how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Non release banter
User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#16 by Slaxmax » 17 Dec 2013, 19:51

francois wrote:@slaxmax and wread:
Do you mean that you did not have to add dependencies at all under kde?
Exactly :D
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#17 by wread » 18 Dec 2013, 01:12

Genau! :D
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#18 by phhpro » 18 Dec 2013, 04:20

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#19 by francois » 19 Dec 2013, 02:48

wread wrote:Genau! :D
Ah! Précisément! Je comprends. Merci. :D
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#20 by phhpro » 19 Dec 2013, 03:17

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#21 by Ahau » 19 Dec 2013, 06:41

Francois,

Did you try re-downloading the package? I just tested it in 2.1 XFCE and it seemed to work fine. I'm wondering if maybe you got a partial download. The error message you got at first, "bash: /usr/bin/xvidcap: No such file or directory" is an odd one, because xvidcap would have to be present in the $PATH before bash would know to call xvidcap from /usr/bin/xvidcap. I've seen this very error when compiling stuff for ARM when I mix binaries compiled for incompatible architectures, which I believe is why fanthom started off his post asking if you were running a 64-bit package on a 32-bit system (or vice versa). This is not a QT dependency issue nor a GTK2 vs 3 issue (xvidcap is a gtk2 program, and gtk2 is included in all editions of porteus).

If re-downloading and installing the package doesn't work, give us the output of the following:

ldd /usr/bin/xvidcap

and

file /usr/bin/xvidcap

ldd is short for "list dynamic dependencies" and will tell us if there are any missing libraries. file will tell us what kind of a file this is, e.g.:
/usr/bin/xvidcap: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), stripped


As fanthom said, it's better to compile from source against the current system to ensure compatibility. Compiling is not as daunting as it seems at first, and won't require the level of depth that phpro explained above, with looking at each library on an individual basis (that will undoubtedly teach you more about your system and allow you to create smaller and more customized modules but it's not necessary to get started with compiling). I wouldn't start with xvidcap as it's old source code, there's no slackbuild on SBo; the one I found was from alienbob in 2008 and would require patching to work with the newer glib. If there's interest in this package, I could put together a patch for it; I think folks have moved more to recordmydesktop or some other software for screen capture.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#22 by fanthom » 19 Dec 2013, 07:41

Porteus gives you a power to organize your modules as you want. unfortunately this ability is it's curse at the same time (which is proven in this and many other threads) as unexperienced users are mixing ARCHs and REPOs then posting on the forum that something doesn't work.

i have an idea for next release: lets get rid of modules totally and stick to installpkg+save.dat. no activate/deactivate and every installatoion done through PPM. this way users wont be able to mess with xzm's and everything will just work like on every other linux distros.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1127
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#23 by donald » 19 Dec 2013, 10:42

i have an idea for next release: lets get rid of modules
I hope this is a joke, right? :shock:

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#24 by wread » 19 Dec 2013, 11:35

@fanthom
Or better, why not building in an "arch-key" similar to permissions rwx? So a module would have kmrlx-code for kde, mate, razor, lxde and xfce? I would call it Porteus-Permissions. If the module fits all DE's, the Porteus Permission would be 1+2+4+8+16=31, if it runs only in kde it would be 16, etc. By activation, a warning would be given, if no DE match is present.

RFC....
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#25 by brokenman » 19 Dec 2013, 16:30

lets get rid of modules totally and stick to installpkg+save.dat

Advantages of modules
They mount quickly. They autoload on boot when we want.

Disadvantages of modules
We rely on (sometimes buggy) aufs.
It's format is only relevant for a few distros.

Advantages of .txz

They are installed and not mounted.
Better reliability and no whiteout files.
It opens up the entire slackware database of packages instantly.

Disadvantages of .txz
They don't load during boot
It would require a substantial rewrite of much of the porteus code.

Perhaps another thread should be started.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#26 by francois » 19 Dec 2013, 23:51

Sorry for not coming back fast enough. I get my work week done in the first four days (mon-thur). Beside coming furtively on the forum these days, I cannot accomplish much. I was quite occupied this week.

I love porteus modules. I find them more simple to use than any other package system would they be as sophisticated as apt-get or pacman.

I have built some modules and installed porteus packages in different ways during my linux carreer (hum). I began in 2005. But it is just that I did not built bigger packages very often. One reason is that I am more of the conceptual type. Thus I used to be very good at mathematics, but really weak in accounting. To work linux you have to be very much focused and patient. Small errors will just beat you. =@

Fanthom with its first intervention just anwer my interrogation, and all the other have supplemented with interesting information that helped me reflect on package building.

Thanks to you all. :D
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#27 by phhpro » 20 Dec 2013, 00:02

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#28 by francois » 20 Dec 2013, 16:49

@phhpro:
Thanks for these deep thoughts. It is as if you have been working with porteus or its antecedent all your life. :twisted:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#29 by phhpro » 20 Dec 2013, 22:57

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4905
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#30 by francois » 20 Dec 2013, 23:53

Maybe you should tell us more about it here:
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=408
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply