Problems making a module. [Solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#16 by fanthom » 06 Dec 2013, 20:56

@AndyInMokum
never seen not working Porteus updater. somthing is strange indeed with your setup - anyway please grab updates manually from here:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/updates/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Payoon
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 61
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 19:16
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 32 bit XFCE
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#17 by Payoon » 07 Dec 2013, 08:01

Hi folks, hi andy
in the moment I am far away from my computer for some time now, but in the past I had the case that clicking the right mouse button didn't work, when the folder name contained spaces. So Andy maybe you rename the folder without spaces and try again. I would be interested to know, wether that worked for You, as it did for me.
If so it could be reported as a bug to developers for next release of porteus.
Payoon

AndyInMokum
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 06:21
Distribution: Crunchbang 11 32bit
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#18 by AndyInMokum » 07 Dec 2013, 20:22

Hi Payoon, I have just tried to make module out of a folder named, "Images" that contains 8 png images. I get a Porteus message (as superuser), Images.xzm was created. Again, nothing has been created. I am very careful about not using spaces by default whenever possible. It is really annoying as making modules is the core of Porteus :( .

AndyInMokum
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 06:21
Distribution: Crunchbang 11 32bit
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#19 by AndyInMokum » 07 Dec 2013, 20:36

Hi fanthom, I ran a manual update, 003-mate_fixes-20131002-x86_64-1prt.xzm. I get the usual Congratulations (as superuser) message after it is activated. I tried to make a module named Images containing 8 png images. I am told that the module Images.xzm has been created. There is no module :( ! I thought we may have solved the problem with the update but no, it is not to be.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 561
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#20 by tome » 07 Dec 2013, 22:03

right click - open with - choose build script or move (rename) this script to the correct place (/opt...).

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1121
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#21 by donald » 08 Dec 2013, 18:59

Hi Andy
First of all I can confirm your prob.I installed mate(32), include the fix and
no module is build.It says it has been created but there is no module somewhere.

Well, I'm a curious one, so I replaced the create-module-script with an older one
from my 2.0-xfce-install and BINGO..it works

That's not a good solution but an explanation.

AndyInMokum
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 06:21
Distribution: Crunchbang 11 32bit
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#22 by AndyInMokum » 08 Dec 2013, 19:52

donald wrote:Hi Andy
First of all I can confirm your prob.I installed mate(32), include the fix and
no module is build.It says it has been created but there is no module somewhere.

Well, I'm a curious one, so I replaced the create-module-script with an older one
from my 2.0-xfce-install and BINGO..it works

That's not a good solution but an explanation.
Hi donald and thanks for confirming that I haven't gone mad :crazy: ! Where can I find the Porteus 2.0 script you speak about? Or, do you think I should wait for an official update? I'm in no particular hurry. It isn't stopping me from enjoying the distro. In fact, I find the whole trouble shooting process very interesting; so I'm happy wait :)

Update: I have just realized your installation is the 32bit version. Mine is the 64bit.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#23 by francois » 08 Dec 2013, 20:02

Please try an additional step before inserting a new and functional script from an older porteus iso.

They can be found in:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~/di# slocate dir2xzm
/usr/bin/dir2xzm
/opt/porteus-scripts/dir2xzm
root@porteus:~/di# 
Please try the procedure that I have proposed at the begining of the thread:
francois wrote:Hello Andy,

The xzm module should be in the same folder where was held the folder you build the module from.

In my case the build porteus module option (right-clicking on the folder to get the menu) does not work. I am in kde 2.1. However, look at what I got with the following commands trying to transform a folder named /root/Desktop/bin into bin.xzm. I am working in root mode, but I works the same into guest mode.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda5/64bit_v21/kde# cd /root/Desktop/
root@porteus:~/Desktop# ls
Home.desktop        Ston1311s-note.rtf  expertise/  trash.desktop
Ston1311s-note.odt  bin/                tmp/
root@porteus:~/Desktop# dir2xzm bin bin.xzm
Parallel mksquashfs: Using 4 processors
Creating 4.0 filesystem on bin.xzm, block size 262144.
[=================================================================-] 86/86 100%
Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, xz compressed, data block size 262144
        compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, compressed xattrs
        duplicates are removed
...

