porteus 32bit alpha testers required

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#46 by Blaze » 18 Mar 2011, 18:17

Whereis the damm setting for the konsole font?
Here /etc/rc.d/rc.font
set your font in your rc.font

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
setfont /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts/name-of-font-here
You can display a font with this command:

Code: Select all

showconsolefont
Cheers
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1108
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#47 by wread » 19 Mar 2011, 13:26

That were advices for beginners. I wish that had been so easy. Thank you for your kindness, Blaze!
It is not a bug, but a conception error. I will explain:

I have a laptop with spanish keyboard, locales in Santo Domingo is spanish, too. So, first thing I do is to switch to keyboard es; then I change us to us intl, to have access to acentos á, é, í etc, ñ and ü -, to be able to use other machines (home, office,etc.). Normally I had been doing it from the taskbar.

By this beta version, that did not work for me.

Then I kept testing and found that Start>>System>>Language-Selection-Tool throws a locales-xzm file in folder root. I just changed that file to modules and rebooted. Violà!, Wunderschön!, Я нашел!, I found it! :Yahoo!:

Maybe fanthoms locales-xzm should be part of one the base modules or simply, put it in there from the beginning......

Regards
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#48 by fanthom » 19 Mar 2011, 15:31

@wread
"Maybe fanthoms locales-xzm should be part of one the base modules or simply, put it in there from the beginning......"
locales-xzm are generated according to user preferences and can't be included in the ISO by default.
i prefer when user is aware of existence of this package - that's why he must move it to /porteus/modules himself.
i'm not going to create another Ubuntu where everything is done automatically and works just perfect till something goes wrong ( as then nobody is able to fix it).

thanks for suggestion anyway :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply