No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3207
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#16 by Ed_P » 22 Dec 2013, 15:28

brokenman wrote:i just have a script that creates this file and when i want sound i run the script.
Me too!! :)

Code: Select all

cp -a /home/guest/asound.conf /etc/ 

/etc/rc.d/rc.alsa restart
But I have little need for it with the save.dat file keeping the etc/ file.

Any idea why the sound doesn't always work?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#17 by brokenman » 22 Dec 2013, 16:49

Any idea why the sound doesn't always work?
The question is a little ambiguous. In what situations does the sound not work? Is it when using certain applications?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3207
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#18 by Ed_P » 22 Dec 2013, 19:34

brokenman wrote:In what situations does the sound not work?
See this posting: viewtopic.php?f=81&t=2926#p20527
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#19 by fanthom » 22 Dec 2013, 21:48

this site:
http://www.freearcade.com/Bounce.jav/Bounce.html

uses flash so maybe flashblock is blocking it? please disable it in firefox->tools->addons
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3207
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#20 by Ed_P » 22 Dec 2013, 23:42

@fanthom

Actually it uses Java. I disabled FlashBlock and it had no effect on the missing sound.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#21 by brokenman » 23 Dec 2013, 01:48

I see from another post that you java installed. Please go to this website and scroll down a little. There is an option to choose java or html5 to control the sound. Choose java and see if it plays. If not then try another browser (such as chrome) and report back.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3207
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#22 by Ed_P » 23 Dec 2013, 04:38

brokenman wrote:There is an option to choose java or html5 to control the sound. Choose java and see if it plays.
It defaults to Java for both items but no sound. Switching to HTML5 didn't work either.
If not then try another browser (such as chrome) and report back.
Tried Chrome. It replaced FireFox rather than coexisted!! No sound on the game link with it. But it supports HTML5 sound on the http://websdr.ewi.utwente.nl:8901/ site.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#23 by brokenman » 23 Dec 2013, 21:43

It replaced FireFox rather than coexisted!!
Only the panel item would have been replaced. Both browsers should still be in the internet menu.

So it looks like no sound with java on your present sound card. Strange to say the least. Perhaps we should look at getting your other sound card to function first. I am a little busy pushing out stuff for rc tonight but will take a look after xmas.

Enjoy your xmas. :beer:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3207
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound - on an Acer 722 netbook [Solved :-) ]

Post#24 by Ed_P » 24 Dec 2013, 06:02

brokenman wrote:It replaced FireFox rather than coexisted!!
Only the panel item would have been replaced. Both browsers should still be in the internet menu.
Ok. Didn't know to look there.
So it looks like no sound with java on your present sound card. Strange to say the least.
It works in Windows 7 if that's any help.
I am a little busy pushing out stuff for rc tonight but will take a look after xmas.
Thank you brokenman. No hurry. I should probably should start a new topic for it.
Enjoy your xmas. :beer:
Thank you. You too. :friends:
Ed

Post Reply