...
Number of gids 1
        root (0)
root@porteus:~/Desktop# ls
Home.desktop        Ston1311s-note.rtf  bin.xzm     tmp/
Ston1311s-note.odt  bin/                expertise/  trash.desktop
root@porteus:~/Desktop#
If using dir2xzm procedure does not work in ALWAYS FRESH mode,you might have found a bug in mate. Or this could be due to a misplaced script. Open a new thread in the mate help section summarizing this thread of yours:
viewforum.php?f=124
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1121
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#24 by donald » 08 Dec 2013, 20:14

@AndyInMokum
1)The 2.0 script was the only one I had at hand.

2)Do as francois said

3)in the meantime you could try the other 2.1-64-bit DE's iso's scripts.
But someone should take a look at the script in mate to find out what's wrong with it.
I don't know if it makes any difference 32<=>64 bit in that case.
cheers

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#25 by francois » 08 Dec 2013, 20:51

Donald, you just confirm the bug, and I know that you really know what you talk about. For sure, it should be reported to brokenman. :twisted:

I just wanted Andy to go a little further, unless he finds it useless. I am quite sure this is a bug but only with mate, as I and fanthom could confirmed that it was functional on kde.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1121
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#26 by donald » 08 Dec 2013, 20:59

@francois
:friends:

AndyInMokum
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 06:21
Distribution: Crunchbang 11 32bit
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#27 by AndyInMokum » 09 Dec 2013, 21:00

Hi guys how's it going? I tried francois's suggestion of making a module using the same Images folder as before via the terminal. It worked without a problem. A module Images.xzm has been created on the desktop.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cd Desktop
guest@porteus:~/Desktop$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest/Desktop# ls 
Images/                 kornelix-fotoxx.desktop*       skype.desktop*
audacious.desktop*      mate-screenshot.desktop*       su-terminal.desktop*
browser.desktop*        mozilla-thunderbird.desktop*   writer.desktop*
gimp.desktop*           pluma.desktop*
gnome-mplayer.desktop*  porteus-save-session.desktop*
root@porteus:/home/guest/Desktop# dir2xzm Images Images.xzm
Parallel mksquashfs: Using 2 processors
Creating 4.0 filesystem on Images.xzm, block size 262144.
[=================================================================-] 22/22 100%
Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, xz compressed, data block size 262144
	compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments, compressed xattrs
	duplicates are removed
Filesystem size 4812.91 Kbytes (4.70 Mbytes)
	99.88% of uncompressed filesystem size (4818.73 Kbytes)
Inode table size 250 bytes (0.24 Kbytes)
	67.57% of uncompressed inode table size (370 bytes)
Directory table size 222 bytes (0.22 Kbytes)
	89.16% of uncompressed directory table size (249 bytes)
Number of duplicate files found 0
Number of inodes 9
Number of files 8
Number of fragments 2
Number of symbolic links  0
Number of device nodes 0
Number of fifo nodes 0
Number of socket nodes 0
Number of directories 1
Number of ids (unique uids + gids) 2
Number of uids 2
	guest (1000)
	root (0)
Number of gids 2
	guest (1000)
	root (0)
root@porteus:/home/guest/Desktop# 


The problem must be with the Mate DE. I hope this helps. Be prepared guys, I'm going to ask a whole heap of questions about modules but that is for another new topic. Thanks guys :) !

Desktop Images: http://postimg.org/gallery/2aqyttam/
Last edited by AndyInMokum on 10 Dec 2013, 00:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#28 by brokenman » 09 Dec 2013, 22:44

Please try this.

1) From the menu open System/Administration/Caja Actions
2) On the left click on 'create module'
3) Click on the command tab
4) Change %b to %f
5) File/Save

Now close and reopen Caja and right click on a folder to make a module.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

AndyInMokum
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 17 Jul 2013, 06:21
Distribution: Crunchbang 11 32bit
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Problems making a module.

Post#29 by AndyInMokum » 09 Dec 2013, 23:21

Good news, we have lift off!! Many thanks "brokenman" that did the trick; a module has been made :Yahoo!: . Many thanks to everyone who has helped out with this issue :) !

Post Reply