porteus 32bit alpha testers required

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#1 by brokenman » 30 Jan 2011, 00:14

Porteus 32bit alpha is ready for testing. :Yahoo!:

KDE has been bumped to Trinity (KDE 3.5.12) and has some additional features. The road was bumpy getting this to work so i am expecting some bugs. It should be noted that this is NOT the official release, it is just the trinity base for testing. Extra elements will be included in final release.

Please download and test reporting any bugs in this thread. I may move this thread to 32bit Latest release
Last edited by brokenman on 05 Feb 2011, 18:16, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: unhooked announcement
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Quax
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 21
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 21:28
Distribution: FluxFlux (ARM + x86), Slax7
Location: Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#2 by Quax » 30 Jan 2011, 01:34

Hi Brokenman,

great work :good: :Yahoo!: :Bravo:

Testing the iso there is an error opening konqueror for webbrowsing:

Code: Select all

Could not start process Unable to create io-slave:
 klauncher said: Error loading 'kio_http'.
I think this is due to the fact that you have used some 12.2 libs... (could you name the 12.2 versions you have used?)
As written in pm I will suit the scripts I used for Slack2Go to create splitbuilds.

I will transfer kio-sysinfo and SuSe hwinfo first and the scripts to use webmount&slik afterwards ;)

Did you use the git version for compiling?

Quax
Erfahrung bedeutet gar nichts - man kann Dinge auch 15 Jahre lang falsch machen...

Experience means nothing - one could have done things wrong for the last 15 years...

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#3 by roadie » 30 Jan 2011, 04:20

brokenman,

I get the same error as quax...........I'm unable to boot into Kde as of yet..........Lxde starts fine. This is the error I get with Konqueror in Lxde: Could not open library '/usr/lib/kde3/kio_http.la'.
libgssapi_krb5.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Porteus modtools is not creating a config file because it's trying to create it in /root/.kde/share/config/slaxscripts........rather than porteus-scripts.


EDIT:
I got Kde to start......had to run xwmconfig.

roadie

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#4 by brokenman » 30 Jan 2011, 05:44

I'm unable to boot into Kde as of yet
Hmm. Do you get the login screen? The blue screen asking for user and pass? I tested this on a few systems and boot without a hitch.

Quax i used 12.2 packages (prebuilt) for all except arts, tqtinterface & qt-3.3.8c which were compiled from tarballs. They have svn repo but it was too buggy for building on 13.1. Back to the drawing board.

Just tested konqueror, i get the same error.

Code: Select all

Could not start process Unable to create io-slave:
 klauncher said: Error loading 'kio_http'.

ldd /usr/lib/kde3/kio_http.so|grep "not found"
        libgssapi_krb5.so.2 => not found
        libkrb5.so.3 => not found
        libk5crypto.so.3 => not found
        libcom_err.so.3 => not found
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#5 by fanthom » 30 Jan 2011, 06:03

@roadie
no problems here :)
you need to use 'always fresh' + basic modules only.

@brokenman
very good job on Trinity!
also like very much KDM login and ksplash (although i liked previous syslinux image with fanthom's head :P)
now the bugs (just Trinity related as permissions are still not fixed, etc...:)

1. remove second copy of 006-koffice.lzm from /porteus folder :)

2. http://img843.imageshack.us/img843/1569/snapshot1b.png
solution: copy mentioned lib from Porteus-v09/005-kde-apps.lzm

3. Kmenu -> Utilities -> Kedit: is missing, following files can be removed:
http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/1364/snapshot1ex.png
Kmenu -> System -> network conf: doesn't work (can be removed - IMO)
Kmenu -> System -> Manage printing: gives kio_http error mentioned by Quax
Kmenu -> Settings -> Network Settings: gives warning - "Could not find the backed script for the network configuration detection. Something is wrong with your installation.
Please check that
{KDE_PATH}/knetworkconf/backends/network-conf
file is present."
despite of this warning - seems that works ok.

4. mimetype associations:
- when you pick up text file and choose 'open with' you will have 'KEdit' option, but Kdeit is not included in the ISO
- same for 'Actions' -> 'encrypt file' gives: Could not find the program 'kgpg'

5. /root dir has .kde and .kde3 settings folders.
- when you do 'rm -r /root/.kde3 && mv /root/.kde /root/.kde3' you will have old settings from Porteus-v09
- if you want to stick to new config please consider adding this KDE-3 configs patch:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/br14vwhsw ... config.lzm
adds 'show desktop' applet and 'konsole' application to the taskbar, removes 'Pager' applet and 'hide taskbar' button.
Ofc it's just a suggestion :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#6 by roadie » 30 Jan 2011, 06:16

brokenman,

I edited my post.............I was getting a black screen with a small console which showed nothing.

Ctrk-bksp gave only a black screen, so no way to access logs............this is a recurring problem with Porteus and NimbleX as well. I think it may be a driver issue, although vesa always performs well on this machine.

fanthom,

I'm booting from the iso, with no other modules loaded.

roadie

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#7 by fanthom » 30 Jan 2011, 06:22

roadie wrote:I'm booting from the iso, with no other modules loaded.
i'm glad to hear that.
Anyway please post Trinity related bugs in this thread only.
(You issue seems to be Porteus related in general)

Regards,
fanthom
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#8 by brokenman » 30 Jan 2011, 09:17

Removed second copy of 006-koffice.lzm from /porteus folder
That explains the extra weight! (thanks fanthom)

Removed extra kedit references
{KDE_PATH}/knetworkconf/backends/network-conf (not sure about this one, will hunt it down)
removed kgpg references in servicemenu, kgpg will be available as an extra package
I applied your config patch fanthom, could you also include the keyboard layout on kicker in it?
Fixed the kio_http error message (was missing krb5 package) download here

All stripped packages will be made available as extra module on repo.

If anyone has some ideas about getting kmix to start with volumes not set to 0 i'd like to hear from you. Can't find a config file anywhere for settings in kmix. I don't think alsactl store can be used in release as everyones audio cards are different.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#9 by fanthom » 30 Jan 2011, 10:52

updated my previous patch with autostart for: kmix (75% volume), knemo and keyboard layout :)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/kz7m7fu02 ... nfig-1.lzm
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#10 by Hamza » 30 Jan 2011, 13:08

the window decoration is not activated , or it's normal ?

but , the kdm theme is very great !!

This release is very graphics !

Your KDE 3.5.12 is back ported from Kubuntu ?

Image

The 004-kde.lzm file is not cleaned ,

Image

Image
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#11 by brokenman » 30 Jan 2011, 19:24

Thanks Karis,

I thought i corrected the kubuntu reference. Will fix that now.

Thanks for the Kmix patch fanthom. Will be interesting to look at.

Posted after 47 minutes 38 seconds:
@ Fanthom

kmixrc & kmicctrl in your latest patch makes reference to:
C-Media_Electronics_CMI9739
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

lo-n-behold
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 Jan 2011, 11:13
Location: belgium

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#12 by lo-n-behold » 31 Jan 2011, 13:13

works for me. nVidia card works fine too. I tried only kde, firefox (with proxy).

I tried the "from_iso" cheatcode, with only "grub, porteus.iso, initrd.lz, vmlinuz" on USB-stick, and this works fine now.
btw: is there a possibility to combine the "from_iso" with other modules not inside the iso?

it would be nice if one does not need to specify the device in "from_iso=/dev/sdb1/porteus/porteus-v1-i486-alpha.iso" but just "from_iso=/porteus/porteus-v1-i486-alpha.iso".

there is still a "slaxsave.zip" present in the ISO file.

for me, this is very great work... the only thing missing out of the box is emacs in the "devel" package :-)

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#13 by fanthom » 31 Jan 2011, 16:40

"is there a possibility to combine the "from_iso" with other modules not inside the iso?"
yes - will have to add extra cheatcode for external module location. To be implemented in first BETA of Porteus-1.0.

"it would be nice if one does not need to specify the device in "from_iso=""
ok will rewrite linuxrc to reflect that. Same as above - will be implemented in first BETA of Porteus-1.0
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1388
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#14 by Blaze » 31 Jan 2011, 17:38

brokenman,

1. I prefer View > View Mode > Icon View

2. Replace this file splash_bottom.png

Copy
Image
to /usr/share/apps/ksplash/Themes/Default/

3. Copy kxkbrc from /root/.kde/share/config/ to /root/.kde3/share/config/

4. Open and edit /root/.kde3/share/config/kdeglobals

Find

Code: Select all

Switch to Next Keyboard Layout=default(Alt+Ctrl+K)
Replace with

Code: Select all

Switch to Next Keyboard Layout=Alt+Shift_L;Alt+Shift_R
6. KDE > System > network-conf - Set IP address
does not works because

Code: Select all

kmdr-executor /usr/share/slax/network-conf.kmdr
5. If i copy all files of /root/.kde/ to /root/.kde3/ and then delete a directory /root/.kde/
i look at this screenshot: http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/5117/snapshot10n.png

-> http://img695.imageshack.us/img695/7669/39736227.png <-

Image

6. I recompiled a window Decoration crystal 1.0.7 under kde 3.12 trinity
Image
Module: crystal_1.0.7_x86.lzm

7. About
Kmenu -> Settings -> Network Settings: gives warning - "Could not find the backed script for the network configuration detection. Something is wrong with your installation.
Please check that
{KDE_PATH}/knetworkconf/backends/network-conf
Add this module kdeadmin-4.5.5-x86.sq4.lzm for fix it.

8. Some remarks:
a) http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/6493/snapshot2ma.png
b) http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3057/snapshot3bo.png
c) http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/6483/snapshot4k.png
d) http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/7605/snapshot5c.png
e) http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/4131/snapshot6cc.png
f) http://img840.imageshack.us/img840/9076/snapshot7r.png

9. This file My_Documents (open in kwrite) /usr/share/apps/kdesktop/Desktop/ in the wrong charset. (need to UTF-8-encode)
Need to replace this file.

Image
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: porteus 32bit alpha testers required

Post#15 by Hamza » 31 Jan 2011, 18:54

@brokenman

with these bugs , i can see it's a kubuntu desktop imported from Kubuntu packages :D
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Post Reply