how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Non release banter
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#1 by francois » 01 Dec 2013, 01:50

I have tried to get xvidcap, a video recording capture program, working under porteus. It is available under slackware:
http://slackware.org.uk/slacky/slackwar ... cap/1.1.7/

Just downloading the package and then turning it into a xzm module does not seem enough. Checking with slackyd for dependencies reports no missing dependencies:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# slackyd -d xvidcap-1.1.7

Checking xvidcap-1.1.7-i486-1sl: done.

All packages "xvidcap-1.1.7" checked are ok !

root@porteus:~# 
Trying to start it up from command line, I get:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# xvidcap
bash: /usr/bin/xvidcap: No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# 
Looking at the /src/slack-required, I get :

Code: Select all

atk >= 1.32.0-i486-1
cairo >= 1.10.2-i486-2
cxxlibs >= 6.0.14-i486-1 | gcc-g++ >= 4.5.2-i486-2
dbus >= 1.4.1-i486-1
dbus-glib >= 0.88-i486-1
expat >= 2.0.1-i486-2
fontconfig >= 2.8.0-i486-1
freetype >= 2.4.4-i486-1
gcc >= 4.5.2-i486-2
gdk-pixbuf2 >= 2.23.3-i486-1
glib2 >= 2.28.6-i486-1
glibc-solibs >= 2.13-i486-4
gtk+2 >= 2.24.4-i486-1
lame >= 3.98.4-i486-3sl
libICE >= 1.0.7-i486-1
libSM >= 1.2.0-i486-1
libX11 >= 1.4.3-i486-2
libXau >= 1.0.6-i486-1
libXcomposite >= 0.4.3-i486-1
libXcursor >= 1.1.11-i486-1
libXdamage >= 1.1.3-i486-1
libXdmcp >= 1.1.0-i486-1
libXext >= 1.2.0-i486-1
libXfixes >= 5.0-i486-1
libXi >= 1.4.2-i486-1
libXinerama >= 1.1.1-i486-1
libXmu >= 1.1.0-i486-1
libXrandr >= 1.3.1-i486-1
libXrender >= 0.9.6-i486-1
libXt >= 1.1.1-i486-1
libglade >= 2.6.4-i486-4
libpng >= 1.4.5-i486-1
libxcb >= 1.7-i486-1
libxml2 >= 2.7.8-i486-3
pango >= 1.28.4-i486-1
pixman >= 0.20.2-i486-1
util-linux >= 2.19-i486-1
yelp >= 2.30.1-i486-5sl
zlib >= 1.2.5-i486-4
I know that these are necessary to build from source, could some of them be important for the functioning of the package?

Or is it simply that this is a gtk2+ application as stipulated in the xvidcap-1.1.7-i486-1sl.txt file:

Code: Select all

xvidcap: Xvidcap (GTK2+ Screen Capture Tool)
xvidcap:
xvidcap: Xvidcap is a screen  capture  enabling  you  to capture  videos off
xvidcap: yourX-Window desktop for illustration or documentation purposes. It
xvidcap: is intended to be a standards-based alternative to tools like Lotus
xvidcap: ScreenCam.
xvidcap:
xvidcap:
xvidcap:
xvidcap:
xvidcap:
Thus maybe running under the gnome enviroment?

Could PPM resolve missing dependencies if instead of using slackware 14.0, it would be using slackware 13.37?

Any clarification or suggestion would be appreciated.
Thanks. :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#2 by fanthom » 01 Dec 2013, 07:20

a) if you are using 64bit porteus then please download 64bit packages and not 32bit ones
b) you should not use packages from older slackware version as older libs may destroy your current system
c) if you want to use package from older slackware which is not present in current then simply grab a slackbuild for it and compile from sources (sometimes this wont work as code may be simply too old/require additional patches):
http://repository.slacky.eu/slackware64 ... 1.1.7/src/

general slackbuilds HOWTO:
http://slackbuilds.org/howto/
compilation from salckbuilds is very easy (nearly automated).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#3 by francois » 01 Dec 2013, 16:29

@fanthom:

I do not get very often to build from source more complicated packages. I need to be more systematic and organized. Your patience is appreciated.

Thanks for the instructions.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#4 by phhpro » 16 Dec 2013, 01:27

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:46, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#5 by Slaxmax » 16 Dec 2013, 13:37

I tested this package in kde4 works fine. No problems with dependencies.
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#6 by wread » 17 Dec 2013, 00:11

@francois
Try kde4, my xvidcap works flawlessly :D
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#7 by phhpro » 17 Dec 2013, 00:46

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#8 by wread » 17 Dec 2013, 00:56

My kde4 is not bloated, my footprint says 379.5 MiB/1.1 GiB, what says yours?
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#9 by phhpro » 17 Dec 2013, 01:14

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#10 by wread » 17 Dec 2013, 01:18

Everything is not loaded, otherwise your xvidcap would be functioning ok. Mine does..... 8)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#11 by phhpro » 17 Dec 2013, 01:56

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#12 by wread » 17 Dec 2013, 02:08

Do as I say and you won't miss it! 8)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#13 by phhpro » 17 Dec 2013, 02:59

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 22:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#14 by wread » 17 Dec 2013, 11:41

Oh!, I see you can do without xvidcap! :Search:
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to get xvidcap functioning under porteus

Post#15 by francois » 17 Dec 2013, 12:06

@slaxmax and wread:
Do you mean that you did not have to add dependencies at all under kde?

@Peter:
Thanks a lot for that package building lesson. It is much appreciated. Really. I used some similar approach but invoked each dependency thru slackyd instead of looking for them in /usr/lib or /usr/lib64. I imagine that the process of deleting each txz and transforming each package to xzm could be automated. Do you have some script at hand?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply