Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Share your opinion about Porteus Kiosk Edition.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#31 by fanthom » 24 Jan 2014, 22:08

@sanzi
risen wait time for gateway from 5 secs to 15 which should solve your issue (in my case 7 secs was enough). wont display notification as it does not look good if someone want to display some static offline page (no internet connection at all).

@RickG
reported md5sum issue to Hamza. should be fixed soon.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#32 by Hamza » 24 Jan 2014, 22:14

Fixed md5sum issue.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

sanzi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 29
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 12:02
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Hungary

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#33 by sanzi » 26 Jan 2014, 10:28

@fanthom
Thanks! I will try it on monday.

sanzi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 29
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 12:02
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Hungary

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#34 by sanzi » 27 Jan 2014, 08:50

The problem is still here.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#35 by fanthom » 27 Jan 2014, 09:41

please try now.
btw: added zoom-in, zoom-out buttons by default to firefox UI.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sanzi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 29
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 12:02
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Hungary

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#36 by sanzi » 27 Jan 2014, 11:24

I made a new image with the web wizard, but it is still wrong.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#37 by fanthom » 27 Jan 2014, 12:00

please send me private message with a link to your ISO
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

RickG
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jan 2014, 13:09
Distribution: Porteus 3
Location: Maine,USA

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#38 by RickG » 29 Jan 2014, 18:23

I made a new image with the web wizard today and when I try to boot I receive the following message:

Code: Select all

Cannot read base/007-Java-Extension.xzm. Corrupted module?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#39 by fanthom » 29 Jan 2014, 20:32

@RickG
did you check md5sum? please try again as everything is ok here.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

RickG
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jan 2014, 13:09
Distribution: Porteus 3
Location: Maine,USA

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#40 by RickG » 30 Jan 2014, 03:10

I tried building and downloading twice and checked the md5sum each time and it was correct. I ended up using 2.11 which installed and ran OK. This was an atom thin client. The image was dd'd directly to flash.

The 3.0 image loaded all modules except java and then stopped with the error.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#41 by fanthom » 30 Jan 2014, 15:00

java really works here with 3.0.
here is a proof:
http://i59.tinypic.com/280i70p.jpg

i see two possibilities:
a) you have more than one kiosk installation and porteus is booting for one where java xzm is corrupted due to bad download. please make sure you have only on kiosk installation active.
b) your PC has 256MB or RAM and you have never disabled 'copy to ram' feature. not whole module is copied to RAM and becomes corrupted. if this is the case then please disable 'copy to ram' in the wizard.

if two scenarios above are not true then please send me a private message with a link to your ISO.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

RickG
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Jan 2014, 13:09
Distribution: Porteus 3
Location: Maine,USA

Re: Solved -Porteus Kiosk Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thre

Post#42 by RickG » 30 Jan 2014, 18:47

I have not had this problem with Java in 3.0 before, only on this particular day. The machine in question had 2gb ram and 2gb flash. The image was written directly over the original xp. I have another identical machine and I will try it again with 3.0 and let you know how it goes. Thanks!



Works OK in rc2 image I downloaded today!

Post Reply