nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Here you can post about your various experiences with PC hardware. You can also post about hardware that is not compatible with the linux kernel or not recommended for use with Porteus.
Post Reply
unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#1 by unixino » 14 Aug 2013, 11:22

hi
i got a ( Lenovo Z580 ) with nvidia OPTIMUS .
i can only ead the intel card but not the nvidia card :cry:
i need to use blender cycles but i can't use my card, i googled for a solution & found the best solution is : ( http://bumblebee-project.org/index.html )
is there a way to create a module with Bumblebee to let me use my nvidia card ?
Please help me urgent i really need this .
Thanks
note:
using the ( nVidia-319.32-porteus-v2.1-x86_64-1fmt ) driver

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#2 by Hamza » 14 Aug 2013, 12:03

NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#3 by fanthom » 14 Aug 2013, 12:20

better follow this:
http://docs.slackware.com/howtos:hardwa ... ia_optimus

still a lot of work though...
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#4 by unixino » 14 Aug 2013, 16:24

hello
i saw the links but it's complicated for me , i am confused.
is it possible to create a module or not ?
is there some command lines i can use to build one ? or it's more complex ?
sorry but i am not expert in command .
thanks for your time

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#5 by brokenman » 15 Aug 2013, 00:59

I will create something for you. I also just bought a hybrid graphics laptop recently and will need the functionality of booting with the NVidia card activated.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#6 by brokenman » 18 Aug 2013, 04:20

I've created everything required to get the nvidia card working. You can switch between cards too. It took some compiling and fiddling around but now I am getting nice results:
optirun glxgears
12603 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2520.476 FPS
12165 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2432.897 FPS
12899 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2579.645 FPS
12001 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2400.165 FPS


At the moment I only have everything for a 64bit machine so I hope that is what you need. Let me know and I will upload your module. It will assume that you are using a stock standard version of Porteus-MATE-v2.1.
I will send a module containing everything you need, and a script to create the nvidia module after booting, the current nVidia module on our server won't work as you need to compile it for dkms.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#7 by unixino » 18 Aug 2013, 15:19

WOOOOOOOOw
Thank uuuuuuuuuu
great i am using the xfce 64 bit ( v 2.1 )

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#8 by brokenman » 18 Aug 2013, 20:15

NOTE: The following instructions assume you are using a default download of Porteus-v2.1-MATE-x86_64.iso
This module contains /etc/group and /etc/gshadow because a new group had to be added for bumblebee.

Please download the module from here: download
Place the module in your modules folder (/mnt/sdxY/porteus/modules) but do not activate it.

By default your system will be using the default GPU module (probably i915 in your case). You can check with: lsmod|grep drm
Open a console and issue the following commands.

glxgears
Check the FPS to compare to the second run

Now reboot porteus with the downloaded nvidia module in the 'modules' folder.
Open a console again and issue the following:

/etc/rc.d/rc.bumblebeed restart
echo ON > /proc/acpi/bbswitch
modprobe nvidia
optirun --no-failsafe --debug glxgears


Check the FPS again and you should a significant improvement.

There should also be an nVidia settings under the System/Preferences menu where you can look at things. You can launch applications using the nvidia GPU like so: optirun application
If you always launch certain applications using the nvidia by editing the /usr/share/applications/myApplication.desktop and editing the Exec= line to include the optirun prefix.

Let me know if you have any problems.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#9 by unixino » 19 Aug 2013, 15:38

Hi
Thank u very very much :Yahoo!:

it worked , i followed the instructions and it worked
but the optirum command only works with root , also when trying to execute blender :

guest@porteus:~/Desktop/blender-2.68a-linux-glibc211-x86_64$ ./blender
connect failed: No such file or directory
AL lib: UpdateDeviceParams: Failed to set 44100hz, got 48000hz instead
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
intern/ghost/intern/GHOST_WindowX11.cpp:190: X11 glXQueryVersion() failed, verify working openGL system!
initial window could not find the GLX extension, exit!


i have some questions

- do i have to type the commands in your post every time i boot , if so how can i make a patch to execute them automatically ?
- how to use optirum without root ?
- how to run blender with optirum command from blender executable , the command i know is ( ./blender ) ?
i ask a lot i know ,thanks for ur Patience
Thanks

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#10 by brokenman » 20 Aug 2013, 01:29

Glad to hear it.
- do i have to type the commands in your post every time i boot , if so how can i make a patch to execute them automatically ?
I can make a module that boots into a machine with nvidia card working by default. I just need to do some more testing. Probably by putting the following in /etc/rc.d/rc.local:
[ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.bumblebeed ] && /etc/rc.d/rc.bumblebeed start
echo ON > /proc/acpi/bbswitch
modprobe nvidia

- how to use optirum without root ?
I'll need to do some testing and maybe recompiling. My bad.
- how to run blender with optirum command from blender executable , the command i know is ( ./blender ) ?
optirun ./blender

Please show me where you got blender from and I will test with the same module.

Putting the following lines in rc.local should enable nvidia automatically. You can also run the following command as root to enable guest to use it.
chmod 755 /usr/bin/optirun
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

Re: nvidia OPTIMUS solution

Post#11 by unixino » 21 Aug 2013, 12:26

Hello
creating a module that uses nvidia automatically is great :D
i use the normal Blender package for 64 bit from Blender website , just extract ,navigate to the extracted folder then run blender .
Thank u again :good:

Post Reply