Font issue

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
skateman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Nov 2013, 11:27
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Austria

Font issue

Post#1 by skateman » 03 Dec 2013, 18:12

Hi,

I'm using Porteus Kiosk on a Panel-PC and already got it running including a proper touchscreen calibration.

But unfortunately the fonts in firefox are displayed in a ugly, oversized way. I also opened the site in firefox of ubuntu 12.04 on the same panel and there it works fine.

This is the way it looks in Porteus Kiosk:
Image

and this way in Ubuntu (how it should):
Image

I also copied the intel-driver and the firefox-fonts from Ubuntu to Porteus Kiosk - but without success...

Any suggestions?

Thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Font issue

Post#2 by fanthom » 03 Dec 2013, 18:48

hi skateman,

did you try extended fonts pack for kiosk aleady? if not then please download it through wizard or manually from here:
http://dl.porteus.org/i486/packages/kio ... ension.xzm

if that wont help then please try other slackware fonts like:

Code: Select all

font-adobe-100dpi
font-adobe-75dpi
font-adobe-utopia-100dpi
font-adobe-utopia-75dpi
font-adobe-utopia-type1
font-arabic-misc
font-bh-100dpi
font-bh-75dpi
font-bh-lucidatypewriter-100dpi
font-bh-lucidatypewriter-75dpi
font-bh-ttf
font-bh-type1
font-bitstream-100dpi
font-bitstream-75dpi
font-bitstream-speedo
font-bitstream-type1
font-cronyx-cyrillic
font-cursor-misc
font-daewoo-misc
font-dec-misc
font-ibm-type1
font-isas-misc
font-jis-misc
font-micro-misc
font-misc-cyrillic
font-misc-ethiopic
font-misc-meltho
font-misc-misc
font-mutt-misc
font-schumacher-misc
font-screen-cyrillic
font-sony-misc
font-sun-misc
font-winitzki-cyrillic
font-xfree86-type1
liberation-fonts-ttf
sazanami-fonts-ttf
sinhala_lklug-font-ttf
terminus-font
tibmachuni-font-ttf
ttf-indic-fonts
wqy-zenhei-font-ttf
please unpack them to /rootcopy or convert to xzm (will need to use Porteus standard edition for this).
please let me know if any of these solution helped.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

skateman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Nov 2013, 11:27
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Austria

Re: Font issue

Post#3 by skateman » 03 Dec 2013, 20:32

Thx fanthom for the suggestions!

I've already tried the extended font pack, but it didn't work.

I think the reason for the problem is, that the texts in my web application are svg-based texts.

How can I solve this problem?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Font issue

Post#4 by fanthom » 03 Dec 2013, 21:34

is your web app accessible publicly? if yes then please share URL (or send me email on fanthom@porteus.org) so i can have a look on this issue.
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

skateman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Nov 2013, 11:27
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Austria

Re: Font issue

Post#5 by skateman » 03 Dec 2013, 22:03

Sorry, it's not a public applikation. I think the issue will also happen on other sites, which include SVG text.

If you google "svg text firefox" you will find a lot of posts concerning this topic. Cause it works fine in Ubuntu, I think it should be possible to find a solution for porteus.

skateman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Nov 2013, 11:27
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Austria

Re: Font issue

Post#6 by skateman » 04 Dec 2013, 12:44

Meanwhile I found a solution for the issue.

I took all files from /etc/fonts and /usr/share/fonts of the Ubuntu System and generated a 006-fonts-test.xzm-File. Now it works fine!

The problem was, that font-types like Arial were converted into a standard font type (I don't know which kind of font type) and so the width and design of the text got changed.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5000
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Font issue

Post#7 by francois » 04 Dec 2013, 19:29

Thanks skateman, this is a good idea, I always miss msttcorefonts on libre office. I never thought of copying them from a debian (crunchbang) or ubuntu system.

