porteus 32bit alpha testers required

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#31 by brokenman » 17 Feb 2011, 20:45

CONFIG="/opt/porteus-scripts/modtoolsrc"
CONFPATH="/$USER/.kde3/share/config/porteus-scripts"

Am I wrong here, or should CONFIG be /#USER/.kde3/share/config/porteus-scripts/modtoolsrc, correct?
CONFIG=/$USER/.kde3/share/config/modtoolsrc
CONFIGPATH=/$USER/.kde3/share/config
This would be ideal solution but i will have to check when i get home. From memory CONFIGPATH is used to check for the CONFIG file. Probably only need CONFIG and can get rid of CONFIGPATH
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#32 by brokenman » 12 Mar 2011, 02:38

I am hoping someone has a copy of the patch in this thread that fixed the problem where root couldn't boot to text mode and then startx.

startx-patch.lzm
Three files to fix problem with Porteus v09 alpha startx not working after root text mode login
(4 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

The file has been deleted from the server and i would like a copy of it. I can't remember what i did in the patch.

Thanks (hopefully)
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#33 by Ahau » 12 Mar 2011, 06:18

I can't verify that this is exactly what you had in that patch, but here's what I have:

http://www.mediafire.com/?4c2yxnlx7u9ywxw

My actual .xzm patch was removed when I downloaded the SVN update, but I found a folder in my /porteus/modules folder, where I had extracted the patch. I don't *think* I made any modifications...and of course it was saved to a FAT filesystem while extracted, so permissions are probably messed up. I hope this is helpful.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#34 by brokenman » 12 Mar 2011, 11:25

Exactly what i was after! Thanks very much.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 117
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#35 by hypomania » 12 Mar 2011, 16:25

hello,
why there are "*.xzm" and "*.lzm" modules !
and what will happen if I delete all *.xzm ??
and what will happen if I delete all *.lzm ??

I tried to install it on USB with bootins.sh and I run wizard success , but when I did reboot then not worked !

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#36 by Hamza » 12 Mar 2011, 17:38

The XZM is the new extension for Porteus Module , now , you will see this extension in BETA (v1.0) of Porteus x86_64

The LZM is the old extension for Porteus Module , now , you will see this extension in v0.9 of Porteus , but i think , it will be replaced by new extension in the v1.0.

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 117
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#37 by hypomania » 12 Mar 2011, 18:27

I know it's new extension, but I asked to know why both modules !!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#38 by Hamza » 12 Mar 2011, 18:45

For that , please ask the admin of the branch (Br0kenman)
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#39 by brokenman » 12 Mar 2011, 21:16

why there are "*.xzm" and "*.lzm" modules !
I don't understand. Where is there both modules?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 117
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#40 by hypomania » 14 Mar 2011, 11:07

===========

when I copied all data to USB, then I executed "bootinst.sh" , was fail to make it bootable

Code: Select all

Flushing filesystem buffers, this may take a while...
Setting up MBR on /dev/sdb...
The Master Boot Record of  /dev/sdb  has been updated.
Activating partition /dev/sdb1...
No partition table modifications are needed.
Updating MBR on /dev/sdb...
Setting up boot record for /dev/sdb1...
./boot/syslinux/extlinux: invalid option -- 'd'
Usage: ./boot/syslinux/extlinux [options] directory
  --install    -i  Install over the current bootsector
  --update     -U  Update a previous EXTLINUX installation
  --zip        -z  Force zipdrive geometry (-H 64 -S 32)
  --sectors=#  -S  Force the number of sectors per track
  --heads=#    -H  Force number of heads
  --raid       -r  Fall back to the next device on boot failure
  --once=...   -o  Execute a command once upon boot
  --clear-once -O  Clear the boot-once command
  --reset-adv      Reset auxilliary data

  Note: geometry is determined at boot time for devices which
  are considered hard disks by the BIOS.  Unfortunately, this is
  not possible for devices which are considered floppy disks,
  which includes zipdisks and LS-120 superfloppies.

  The -z option is useful for USB devices which are considered
  hard disks by some BIOSes and zipdrives by other BIOSes.


I tried with option -z , but there is same problem,
./boot/syslinux/syslinux -z boot/syslinux

I think the code miss '$TARGET'
./boot/syslinux/syslinux -d boot/syslinux $TARGET

Posted after 3 hours 29 minutes 11 seconds:
by the way, boot image for porteus-v09 in water better than porteus-v1 with shark :crazy:

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#41 by Ahau » 14 Mar 2011, 14:11

Just thought I'd mention (since I haven't heard it mentioned before specific to 32-bit) that the "modesetting" bug exists for 32 bit. I was fooling around with it this morning, and found 002-xorg.xzm lacking the nouveau driver--it was moved to lxde and kde modules, as a workaround. Brokenman, I suppose I'll leave it up to you, whether to leave modesetting in place and continue with the workaround, or pull modesetting and move nouveau back to 002.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#42 by wread » 16 Mar 2011, 16:40

@brokenman
I'm afraid I am too late to test the alpha version now; so many issues have been already taken care of.
BTW, will you be calling for beta testers too? I downloaded it (the beta) to take a look at. It is a beauty, congratulations! :Yahoo!:
Only the keyboards I tried (en-int, es, fr, de) are broken. But the same keyboards of the alfa version are OK! :o
Maybe the keyboard maps got lost on the way from alfa to beta. Could you check on that? Maybe I have a corrupted download!

EDIT: Running "setxkbmap -query" you can notice that the KDE Keyboard Configuration Tool does not set the correct kbx map; I will try to fix it....
Last edited by wread on 17 Mar 2011, 17:11, edited 1 time in total.
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 117
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#43 by hypomania » 16 Mar 2011, 23:25

porteus-v1-i486-alpha.iso
==================

1-
in menu system tools => should replace scripts from
konsole -e /opt/porteus-scripts/porteus-usb.sh <=To=> xterm -e /opt/porteus-scripts/porteus-usb.sh
konsole -e pns-tool <=To=> xpns-tool.sh
-------------------------------

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#44 by brokenman » 17 Mar 2011, 20:40

Please leave all comments for ALPHA in this thread. When BETA is released a new thread will be made. This will avoid confusion ... i am easily confused.

EDIT: Running "setxkbmap -query" you can notice that the KDE Keyboard Configuration Tool does not set the correct kbx map; I will try to fix it....
Any progress?
Can you try this please: setxkbmap -model pc104 -layout tr -variant basic
It should change the layout. Replace tr with us to get back to normal. After running this the keyboard switcher seems to work for me.

konsole -e /opt/porteus-scripts/porteus-usb.sh <=To=> xterm -e /opt/porteus-scripts/porteus-usb.sh
I agree ... other desktops will be able to use. This is now set by /tmp/.terminal care of fanthom (great idea too!)

konsole -e pns-tool <=To=> xpns-tool.sh
This is already done n BETA
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1064
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#45 by wread » 18 Mar 2011, 16:24

Can you try this please: setxkbmap -model pc104 -layout tr -variant basic
It should change the layout. Replace tr with us to get back to normal. After running this the keyboard switcher seems to work for me.


The switcher seems to work for me too!,

Bingo! It is the font we are now (beta) using for the konsole. It has not either á (a-accent), é, etc., nor ñ (for spanish coño!). Whereis the damm setting for the konsole font? :evil:
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply