Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
usernew
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 28
Joined: 07 Dec 2011, 16:06
Location: spain

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#76 by usernew » 03 Jan 2014, 23:41

i test all 4.11 branch , and 4.12.0 , SAME BUG.


Last train to kde bug, i hope this time all understand ,because im tired to explain this.

i think the better for all is send a kde bug track ticket.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_e2iZ9Q ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#77 by brokenman » 04 Jan 2014, 00:20

Thanks usernew, you've made your point perfectly clear. Deleting thousands of files from the desktop is buggy. Not a very common scenario but still a bug.

@SergeSecurity
Before running the virtualbox builder (and in fresh mode) do you have the file /opt/porteus-scripts/gtk-easy-build?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

usernew
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 28
Joined: 07 Dec 2011, 16:06
Location: spain

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#78 by usernew » 04 Jan 2014, 00:45

brokenman wrote:Thanks usernew, you've made your point perfectly clear. Deleting thousands of files from the desktop is buggy. Not a very common scenario but still a bug.

Not a big bug or very important , but buggy

4.10 branches are bug free.

bad time to upgrade kde, because working on new plasma2 and think around a some time bugs.


see around send a ticket for kde devel team.

ty for all.

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#79 by Slaxmax » 04 Jan 2014, 06:34

@brokenman

In virtualbox module is missing 2 files "10-vboxdrv.rules" and "rc.vboxautostart-service".
I rebuilt the module with the missing files, but if you manually load the virtualbox module does not work. Only works loaded on boot.

thanks
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#80 by fanthom » 04 Jan 2014, 07:08

@SergeSecurity/Slaxmax
i have updated vbox builder script on the server so it should work now (added rc.vboxautostart-service to it but not 10-vboxdrv.rules as this file has been renamed as 60-vboxdrv.rules in latest VBox).

one condition:
please download and activate 05-devel.xzm from this location http://dl.porteus.org/$arch/testing/Por ... c1/modules
(replace $arch with i486 or x86_64)
or
please update /etc/porteus-version as Porteus-v3.0-rc1

this is important as script must download correct version of development module and previously it was downloading 05-devel.xzm from http://dl.porteus.org/$arch/current/modules which is for porteus-2.1.

let me know if everything is ok now.
thanks

regarding ffmpeg - i have bumped it to 2.1.1 in my development build already so will be present in rc2.

@usernew
thanks for your input but i have decided to ship latest kde4 despite of this bug as workarounds are known already:

Code: Select all

- move to trash -> empty trash
- delete this folder through dolphin
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#81 by Slaxmax » 04 Jan 2014, 12:38

@fanthom

Thanks fanthom

Now the module if loaded manually does not work, only if reboot porteus with module in base or module folder.
I compared old and new module virtualbox and I find this:

old /etc/rc.d/init.d/rc.virtualbox

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#
# VirtualBox Linux kernel modules init script
#
# Copyright (C) Sun Microsystems, Inc.
#
# http://www.virtualbox.org
#

# make sure you're a member of the vboxusers group:
groupadd vboxusers 2>/dev/null

/sbin/depmod -a
/sbin/modprobe vboxdrv
/sbin/modprobe vboxnetadp
/sbin/modprobe vboxnetflt
new /etc/rc.d/init.d/rc.virtualbox

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#
# VirtualBox Linux kernel modules init script
#
# Copyright (C) Sun Microsystems, Inc.
#
# http://www.virtualbox.org
#

/sbin/depmod -A
/sbin/modprobe vboxdrv
/sbin/modprobe vboxnetadp
/sbin/modprobe vboxnetflt
The line is missing

Code: Select all

# make sure you're a member of the vboxusers group:
groupadd vboxusers 2>/dev/null
I added this line in new /etc/rc.d/init.d/rc.virtualbox and now load the module manually.

thanks
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

Philip
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 62
Joined: 28 Dec 2013, 15:21
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE, Openbox
Location: England

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#82 by Philip » 04 Jan 2014, 12:58

Porteus rc1 LXDE

With the exception of .iso and .exe archive manager formats, I have tested all of the others, and am able to report that:

.tar.bz2 archives cannot be opened, but can be created by archive manager.
.cbz cannot be created
.zip cannot be created (as previously reported). The archive manager cannot open a .zip archive created by another application.

