Dual screen?

New features which should be implemented in Porteus Kiosk Edition and the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
Rob128
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 17:08
Distribution: Debian
Location: Florida

Dual screen?

Post#1 by Rob128 » 28 Aug 2013, 17:19

Hi,

I am interesting in trying out kiosk edition but have a specific use case which would require two browsers pointing to separate urls (one on each screen).

Would it be possible to configure the product to either open 2 browser windows or run 2 instances of Firefox? (one on screen 1 and the other on 2)

Any thoughts or assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5221
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: Dual screen?

Post#2 by francois » 28 Aug 2013, 20:34

Are you talking about two different monitors or only of two different instances of firefox on the same monitor?

Dual display thru xrandr might be implemented in the next edition of porteus, if there is some demand, see fanthom writings:
viewtopic.php?f=104&t=2259
... i'll introduce 'set screen size' feature in the wizard for kiosk-2.0.5.
For starting two different instances of firefox on the same monitor, there are commands to do that, so you could have a script to launch them:
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... ne_Options

An example would be:
# two-firefox-windows.sh
# script to start two instances of firefox
firefox https://www.google.ca/
firefox http://forum.porteus.org/

Have a look for customization at:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... d-faq.html
http://files.porteus.org/PorteusKioskEd ... ble-v4.pdf

This link on starting firefox could be also of interest for you:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Opening_a_new ... er_profile
It even refers to some other link where you can set the position and size of the firefox windows:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Command_line_arguments

You should put the above script into rootcopy folder, see:
http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... ctory.html

I hope it helps. :)
Carpe diem.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5221
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: Dual screen?

Post#3 by francois » 31 Aug 2013, 16:50

Sorry that I have scarred you. You may ask additional questions and have a lot more help if you do not sort it out> :)
Carpe diem.

Rob128
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 17:08
Distribution: Debian
Location: Florida

Re: Dual screen?

Post#4 by Rob128 » 07 Oct 2013, 15:10

Hi Francois,

Very sorry about the lack of response, the project had been put on hold and I did not receive an alert that there was a reply to the topic for some reason.

Thanks you for your very helpful answer, we are looking at moving forward again so I will review your suggestions and let you know if I have further questions.

Thanks again,
Rob

Post Reply