no Internet connection settings

Get help with KDE4 specific problems
dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

no Internet connection settings

Post#1 by dacq » 13 Dec 2013, 19:52

I just installed porteus 2.1 kde to a U.S.B. stick & booted up. There is no KPPP in the Internet section. In the control-panel settings there is a section called "networks". However, everything inside it is greyed out. So I can't install my ISP settings for wired modems etc.

Also, I couldn't mount any hard-disk partitions in the "Mount Drives" software. (I typed in my root password.)

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#2 by fanthom » 13 Dec 2013, 21:54

hi dacq,
In the control-panel settings there is a section called "networks". However, everything inside it is greyed out. So I can't install my ISP settings for wired modems etc.
click on the DSL tab -> press 'Add' button -> choose DSL or PPP -> fill all the data
I couldn't mount any hard-disk partitions in the "Mount Drives" software.
all drives are mounted by default - open dolphin and they will be listed on the side panel. probably you were trying to mount partition second time which is not always allowed, this is what ntfs formatted partition gives when trying to mount in 'by hand'

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sdb11 /mnt/test/
Mount is denied because the NTFS volume is already exclusively opened.
The volume may be already mounted, or another software may use it which
could be identified for example by the help of the 'fuser' command.
ext* can be mounted many times without problems.

@brokenman
would be handy if mount-manager could display such info in case when mounting fails (or dmesg | tail)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#3 by dacq » 14 Dec 2013, 14:20

My drive partitions are ext3.

All tabs including DSL are blanked out.

I attach my .cfg file. One entry is "nonetwork". Is that why all the Internet connection settings are blank?

Why aren't the drive partitions mounted automatically?

http://curezone.com/upload/Doc/porteus.txt

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#4 by fanthom » 14 Dec 2013, 14:32

I attach my .cfg file. One entry is "nonetwork". Is that why all the Internet connection settings are blank?
yes - please remove from all entries if you want networking (why did you choose in first place?)
Why aren't the drive partitions mounted automatically?
please generate raport through xpsinfo utility and i'll give you an answer.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#5 by dacq » 14 Dec 2013, 21:06

Porteus is in my fat32 U.S.B. drive. When I boot it says that it can't handle such windows partitions so switches to "Always Fresh" mode. Do I use xpsinfo in such a mode? What file formats does Porteus use? U.S.B. drives only use fat 16/32.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#6 by dacq » 14 Dec 2013, 21:37

To be more precise, I'm using a micro SD card connected through a U.S.B. port.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1224
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#7 by donald » 14 Dec 2013, 21:48

Hi dacq
it can't handle such windows partitions so switches to "Always Fresh" mode.
This means, that you have to create a save.dat file if you want to keep your changes.
U.S.B. drives only use fat 16/32.
you can format your usb-drive to any filesystem you like.
Porteus can be installed on Fat32 but need a save.dat-container to keep your changes.If porteus is installed on an ext2/3/4 filesystem no save.dat is needed and you will have persistence out of the box.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#8 by dacq » 14 Dec 2013, 22:21

I also tried to install Porteus to an ext3 drive partition using the "Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com" installer. It gave a debug.txt error file:

device: /dev/sda
partition: /dev/sda8
partition number: 8
partition mount point: /mnt/sda8
installation path: /mnt/sda8
subfolder:
filesystem: ext3
bootloader: extlinux
error code: 4
system: localhost 2.6.24.4-desktop-1mnb i686
mount details: /dev/sda8 /mnt/sda8 ext3 rw,data=ordered 0 0

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#9 by dacq » 14 Dec 2013, 22:29

It says it will boot to "Always Fresh" mode but that's after I've chosen for it to boot to normal mode. It's then that I got the "can't handle such windows partitions" error message.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#10 by dacq » 14 Dec 2013, 23:27

'It says it will boot to "Always Fresh" mode but that's after I've chosen for it to boot to normal mode. It's then that I got the "can't handle such windows partitions" error message.' (I mean the error message came after trying to boot to normal mode, so it offered to boot to "Always Fresh" mode.)

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1224
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#11 by donald » 14 Dec 2013, 23:28

It seems that there are some difficulties with some systems:
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=2351#p16315
and 2.6.24 is fairly old.
For me it was always less problematic, when i boot a porteus-live-CD and install
then from within a running porteus environment.
Edit:
I mean the error message came after trying to boot to normal mode, so it offered to boot to "Always Fresh" mode.
That's normal because porteus detected your Fat filesystem on which no changes can be saved without a save,dat file.So it jumps to allways fresh mode.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4621
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#12 by fanthom » 15 Dec 2013, 10:55

Do I use xpsinfo in such a mode?
yes. please generate raport and upload to pastebin.ca then post an URL here.
I also tried to install Porteus to an ext3 drive partition using the "Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com" installer. It gave a debug.txt error file
please try updated installer from here:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/Po ... -Linux.com
hopefully it will resolve your issue.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#13 by dacq » 26 Dec 2013, 13:29

I've installed Porteus 2.1 on the hard drive as a frugal install inside another operating system, as well as to a U.S.B. stick. The "nonetwork" command is in Porteus.cfg by default (in the KDE iso file I downloaded). I never put it there. How did it get there?

When I now boot to the U.S.B. stick the start-up screen is shown, along with the various boot options. When the default is used it then does something that should never happen: it boots to the Porteus on the hard drive!

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1224
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#14 by donald » 26 Dec 2013, 18:33

it boots to the Porteus on the hard drive!
Please read about the from= cheatcode in /boot/docs/cheatcodes.txt 8)

dacq
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 13 Dec 2013, 19:00
Distribution: 2.1
Location: uk

Re: no Internet connection settings

Post#15 by dacq » 27 Dec 2013, 21:54

What folder do I use for the “from=” cheatcode to boot to the usb stick? /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdb1/porteus or what? I tried /dev/sdb1 but it didn’t work.

In the frugal installation the entries in Porteus.cfg have been installed as entries in the GRUB-boot-loader options. So Porteus.cfg is not executed. "nonetwork" is in the GRUB-boot-loader entries. Even if I remove "nonetwork", after booting to Porteus there is still no network. Using the cheatcode help I tried (which didn’t work):

chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 /etc/rc.d/rc.networkmanager
sed -i 's/Hidden=true//g' /etc/xdg/autostart/nm-applet.desktop

What command/file is used before Porteus.cfg is executed?
What command can I issue which will boot Porteus.cfg from the GRUB boot loader?

Using Porteus on the U.S.B. stick, in the "Porteus save file manager" it asks what container type is to be used: xfs, reiser or ext4.
If the stick is in fat 32 is Porteus going to create a partition with xfs, reiser or ext4? And how can the user specify its size correctly?

Post Reply