Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#16 by Ahau » 25 Dec 2013, 00:18

@ramine, thanks, I will take a look. It may be a kernel config issue with your sound driver being compiled into the kernel instead of as a module. What's the brand/model of your card?

@Cyril, this appears to be an issue with xfdesktop, reverting to an older version fixes it. There is a newer version from two days ago that I will try, otherwise I will revert back to the 4.10 series. For now, you can set the wallpaper by right clicking on the desktop and click to open the dialog to change desktop settings. Thanks!

@ralcocer, I am able to reproduce this problem some, but not all, of the time. I didn't have time to run it to ground but I will try to get it sorted asap.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 918
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#17 by neko » 25 Dec 2013, 03:35

Porteus-LXDE-v3.0-rc1-i486.iso

1. library version difference

(1) system library
ls -l /lib/libpthread*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 96128 12月 19 10:09 /lib/libpthread-2.17.so*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 18 12月 19 16:28 /lib/libpthread.so.0 -> libpthread-2.17.so*

(2) initram library
Porteus-LXDE-v3.0-rc1-i486.iso@boot/syslinux/initrd.xz@lib/libpthread*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 guest guest 74790 12月 23 08:50 lib/libpthread-0.9.33.2.so*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 guest guest 22 12月 25 03:05 lib/libpthread.so.0 -> libpthread-0.9.33.2.so*

2. mplayer sound NG for Microsoft ASF

#######################################################
$ file Robotica_720.wmv
Robotica_720.wmv: Microsoft ASF

$ mplayer Robotica_720.wmv
MPlayer 1.1.1-4.8.2 (C) 2000-2013 MPlayer Team

Playing Robotica_720.wmv.
libavformat version 54.63.104 (external)
ASF file format detected.
[asfheader] Audio stream found, -aid 1
[asfheader] Video stream found, -vid 2
VIDEO: [WMV3] 1280x720 24bpp 1000.000 fps 6500.0 kbps (793.5 kbyte/s)
Load subtitles in ./
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[vdpau] Error when calling vdp_device_create_x11: 1
[VO_XV] It seems there is no Xvideo support for your video card available.
[VO_XV] Run 'xvinfo' to verify its Xv support and read
[VO_XV] DOCS/HTML/en/video.html#xv!
[VO_XV] See 'mplayer -vo help' for other (non-xv) video out drivers.
[VO_XV] Try -vo x11.
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [dmo] DMO video codecs
Win32 LoadLibrary failed to load: /usr/lib/codecs/wmv9dmod.dll
IMediaObject ERROR: 0x8315a5c could not open DMO DLL (0x0 : 0)
Failed to create DMO filter
ERROR: Could not open required DirectShow codec wmv9dmod.dll.
You need to upgrade/install the binary codecs package.
Go to http://www.mplayerhq.hu/dload.html
VDecoder init failed :(
Opening video decoder: [dmo] DMO video codecs
Win32 LoadLibrary failed to load: /usr/lib/codecs/wmvdmod.dll
IMediaObject ERROR: 0x8315a5c could not open DMO DLL (0x0 : 0)
Failed to create DMO filter
ERROR: Could not open required DirectShow codec wmvdmod.dll.
You need to upgrade/install the binary codecs package.
Go to http://www.mplayerhq.hu/dload.html
VDecoder init failed :(
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
libavcodec version 54.92.100 (external)
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=0.
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=1.
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=2.
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
VO: [x11] 1280x720 => 1280x720 Planar YV12
[swscaler @ 0xb722db60]using unscaled yuv420p -> bgra special converter
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=0.
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=1.
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=2.
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
VO: [x11] 1280x720 => 1280x720 Planar YV12
Selected video codec: [ffwmv3] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg WMV3/WMV9)
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
Unsupported AVSampleFormat 8
Unsupported AVSampleFormat 8
Unsupported AVSampleFormat 8
ADecoder init failed :(
ADecoder init failed :(
Opening audio decoder: [dmo] Win32/DMO decoders
Win32 LoadLibrary failed to load: /usr/lib/codecs/wma9dmod.dll
IMediaObject ERROR: 0x8315a5c could not open DMO DLL (0x0 : 0)
ERROR: Could not open required DirectShow codec wma9dmod.dll.
ADecoder preinit failed :(
ADecoder init failed :(
Opening audio decoder: [dmo] Win32/DMO decoders
Win32 LoadLibrary failed to load: /usr/lib/codecs/wmadmod.dll
IMediaObject ERROR: 0x8315a5c could not open DMO DLL (0x0 : 0)
ERROR: Could not open required DirectShow codec wmadmod.dll.
ADecoder preinit failed :(
ADecoder init failed :(
Cannot find codec for audio format 0x162.
Audio: no sound
Starting playback...
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=0.
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=1.
Unsupported PixelFormat 109
Could not find matching colorspace - retrying with -vf scale...
Opening video filter: [scale]
The selected video_out device is incompatible with this codec.
Try appending the scale filter to your filter list,
e.g. -vf spp,scale instead of -vf spp.
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=2.
Movie-Aspect is undefined - no prescaling applied.
VO: [x11] 1280x720 => 1280x720 Planar YV12
V: 22.9 479/479 43% 53% 0.0% 0 0


Exiting... (End of file)
#######################################################

Cyril
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 21
Joined: 04 Nov 2011, 10:11
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#18 by Cyril » 25 Dec 2013, 08:27

Ahau wrote:For now, you can set the wallpaper by right clicking on the desktop and click to open the dialog to change desktop settings.
This doesn't work either, I checked.

Also mplayer doesn't play sound in WMV.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#19 by fanthom » 25 Dec 2013, 10:48

@francois
"Trying to use virtualbox builder, the program complains that an internet connection was not found."
confirmed. will ping brokenman to fix for rc2.

"Can we expect compat32 at this stage, or will we have to wait?"
will deliver as soon as i can

"The changes are not kept, as roloef stated in another thread. I use here are my menu.lst cheatcodes:
from=/dev/sda5/64bit_v30 changes=EXIT:/64bit_v30/kde"

confirmed (side effect of implementing changes-ro cheat). this bug affects only changes=EXIT: users and here is a fixed initrd so please replace original one with it:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/initrd.xz

@ramine
"when i play a video in mplayer i see that message in terminal window:
sh: xscreensaver-command: command not found
and i go to the mplayer config file i see that line and i think it's connected to that message:
heartbeat-cmd="xscreensaver-command -deactivate &" # stop xscreensaver"

will comment out these by default

"i want another thing to add this 2 lines to the config file it's for user have nvida or radeon graphics card:
[vo.vdpau]
vc=ffh264vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffodivxvdpau,ffwmv3vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau."

cant as it breaks video on non vdpau enabled PCs

@raelof
"But what I find wierd is that you us the installer, then a terminal pops up with no tekst except sh:> "
cant recreate - how do you launch the installer?

@neko
"library version difference"
initrd is compiled against uclibc and not glibc. these differences does not affect anything as initrd is completely separated from Porteus userland.

@neko/Cyril
Mplayer troubles with playing various video formats: Mplayer-1.1.1 is compiled against external ffmpeg which is too new for it. for rc2 i will bump Mplayer to latest version from svn which should fix all these issues.


thanks guys for reporting and want some more :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Nouatvs
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 13 Jul 2013, 22:14
Distribution: kde
Location: www

porteus rc retroalimentation

Post#20 by Nouatvs » 25 Dec 2013, 17:47

Hello everyone and Merry Christmas.
KDE RC bluettoth works ok.
wine 1.9.7 works ok (but not in the previous stable version)
tip: to use dolphin as Roote logged in as guest to copy the home folder with another name and advanced properties check run as another user (root type) and make a mini-root module file

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#21 by cttan » 25 Dec 2013, 18:00

hi fanthom,

I think the file is missing at the server end.
http://ponce.cc/porteus/i486/testing/gtk-easy-build

I have used 2.1 final to test out the Virtualbox builder and I am getting the same error.

roelof
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 112
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 15:32
Distribution: Porteus 2.1 Gnome
Location: Netherlands

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#22 by roelof » 25 Dec 2013, 21:03

#phantom

I use the installer on kde under favourites and doubleclick.

Roelof

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#23 by phhpro » 25 Dec 2013, 22:21

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 23:23, edited 1 time in total.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#24 by cttan » 26 Dec 2013, 03:05

hi fanthom,

Pls place the CPU Monitor widget on the right side of the System Tray.

I have observed that when the number of programs increase in the System Tray, it will overlap the CPU Monitor.

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 918
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#25 by neko » 26 Dec 2013, 03:57

Porteus-LXDE-v3.0-rc1-i486.iso

about 'mloop' command
1. 'mloop initrd.xz' NG
A cpio file can not be loop-mounted.

2. 'mloop --help' NG
'--help' is used as argument of 'readlink'

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#26 by brokenman » 26 Dec 2013, 12:08

Virtualbox problem should be fixed now. I inadvertently removed the online file. (thansk ctan)


@ Neko
initrd.xz has changed format since i wrote mloop. I will update for rc2.

For now you can unpack it like this: xz -d < initrd.xz | cpio -i
and repack it like this: find | cpio -H newc -o | xz --check=crc32 --x86 --lzma2 > ../initrd.xz

Be sure to create a folder in which to unpack the file.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#27 by brokenman » 26 Dec 2013, 12:21

1. Problem with the desktop display.
http://img827.imageshack.us/img827/2190/46v2.png
Yes please see the first post about KNOWN BUGS.

2. PrtScr app names file as *.jpg but saves file as *.jpg.png.
Thanks. Looks like it doesn't honor the jpg request.

3. Various error msgs displayed on the terminal screen when shutting down to reboot. Any way to capture the msgs so they can be posted?
These are errors related to qxkb and theme. You can disregard these. The should be logged in /var/log/Xorg.0.log but as you are shutting down it is impossible to catch them.

@ Ramine
For now try adding /etc/asound.conf with the following:
defaults.pcm.card 0
defaults.ctl.card 0

Or perhaps change to 1 if 0 doesn't work.

For the problem of squares instead of font.Please try to reload your caches.
/usr/bin/update-gtk-immodules
/usr/bin/update-pango-querymodules
/usr/bin/update-gdk-pixbuf-loaders
for x in `find /usr/share/icons -name icon-theme.cache 2>/dev/null`; do
/usr/bin/gtk-update-icon-cache -t -f `dirname $x` > /dev/null 2>&1
done
update-mime-database
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#28 by dacq » 26 Dec 2013, 13:15

I installed Porteus lxde v3 to a U.S.B. stick but in the login screen trying to log in as guest with the "guest" password does not work. I can't login with root either.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#29 by francois » 26 Dec 2013, 13:43

@fanthom:
"The changes are not kept, as roloef stated in another thread. I use here are my menu.lst cheatcodes:
from=/dev/sda5/64bit_v30 changes=EXIT:/64bit_v30/kde"
confirmed (side effect of implementing changes-ro cheat). this bug affects only changes=EXIT: users and here is a fixed initrd so please replace original one with it:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/initrd.xz
The replacement of initrd resolved the issue.

Thanks.

Concerning the ssr package (simple screen recorder), everything is functioning well except that the level of the sound recording seems low. Is there something to be done about that. I did the testing with Sting's song, The shape of my heart:
https://www.google.ca/search?q=youtub+s ... e&ie=UTF-8

In addition, it seems to record the ambient sound, but there might be some adjustment for that that I did not found yet.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3162
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus Desktop Edition 3.0 rc1 bugs/feedback thread

Post#30 by Ed_P » 26 Dec 2013, 15:01

brokenman wrote:RazorQT
Sometimes at boot the panel appears very large. I'm not sure what causes it and it is random so difficult to troubleshoot. Ideas are welcome.
IMO Random errors are usually caused by memory conflicts. Two apps or subroutines are using the same RAM area or the RAM area isn't initialized. The latter can be caused by a reboot rather than a cold boot, ie turning machine off and back on.

The RAM problem shows up in negative tests. You expect a field to contain one of two values and rather than test for each value you test for one or not the one rather than the other value. An example would be a flag field which is expected to be set to be Y or N. If the flag field contains an X a test for not Y can produce unexpected results.
Ed

Post Reply