[SOLVED] Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Non release banter
Post Reply
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

[SOLVED] Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#1 by Hamza » 02 Feb 2011, 15:43

Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)
Post by injector » 02 Feb 2011, 16:11


If I use slax 6.1.2 base configuration I can write a command "modprobe pciehp pciehp_force=1" and fill free to insert or detach a pcie card on fly. But why in porteus v09 it does not work? I tried both x64 and x32. Also I tried slax-remix v08-09. Only on slax it works.

Moved from 'HOWTO & Ressources' to 'General Chat'

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#2 by fanthom » 02 Feb 2011, 21:04

@injector
'pciehp' is included in 64bit edition (ans should also be in 32) so it's not a matter of missing drive.
What is the type of this card: network, storage?
any log files?
please provide output of 'lspci' command and /var/log/dmesg
could you describe in details what happens when you do "modprobe pciehp pciehp_force=1" in Slax-6.1.2?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

injector
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Feb 2011, 15:16
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#3 by injector » 03 Feb 2011, 09:04

I use a PCIE card on laptop to connect hard disks. On Slax-6.1.2 when I insert the card with HD connected nothing happens. I just write in a Konsole the magic phrase "modprobe pciehp pciehp_force=1" and walla I get offer to mount a volumes.
But on the porteuses nothing happens and it is very sad because I must restart the computer to find the card. Here is the log:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 13)
0b:09.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
0b:09.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
0b:09.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
0b:09.3 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller

Posted after 9 minutes 2 seconds:
And this is "dmesg" started without the card
https://rcpt.yousendit.com/1037572373/3 ... ae71c2871d

Posted after 24 minutes:
As you see 4 PCI Express ports are present. May be you can give me a script to call the ports?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#4 by fanthom » 03 Feb 2011, 21:43

try Killer's solution from old v08 remix thread on slax forum:

Code: Select all

[b]Killer
wrote 59 days ago	

reply
It turns out to be easy to solve this one.

===
fanthom replied to Rava:

"c) when you run in text mode and plug your usb stick in then nothing happens as hal works for GUI only (not sure about it) and udev rules are not created. maybe they are created for slax-6.1.2 but i didn't do it for remix - nobody asked for it so far."

I have the same need as Rava. I think udev finds the partitions but the information doesn't reach anyone else. If someone plugs in a USB stick, I need appropriate line(s) to be appended to /etc/fstab.
===

I copied the following files from Slax 6.1.2:
/etc/udev/rules.d/fstab-update.rules
/sbin/udev-fstab-update

It is easy to put them under the rootcopy directory in Remix. The result worked perfectly.[/b]
copy 2 files mentioned by him from Slax-6.1.2 and then try 'modprobe' command. Hopefully will work :wink:
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

injector
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Feb 2011, 15:16
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#5 by injector » 06 Feb 2011, 10:21

Nothing happens! Neither for x64 and for x32 :wall:

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#6 by fanthom » 06 Feb 2011, 21:37

if after reboot all works ok then your pci express hd's are supported by porteus kernel. looks like hotplug daemons (hal, udev?) are not working correctly.
did you try to mount it manually?
please show me dmesg from slax-6.1.2 before you run modprobe command and after it.
same for porteus.
i need to find the difference....

EDIT:\\
just searched google and first link shows some good suggestion:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/371434

please try for example:
'modprobe pciehp pciehp_force=1' and then 'modprobe acpiphp'
other variations are also worth trying :wink:
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

injector
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 14
Joined: 01 Feb 2011, 15:16
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#7 by injector » 07 Feb 2011, 14:26

Slax_logs and this is the log of porteus Porteus_log. I put inside all files changed in log directory. For Porteus nothing changes after mod prob command even after I copied from Slax 2 files you told me
[url][/url]

Posted after 7 minutes 2 seconds:
Sorry I found two more strings in file "messages":
Feb 7 12:59:07 (none) kernel: [ 2124.524667] acpiphp: ACPI Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.5
Feb 7 12:59:07 (none) kernel: [ 2124.524934] acpiphp: Slot [1] registered
But it still does not see an attached hard disk

Posted after 3 hours 18 minutes 24 seconds:
OK, Solved! I just add
"modprobe pciehp pciehp_force=1
modprobe acpiphp"
to file "rc.local " and can now plug and remove on fly the PCI card

Posted after 2 minutes 52 seconds:
I don't know how to put [Solved] in topic

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: [SOLVED] Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#8 by Ahau » 07 Feb 2011, 16:29

Nice Work!

I've tagged this thread as Solved. You were unable to edit the original post, because karis showed as the original author. In any thread you start, you can edit the subject line when you click to "edit" the original post.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: [SOLVED] Running hotplug for pcie(xpress)

Post#9 by Hamza » 07 Feb 2011, 17:13

@Ahau

Thanks
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Post Reply