to linux-from-scratch gracefully suggested by phhpro:
http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/blfs/vi ... lters.html

After playing around with cups 1.7.0, I can imagine some of the reasons that slackware is not completely ready for going 1.6.x and higher:
1.0 cups does no more support cups-filters which are supported from then on by the openprinting foundation. The slackbuild package that I found needs user root and group user root which we do not have on porteus. We have user root, but its associated group user is 0.
1.1 this has consequences on additional package building needed for cups-filters 1.0.43: poppler-0.24.4, qpdf-5.1.0 (which in turn need pcre-8.34) amongst others. At some point, you might be able to print with cups and cups-filter with your usual text editor (libreoffice ...), however the print test might fail. Here are two of the solutions to be implemented to have it going on:

1.12 qpdf building needs random number generator. Under porteus it seems that we do not have a functional random number generator which should be found into /dev/random /dev/urandom. This random number generator is needed for security reason or encryption thru qpdf.

At first glance cups 1.6.4 seems different, as it need less recent files. But it is still pdf oriented.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1545
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#24 by Blaze » 03 Jan 2014, 16:54

francois,
please unpack your module holding cups-1.5.4 (prinitng.xzm?) and then run following command:

Code: Select all

ROOT=/path/folder_of_unpacked_module removepkg cups
Where /path/folder_of_unpacked_module - it's way for folder of unpacked module
Extract cups-1.7.0-x86_64-1wsr.xzm
copy contents of the folder cups-1.7.0-x86_64-1wsr to the folder 07-printing and then to build 07-printing.xzm module.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5116
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Removing cups 1.5.4 to install cups 1.6.4

Post#25 by francois » 04 Jan 2014, 02:40

Thanks a lot blaze. I will try that as soon as I get to have a little more control on the stability of the package that I produce.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply