Euro sign

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

Euro sign

Post#1 by bshogeman » 02 Oct 2013, 13:28

I can't type the euro sign in porteus. Both combinations are not valid:
Ctl-Alt-5 or AltGr-5 (right alt)

I know about the cheatcodes: kmap= and timezone= but can't solve the problem with this.

I use only: timezone=Europe/Amsterdam
Keyboards that we use are US-International (Euro symbol engraved on the 5 key)
With kmap=us the eurosign isn't usable. but as you look in the file it must be defined.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4549
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#2 by fanthom » 02 Oct 2013, 13:56

just checked and booting with 'kmap=nl' cheatcode and AltGr-e gives me € symbol.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#3 by bshogeman » 02 Oct 2013, 14:45

kmap=nl mess ups other keys and the key on the keyboard (us-int) is located on the 5 key. But with kmap=nl there is also a symbol generated for AltGr-5 so I think I can solve the problem by modifing the us layout file. All symbols / buttons are right in that file except the eurosymbol.

User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#4 by bshogeman » 04 Oct 2013, 14:40

Is there a pretty way to setxkbmap -rules xorg -layout "us" -variant "intl"
Don't tested yet if all keys are correct but something like this seems to solve the problem.
I mean can this command also be formated with the kmap cheatcode?
Now I use cliexec ore guiexec works the same but is a little longer in the string and the kmap cheatcode is designed for this task.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#5 by wread » 04 Oct 2013, 20:04

This problem I had already in my office. I solved it elegantly this way

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
#Set keybord us alt-intl
setxkbdmap us -variant atl-intl
#
Save it as setkbdus-int.sh, make it executable and put it in /rootcopy/etc/profile.d/ and reboot.

Good luck!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4549
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#6 by fanthom » 04 Oct 2013, 20:44

Now I use cliexec ore guiexec works the same but is a little longer in the string and the kmap cheatcode is designed for this task.
agree. for next porteus release i'll tweak 'kmap=' cheatcode so it'll be possible to use variants. the syntax will be: 'kamp=$layout:$variant' like 'kmap=us:intl'.

thanks for suggestion.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Euro sign

Post#7 by Hamza » 06 Oct 2013, 22:17

@Fanthom -- Don't forget to remember to add this possibility to web wizard ;)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4549
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#8 by fanthom » 07 Oct 2013, 08:53

@Hamza
was talking about the ISO. up to you if you want to include kbd variants in web wizard (this may be tough as every layout has different variants).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#9 by bshogeman » 07 Oct 2013, 14:54

Does somebody know the solution for the following error message?
Warning: No translation for (keysym 0x20ac, Eurosign)
This error happends when you press the eurosign when connected with rdp to a remote with rdesktop (included in porteus 2.1) or xfreerdp (1.0.2).

The solution for the eurosign worked for the porteus desktop but not for remote sessions with rdesktop or freerdp :(

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Euro sign

Post#10 by Hamza » 07 Oct 2013, 18:00

It simply doesn't understand/support the character you have sent. Try with another special character to be sure.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Euro sign

Post#11 by bshogeman » 08 Oct 2013, 10:43

True but that way I still haven't got a eurosign in a remote session.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Euro sign

Post#12 by Hamza » 08 Oct 2013, 15:53

Which charset you have set on software used to control the remote computer?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
bshogeman
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 27
Joined: 10 May 2013, 13:12
Distribution: Porteus 2.0 x64
Location: Lisse, the Netherlands
Contact:

[Solved] Re: Euro sign

Post#13 by bshogeman » 10 Oct 2013, 15:15

Fixed it with also defining the keyboard layout to the xfreerdp commandline string. Tnx
Btw what also was an issue was that the folder /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu wasn't in /etc/ld.so.conf
Not all libs requered for xfreerdp where loaded.

Post Reply