However, we could have downloaded the rpm equivalent msttcore-fonts-2.0-6.noarch.rpm:
http://olea.org/paquetes-rpm/msttcore-f ... noarch.rpm

And then transform it into a porteus module by right clicking on it and choosing from context menu rpm2xzm. Activate and bingo.
Last edited by francois on 05 Dec 2013, 11:15, edited 1 time in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Font issue

Post#8 by fanthom » 05 Dec 2013, 10:09

@skateman
glad that it's working for you and thanks for sharing the solution.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

fredalter
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 23 Mar 2014, 10:45
Distribution: kiosk
Location: France

Re: Font issue

Post#9 by fredalter » 23 Mar 2014, 13:36

hi,

i'm a newbie about linux and porteus, i dl via wizard a kiosk iso, all work fine exept some fonts (cf arial) are not rendering correctly.
i don't understand how to change the iso to fix that
the url is test.astrapro.fr, you can see the differences (in the input box for example) in and out the kiosk mode

Thanks for your help

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5000
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Font issue

Post#10 by francois » 23 Mar 2014, 16:30

You have to add a font module to the iso. It is the same as adding any module to the kiosk iso. :)

1.0 Download the rpm equivalent msttcore-fonts-2.0-6.noarch.rpm:
http://olea.org/paquetes-rpm/msttcore-f ... noarch.rpm

Then transform it into a porteus module by right clicking on it and choosing from context menu rpm2xzm.

2.0 Then incorporate the module to your kiosk iso. Did your read the following thread on customization of the kiosk iso:
http://www.porteus.org/faq/kiosk-faq.html

Just tell us what you have tried. We will be happy to help you.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

jmheneman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 13:51
Distribution: Porteus 3.0 LXDE Google Chrome
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

Re: Font issue

Post#11 by jmheneman » 25 Mar 2014, 14:07

Is this related to this forum post ?
viewtopic.php?f=103&t=2886&p=23042&hilit=font#p23042

Potential font issue in Porteus 3.0 with Google docs courrier/serif/sans-serif the same

When writing a Google docs under Porteus 3.0, the Serif, Sans serif and Courier New in Google docs look all the same under Firefox browser (look like Serif font), and under Google Chrome browser (look like Sans serif).

The issue appears in Porteus 3.0 LXDE Firefox, LXDE Google Chrome and XFCE Google Chrome. I did not test others DE/browser.

In comparison, Peppermint 4 (LXDE, Chromium) shows expected (correct?) representation for Courier New, Serif and Sans serif.

The google doc :
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1mAM ... B7pKc/edit

I made screenshots for this :
https://sites.google.com/site/lnxtst0/fontissuesp30

I would like to pinpoint the exact problem to help to fix it.

(This in my first post in Porteus forum. I appreciate Porteus 3.0 for its very small foot print, quick boot and fast shutdown. I am constantly looking for ways to use (reuse) old computers to help people and keep technology environmental footprint as low as possible.)

Thanks
Jean-Marc Heneman
2014-03-25
PS: François, je vois que tu résides à Montréal aussi!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Font issue

Post#12 by fanthom » 25 Mar 2014, 22:01

@fredalter
did you try to enable 'extra fonts' component in the kiosk wizard?

@jmheneman
we are using dejavu fonts package in Porteus and i'm not sure if Courier New is supported by it. could you check which fonts are installed in Peppermint by default?
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jmheneman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 13:51
Distribution: Porteus 3.0 LXDE Google Chrome
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

Re: Font issue

Post#13 by jmheneman » 26 Mar 2014, 02:24

I did the following command on Peppermint 4 to list the fonts :
fc-list
I posted the list here :
https://sites.google.com/site/lnxtst0/f ... put-p4.txt
(There are 84 lines in that list. Let me know I you want me to post it in this reply.)

I have to admit that I do not know how to verify if Courier New is supported or not by fonts within docs.google.com.
(The issue occurs only in docs.google.com, not when regular HTML... See https://sites.google.com/site/lnxtst0/font-tests )

Let me know what kind of test I can do to help to fix the issue!

Thanks for your support,
Jean-Marc

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Font issue

Post#14 by fanthom » 26 Mar 2014, 02:34

looks like Courier New is a part of MS proprietary fonts package:
http://lifehacker.com/272976/install-mi ... s-in-linux

wont be shipped with Porteus by default but you could install it individually from Slackbuilds:
http://slackbuilds.org/repository/14.1/ ... ore-fonts/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jmheneman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 25 Mar 2014, 13:51
Distribution: Porteus 3.0 LXDE Google Chrome
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

Re: Font issue

Post#15 by jmheneman » 26 Mar 2014, 22:28

fanthom wrote:wont be shipped with Porteus by default but you could install it individually from Slackbuilds:
http://slackbuilds.org/repository/14.1/ ... ore-fonts/
It works (but looks ugly) !
I am perplex with all these things...

Thanks fanthom!

We can mark this issue as solved (for me, but for the others, is it solved?)

Thanks
Jean-Marc

Post Reply