User avatar
dimx
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 42
Joined: 02 Dec 2013, 08:10
Distribution: porteus-LXDE,Slackware,Arch
Location: Greece

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#83 by dimx » 05 Jan 2014, 11:10

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT: The bug concerning groups was caused by an xzm package (slocate - it overwrote it), not porteus, so please ignore.
Audio problems - while playing video in pepperflash (google's flash plugin):
[Porteus LXDE 3rc1 64bit here - probably other flavors are affected too]
-video plays but no sound, while correct sound card is being set as default. The default flash player works fine.
Fix:
-add audio/video user groups (optionally add current users to those groups, but not obligatory, since the simple group creation fixes it)
(P.S. its possible that missing groups also causes other audio problems mentioned - needs testing... video group, while not relevant to audio problems, is required by some programs in order to enable hw acceleration)

Slackbuilds complains threre is no group named "root", when trying to set permissions.
Fix: Add explicitly group "root" with gid==0 (or edit each .Slackbuild to set permissions to root:0 instead of root:root - might get annoying if building lots of packages)

Summary:
Proposed changes to /etc/group: adding

Code: Select all

root:x:0:root
audio:x:1000:root
video:x:1001:root
(add guest to above code - and/or other users - too if not running porteus as root)

with these fixes audio and video hw acceleration works fine everywhere for me .
Cheers and thx for a good release!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PPS I can confirm that mplayer has some codec issues, while playing some video formats, tested on these: http://www.auby.no/files/video_tests/, but I guess that is a know issue.

PPPS Also confirming random disappearing of lxpanel's menu.
Last edited by dimx on 07 Jan 2014, 09:41, edited 3 times in total.

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#84 by jimwg » 05 Jan 2014, 14:41

jimwg wrote:Seasons Greetings!

Something odd. When I copied OpenOffice 4.0 documents from my Porteus flash to my Puppy flash, the doc's time date stamp is off by four or five hours and by hour difference only. This occurred with Porteus 2.1 as well but I assumed it was bug already spoken for. It's odd because the menu clock on Porteus is correct at the time of transferring the file as is the clock under Puppy. There seems no difference in the file outside different hour time stamps, still, this is a concern when one must determine recent files.

Jim in NYC
32bit Porteus 3.0 XFCE 4.10
Anyone with OpenOffice please confirm this possible issue: take a OO document in Porteus and note it's time stamp, transfer it to Puppy and check its time stamp there. Is there a difference in hours even though both OS menu clocks are correct?

Jim in NYC

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#85 by fanthom » 05 Jan 2014, 19:47

@Slaxmax
I added this line in new /etc/rc.d/init.d/rc.virtualbox and now load the module manually.
vboxusers is in /etc/group already and guest is it's member by default:

Code: Select all

grep vboxusers /etc/group
vboxusers:x:96:guest
so there is no need to add this group upon Vbox activating. checked and this module works out of the box here.

@dimx
-video plays but no sound, while correct sound card is being set as default. The default flash player works fine.
Fix:
-add audio/video user groups (optionally add current users to those groups, but not obligatory, since the simple group creation fixes it)

guest is in these groups by default and root does not need to be added as has no restrictions

Slackbuilds complains threre is no group named "root", when trying to set permissions.
something funky is going on as this simple test works for me :

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest/Downloads# touch test
root@porteus:/home/guest/Downloads# chown guest:guest test 
root@porteus:/home/guest/Downloads# ls -l test 
-rw-r--r-- 1 guest guest 0 Jan  5 19:44 test
root@porteus:/home/guest/Downloads# chown root:root test 
root@porteus:/home/guest/Downloads# ls -l test 
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Jan  5 19:44 test
is the 'root' group missing issue also happening in KDE4 edition?
maybe there is a module activated which overwrites /etc/group from 001-core.xzm? please try in Always Fresh.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#86 by wread » 06 Jan 2014, 21:22

@fanthom
Some X-fonts for Google-Earth are absent again. My old patch cures it.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#87 by wread » 06 Jan 2014, 21:50

I am trying to start the xorg server by starting in text mode, deactivating 003* and typing "startx".

I get as error message "cannot load font '-misc-fixed-medium-r-semicondensed-13-120-75-75-c-60-iso10646-1'"

And that after applying my former patch....hmm
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
dimx
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 42
Joined: 02 Dec 2013, 08:10
Distribution: porteus-LXDE,Slackware,Arch
Location: Greece

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#88 by dimx » 07 Jan 2014, 09:39

@fanthom
You are totally correct concerning groups. The slocate .xzm package (converted from slackware) overwrote it. Repackaged it now without /etc/group.
BTW is there any way to remove an edited /etc/group (or any user edited file for that matter) from changes, so it would not substitute the original one?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#89 by fanthom » 07 Jan 2014, 10:05

@wread
Some X-fonts for Google-Earth are absent again.
this patch is simply too big to be included in default ISO just for GE. please rather post required non-binary deps for google earth in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=1843
and PPM will be fetching them along with GE.

I am trying to start the xorg server by starting in text mode, deactivating 003* and typing "startx".
if 003 module is missing then /etc/rc.d/rc.4 launches /usr/bin/xdm from 002-xorg.xzm which starts any desktop linked to /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.
if /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc is not valid (pointing nowhere) then you get the error.
so you must have either 003 activated or /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc pointing to some 3rd party desktop (like enlightenment, openbox, cinnamon, etc) in order to start Xorg.

@dimx
please boot to Always Fresh and delete /etc/groups from your changes. you may have to use 'mloop' utility when changes are stored in save.dat.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 561
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#90 by tome » 07 Jan 2014, 16:38

@dimx
or go to /mnt/live/memory/, choose your changes(exit) folder and delete what you need

Post Reply