How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
patx
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 26
Joined: 22 Aug 2013, 13:30
Distribution: kiosk
Location: canada

How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#1 by patx » 11 Sep 2013, 21:32

Hi, I noticed the right-click does not work on KIOSK edition, how do I enable this feature ?

Thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#2 by fanthom » 12 Sep 2013, 15:42

right mouse click was disabled for security reason (so users can't see hidden files, upload firefox config, change firefox layout, etc..) and is not really needed in kiosk.

if you want to re-eanble it then please edit 003-settings.xzm/etc/xdg/openbox/autostart
and comment out following line:

Code: Select all

# Disable right mouse click:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 32 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 3"
topic moved to 'User's modifications to the Kiosk ISO' as this feature will never be accepted in official kiosk (for reasons mentioned above).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Fabiok
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Oct 2014, 10:27
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Curitiba

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#3 by Fabiok » 29 Oct 2014, 10:38

fanthom wrote:right mouse click was disabled for security reason (so users can't see hidden files, upload firefox config, change firefox layout, etc..) and is not really needed in kiosk.

if you want to re-eanble it then please edit 003-settings.xzm/etc/xdg/openbox/autostart
and comment out following line:

Code: Select all

# Disable right mouse click:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 32 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 3"
topic moved to 'User's modifications to the Kiosk ISO' as this feature will never be accepted in official kiosk (for reasons mentioned above).

Hi fanthom!
I tried the codes below to enable click with the right button without success. What am I doing wrong? The Porteus Kiosk is perfect for what I need but it is essential to use the right button on firefox for my application.
Ps: Sry my english

Code: Select all

# Enable right mouse click:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 32 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 3"

Code: Select all

 Disable right mouse click:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 32 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 3"

Code: Select all

Enable right mouse click:
xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 32 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 3"

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#4 by fanthom » 29 Oct 2014, 11:12

hi Fabiok,

please add '#' at the beginning of this line so it will look like here:

Code: Select all

#xmodmap -e "pointer = 1 2 32 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 3"
or delete it completely.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Logware
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Sep 2015, 07:57
Distribution: 3.5
Location: Paris - France

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#5 by Logware » 07 Sep 2015, 08:09

Hi,

I tried this and it worked but only during wizard installation.
After the installation the right-click don't work.
I know it is normal because it is not supported for security reason.

But if i want to enable the right-click on the browser, what should i do ?

Below here is the explanation why i want to enable right-click :
I use my browser to connect a virtual machine (VMware Vsphere View), with the right-click disable i can't use the context menu on the desktop or on excel.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#6 by fanthom » 07 Sep 2015, 08:58

Hi Logware,

I tried this and it worked but only during wizard installation.
After the installation the right-click don't work.

Once right mouse click is enabled it supposed to work also after installation.

Next release will have this setting included in the wizard. If you are in rush then please try again and in case of troubles contact me through 'custom builds' service:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/builds.html

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

lemon
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 02 Dec 2015, 13:46
Distribution: Slackware
Location: ITALY

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#7 by lemon » 18 Dec 2015, 08:30

Hi,

though I have enabled right mouse click during wizard installation it won't work. I use Firefox as browser, and configuration file contains "right_mouse_click=yes", but I can't use it anyway. Any hints?

Thank you very much

Lemon

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How do I enable right-click in KISOK edition ?

Post#8 by fanthom » 18 Dec 2015, 10:08

Right mouse click is enabled - you can test it for example by right mouse clicking on the youtube video.

Firefox has context menus disabled by default, you may enable them by editing $profile/chrome/userChrome.css.
Please copy this file to your standard firefox profile (backup it first) then do as follows:
- delete one item from userChrome.css
- restart firefox
- check what has changed in the browser UI

This way you'll be able to find which code does what.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply