Porteus Kiosk Edition install to HDD

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
sanzi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 29
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 12:02
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Hungary

Porteus Kiosk Edition install to HDD

Post#1 by sanzi » 05 Sep 2013, 13:37

I made my own .iso file with the Wizard. I saved it in isohybrid format. After that i try this command: dd if=/mnt/porteus_kiosk.iso of=/dev/sda1 . Everything seems fine. But, when I reboot and boot from HDD something wrong:
Reboot and Select proper Boot device....
My Bios settings is OK. Maybe my PC not support isohybrid? My motherboard is a HP IPIEL-LA3. What can i do in this situation, if my PC not working with isohybrid. Any other methods to install Kiosk to a hard drive?

p.s.: I found this: "and it will not work if you specify a partition number (e.g. /dev/sdb1)", so I try this command: dd if=/mnt/porteus_kiosk.iso of=/dev/sda , but it still not working.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition install to HDD

Post#2 by fanthom » 05 Sep 2013, 14:32

burning to a drive instead of partition should work out of the box. if for some reason it doesn't (BIOS incompatibility?) then you may want to install any bootloader (syslinux, grub, lilo, etc) and then burn ISO to a partition -> create entry for kiosk in the bootloader config. have a look here for a sample:
viewtopic.php?f=102&t=2557
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

sanzi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 29
Joined: 04 Sep 2013, 12:02
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Hungary

Re: Porteus Kiosk Edition install to HDD

Post#3 by sanzi » 06 Sep 2013, 06:33

Thansk the answer!

I changed my motherboard, and everything gona be fine, no problem.

Post Reply