java script blocked in Kiosk

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
firehazard
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Oct 2013, 03:55
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#1 by firehazard » 15 Oct 2013, 04:01

How can I make a Kiosk ISO that has javascript enabled?

I use phptimeclock and use the Kiosk as a timeclock for employees

The time is incorrect on the timeclock pc for employees because it is unable to get the time from the system using java script.

I notice in porteus desktop java script works fine since it has the correct time for my timeclock.

Can someone please tell me how to modify this iso so that java script is enabled?

I know it introduces some security vonerabilities but I don't care since this system is on a static ip on it's own logical network with the timeclock server being the only other thing on that network with no internet access.

Thank you

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#2 by fanthom » 15 Oct 2013, 07:42

javascript is enabled in kiosk by default. you can check it by going on this page:
http://www.javatester.org/javascript.html

maybe firewall is blocking something - please disable it and check again.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

firehazard
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Oct 2013, 03:55
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#3 by firehazard » 17 Oct 2013, 00:02

Thank you for the suggestion.

I made a new Kiosk iso with firewall disabled and the time is still wrong on the website. I went to the JavaScript test website and it is working.

I think my problem may be caused by not setting the timezone.

I am using the Kiosk Wizard to create the iso and I notice there is no way to set timezone. How can I set the timezone? I am using a burned CD so I would need to modify the timezone before creating the iso.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#4 by fanthom » 17 Oct 2013, 00:17

looks like i'll have to add 'set timezone' feature to the kiosk wizard. will try to do it in the next couple of days and drop something for testing.
stay tuned.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

firehazard
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Oct 2013, 03:55
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#5 by firehazard » 17 Oct 2013, 01:39

Thank you for all your work. Adding the set timezone to the kiosk wizard will make it perfect :-)

I'm sure that will fix the issue. I have tested a javascript clock on the Kiosk using http://www.uize.com/examples/digital-clock.html which works but is 5 hours off from my timezone CST. I have also checked my BIOS clock and confirmed it is correct ;-)

I look forward to making a new iso.

Thank you for your help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#6 by fanthom » 19 Oct 2013, 14:27

here is a testing ISO which is timezone aware:
http://dl.porteus.org/i486/testing/port ... a-i486.iso

please update /boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg with following cheatcode:

Code: Select all

timezone=Europe/Warsaw

(ofc please use your own timezone) create new iso with /porteus/make_iso.sh script and check if it's working correctly.
if yes then i'll update kiosk wizard and release kiosk 2.1.2

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

firehazard
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Oct 2013, 03:55
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#7 by firehazard » 22 Oct 2013, 08:25

It works! I set timezone=US/Central and it works fine with my timeclock and the test java clock link. My concern now is how it will handle daylight savings time?

Thank you.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#8 by fanthom » 22 Oct 2013, 08:39

My concern now is how it will handle daylight savings time?
it should work out of the box. please check next Monday and let me know if it wont.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

firehazard
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 15 Oct 2013, 03:55
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: United States

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#9 by firehazard » 03 Nov 2013, 19:26

Yes it works with DST. Please update the Kiosk wizard. I need to fix my timeclock machine ;-)

Zoom
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Mar 2014, 09:12
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: Danmark

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#10 by Zoom » 03 Mar 2014, 09:17

Sorry for piggy-backing on this thread - I'm also looking at using the Kiosk for timeclock purposes, but my problem is a little bit different.

I can get to the login page (on our timeclock servers homepage), but when the user has logged in the icedtea plugin crashes instead of showing the clock in and out buttons - is it in any way possible (without a lot of work) to use Oracle Java, instead of OpenJRE?

If I can solve this it would be very easy for me to deploy new timeclocks everywhere...

Best regards,
/Thomas

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: java script blocked in Kiosk

Post#11 by fanthom » 03 Mar 2014, 15:34

hi Thomas,

i have tested kiosk's java plugin on:
http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp
http://javatester.org/version.html

and seems to be ok. could be that an applet from your website is not compatible with openjre? if yes then you'll have to generate kiosk ISO then remaster it and replace 007-java-extension.xzm with module created from Oracle's java.
remastering procedure is described in the Kiosk FAQ so please follow it.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply