Broadcom Wireless, again

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
dickwyn
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 04:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE4-2.1-i486
Location: Bendigo, Porteus KDEAustralia

Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#1 by dickwyn » 08 Nov 2013, 05:07

Hello all,

I have been struggling for 2 days trying to get this laptop going on the internet, but no go.
I have 2 laptops here, one Toshiba and this one is working fine (also Broadcom)

The other is an HP (AMD) and I can't get this one to connect wireless. I have read the forums and followed to the letter the suggestions like:
Create directory "Porteus/rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d containing the file b43_blacklist.conf containing blacklist wl.

And also Porteus/rootcopy/lib/firmware with the brcm dir in there.

It is still using the wl driver instead of the brcm.

Hope you can help and thanks in advance

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#2 by fanthom » 08 Nov 2013, 06:04

hi dickwyn,

please generate 'xpsinfo' raport and will see what we can do about it.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dickwyn
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 04:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE4-2.1-i486
Location: Bendigo, Porteus KDEAustralia

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#3 by dickwyn » 08 Nov 2013, 07:28

I was afraid you were going to ask me that!
Now to find out how to do that, I've got the whole weekend!
Thanks

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5563
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#4 by brokenman » 08 Nov 2013, 12:16

Firstly to generate a system information file open a terminal and type: xpsinfo followed by pressing return. The password is: toor
Then choose to 'dump a full report' and have it upload to pastebin. Paste the link here.

Secondly when you are asked to put a file into the modprobe.d directory it should be as follows:
/mnt/sdxY/porteus/rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d where sdxY is the media from which you are booting. (note there is no upper case).
Any other path means the blacklist file won't work on startup.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

dickwyn
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 04:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE4-2.1-i486
Location: Bendigo, Porteus KDEAustralia

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#5 by dickwyn » 09 Nov 2013, 01:00

Thank you fanthom and brokenman.
The link to the info file is as follows:

http://pastebin.ca/2474898

Thanks very much for your help so far.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#6 by fanthom » 09 Nov 2013, 01:32

your chipset '14e4:4727' is supported by wl and brcmsmac drivers:
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Dri ... ed_devices

from the log file i see that you booted into 'always fresh' and 'wl' driver took control over the chipset (/rootcopy files are inactive in 'always fresh'). wired connection was active and it become default.
please disable wired connection then try to connect with your AP. in case of failure please run following command:

Code: Select all

tail -n 100 /var/log/messages
and post the output here.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dickwyn
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 04:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE4-2.1-i486
Location: Bendigo, Porteus KDEAustralia

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#7 by dickwyn » 09 Nov 2013, 02:41

I only had the wired connection on for a moment to connect to the forum
If I can't start in "Always Fresh" how should I startup??

Thanks again

dickwyn
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Nov 2013, 04:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE4-2.1-i486
Location: Bendigo, Porteus KDEAustralia

Re: Broadcom Wireless, again

Post#8 by dickwyn » 09 Nov 2013, 03:37

I finally did manage to set it up with your help. I found out I had to create a save.dat file in order to boot the first item in the boot menu.
After this the "brcmsmac driver was loaded properly and wireless is working OK now.
Problem solved and thanks again.

Post Reply