Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#1 by jimwg » 17 Oct 2013, 10:08

Greetings!

I can't find any firewall controls in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE, There's a network app but it looks sparse and no hint how to turn on firewall. Any hints welcome!

Jim in NYC

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1243
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#2 by donald » 17 Oct 2013, 10:24

Please open porteus settings center > security > there is the Firewall-button

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#3 by jimwg » 17 Oct 2013, 11:07

donald wrote:Please open porteus settings center > security > there is the Firewall-button
Thanks a million for that! The "on" check took some clicks to "catch" on, but will see if firewall's truly stays on with next boot-up. Thanks!

Jim in NYC

arvid
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 16:32
Distribution: puppy
Location: Finland

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#4 by arvid » 20 Dec 2013, 17:20

Just installed Porteus xfce. Everything is working alright. But I can't find any information how to adjust firewall. Found the place where to do it. But don't know how. The information label is empty. My use is mostly just net surfing and using skype. Do I leave firewall off, as it is default, or should I seek other alternatives? I am a newbie and don't understand much about all these things. Wonder if someone could help me.. Thank you in advance!

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1243
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#5 by donald » 20 Dec 2013, 18:27

Hi arvid
in simple words, without going into Details now,
choose the highest security-level = Block all.
If a program, you use, don't work with this security-level,
go back to strict.
As a rule of thumb, whatever you do, always use the highest security-level possible.

arvid
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 16:32
Distribution: puppy
Location: Finland

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#6 by arvid » 20 Dec 2013, 20:12

Thanks, donald, for answering so quickly! I choose as you proposed and I can see 'FIREWALL STATUS: ON / MODE: BLOCKALL'. But the next time I open the Settings Centre again, my adjustments have disappeared and there are FIREWALL: OFF. Did this a few times, and always the same result. Anything I can do for that?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1243
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#7 by donald » 20 Dec 2013, 21:37

@arvid
Please make an update.
open porteus-settings-center;On the first screen at the top
there is a button to update the system with fixes.Then try again.
If it's still not working take a look at /etc/rc.d/rc.FireWall and check if the file
is executeable.

arvid
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 16:32
Distribution: puppy
Location: Finland

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#8 by arvid » 20 Dec 2013, 22:44

Updating did not help. I am afraid the further actions will be too difficult to me. :( Thanks, anyway!

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1243
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#9 by donald » 20 Dec 2013, 23:27

@arvid
no,no,don't give up
Here is a step by step how to do it:
go to menu > system > open "super-user-mode Thunar", on the left pane click
File System > on the right pane open etc Folder > open rc.d Folder > in that Folder
locate the rc.FireWall File > right-click that file > choose properties > select
the Permissions Tab and check "Allow this file to run as a program" > done.
now your firewall works.
or do it the elegant way: menu > open super-user-mode Terminal > password is toor,
and then type in:
chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.FireWall
enter
done

arvid
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 16:32
Distribution: puppy
Location: Finland

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#10 by arvid » 21 Dec 2013, 08:46

Thanks again, donald! I typed in: chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.FireWall and now the firewall starts alright. But when I boot and look again, the mode has dropped from blockall to strict.. :%)

ztrapl
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 198
Joined: 29 Aug 2013, 21:36
Distribution: Porteus 3.1 KDE4 32bit
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#11 by ztrapl » 21 Dec 2013, 09:12

Thanks, donald

I use Porteus 2.1 KDE 4
I used your instructions. FireWall now works.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1243
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#12 by donald » 21 Dec 2013, 15:04

My pleasure

@arvid
yes you are right.I have posted this minor issue in the christmas-wishes-thread
a while ago, and with luck it will be fixed in 3.0 :wink:

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5652
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#13 by brokenman » 22 Dec 2013, 12:52

Ouch, i missed the request in the wishes thread and the core is frozen for rc1. Will make sure this is sorted out for rc2. Sorry.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1243
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Can't Find Firewall in Porteus 2.1 32bit XFCE

Post#14 by donald » 23 Dec 2013, 04:36

Never mind
That's what rc's are good for.... :)

Post Reply