Firewall is not starting

Get help with XFCE specific problems
Post Reply
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1122
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Firewall is not starting

Post#1 by donald » 11 Aug 2013, 00:32

In Porteus-XFCE-v2.1-i486 (32) The Firewall is not starting at boot-up,
no matter what you choose in PSC.
You have to make /etc/rc.d/rc.FireWall executeable,otherwise you have
no Firewall

Error-massage:

Code: Select all

init: Entering runlevel:4
/etc/rc4.d/S-firewall.sh: Line 8: /etc/rc.d/FireWall: Permission denied
This could also be a general Problem, not only XFCE related.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#2 by wread » 11 Aug 2013, 00:41

You must make it executable, so the firewall can start. Open the core.xzm pack find /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall do chmod +x and repack and reboot. You will have your firewall running.

Grüsse
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1122
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#3 by donald » 11 Aug 2013, 01:12

@wread

I know, but all others should it also know. :)

And as usual the Firewall settings fallback from "Block all" to "strict".
after a reboot.
You can check it with iptables -L -v

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#4 by francois » 11 Aug 2013, 03:30

Isn't being covered by a router, or hardware firewall enough? :wink:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1122
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#5 by donald » 11 Aug 2013, 04:38

@francois

A good (not cheap) Hardware-Firewall is the best solution

The Security of a NAT-Router ( NAT= Network address translation),
depends on how bugfree the Firmware is.And many user use them
"out of the Box" without configuration.(remote connections)
Just googeling for the default (Factory) Passwords for the configuration-menue,
and you are in.

But really important is a secure Firewall,even with Linux,when you go
out of your Home with your Laptop and a WiFi or UMTS-Stick

But never mind...use clonezilla...make Images of your Partitions/HDD's,
and if something looks suspicious,restore them. 8)
Last edited by donald on 11 Aug 2013, 05:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#6 by ncmprhnsbl » 11 Aug 2013, 05:22

this should probly be in the bug section as this is a core issue. (also in lxde 64)
as to its importance, i see it like this: if you're offering a function, it should probably work.
even though the fix is easy enough,
this might be an opportunity to use the "Porteus Updater"?
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#7 by fanthom » 11 Aug 2013, 09:07

@brokenman
this commit must broke firewall function in PCS:

Code: Select all

- added a check to rc.services to start firewall if rc.FireWall is executable
exec bit is taken off by default in 2.1 so PSC should be updated to reflect that.
please push updated PSC through 'updates' - sorry for hassle.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#8 by francois » 11 Aug 2013, 10:31

Just googeling for the default (Factory) Passwords for the configuration-menue,
and you are in.
Thus, one has to use a strong password on its hardware firewall. Is there a particular setup of the router that could be stronger than any other one? :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1122
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Firewall is not starting

Post#9 by donald » 11 Aug 2013, 15:42


Post Reply