[SOLVED] how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

[SOLVED] how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#1 by pchan » 10 Aug 2013, 09:40

I tried to add - login=root - to the append line of porteus.cfg but it didn't work.

I have also tried to add - load=xfce - to the append line of porteus.cfg but it still stops at the login screen when booting.
Last edited by pchan on 03 Sep 2013, 17:10, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5136
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#2 by francois » 10 Aug 2013, 12:45

It works here for me. I have a hdd or frugal install, see menu.lst:

Code: Select all

title porteus on sda5 /32bit_v21 XFCE
root (hd0,4)
kernel /32bit_v21/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda5/32bit_v21 changes=EXIT:/32bit_v21/porteus login=root
initrd /32bit_v21/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
boot
Carpe diem.

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#3 by pchan » 10 Aug 2013, 14:34

Thanks for response.

I am not using grub so i don't have a menu.lst to work with. I installed to my sdcard and use porteus syslinux boot loader. So, the file I should work with is porteus.cfg found in the /boot/syslinux/ folder. It looks like the menu.lst that grub bootloader uses.

I have tried many times with the login=root but i will try once more and see if i can get it to work. I like to boot right into my xfce desktop gui without having to go through the log in screen.

In the login screen, i notice that I have to again select xfce session otherwise, the default desktop will just bring me back to the login screen.

Anyway, I am not so security conscious so i don't want to have to type in user name and password in order to login. I want to login straight to desktop environment.

Thanks

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#4 by pchan » 10 Aug 2013, 19:35

No, I cannot get it to work. The login=root cheatcode does not work for me. I am using porteus 2.1 xfce.

help appreciated. Thanks

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5136
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#5 by francois » 10 Aug 2013, 19:52

Did you add:

Code: Select all

login=root
In the append line?

As in:

Code: Select all

APPEND initrd=/64/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz from=64 changes=/64/porteus login=root
http://www.porteus.org/tutorials/37-ins ... ition.html
See this thread that might help you, even if it is on multiple boot:

Maybe you will find pertinent examples to help you. And submit the equivalent of the menu.lst. For example:

Code: Select all

LABEL fresh
MENU LABEL 64-bit KDE, Fresh
KERNEL /64/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=/64/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz from=64
If you are intersted we could also change your bootloader to grub:
viewtopic.php?f=62&t=946
Last edited by francois on 27 Sep 2013, 12:30, edited 1 time in total.
Carpe diem.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5659
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#6 by brokenman » 10 Aug 2013, 20:28

First things first. When you boot to the menu screen, hit the TAB button and then add login=root to make sure it works. If so then you can edit /mnt/sdxY/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg and add the cheatcode to the appropriate line as Francois said.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#7 by pchan » 11 Aug 2013, 11:22

thanks.

i tried pressing the tab key and then type in login=root at the bootup menu.

i noticed that i already have the string login=root at the end of my append line.

anyway, i typed in login=root again.

it brought me to the login screen but this time, the xfce session is already selected for me. so that's a progress.

i'm going to try typing the cheatcode login=root 2 times at the end of the append line and report back tonight.

i am also considering replacing the syslinux boot loader with grub. i think there could be more flexibility by having a menu.lst. if i'm not wrong, through the menu.lst, i can actually direct grub to load different types of porteus desktop??

i'm just not sure under grub, what i should do to make porteus save to my save.dat since the settings of each desktop environment might be different.

anyway, having multiple porteus is just an idea. if i can't get that to work, i really don't mind sticking to xfce. the main thing is i want to boot in directly without login screen.

Thanks

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#8 by pchan » 11 Aug 2013, 11:52

Okay, I tried typing login=root at the end of append line in porteus.cfg but it didn't work.

At the login screen, the xfce desktop session was also not selected for me.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5136
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#9 by francois » 11 Aug 2013, 13:01

If you are intersted we could also change your bootloader to grub:
viewtopic.php?f=62&t=946
8)

But syslinux should work as well. 8)
Last edited by francois on 11 Aug 2013, 14:35, edited 1 time in total.
Carpe diem.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#10 by fanthom » 11 Aug 2013, 13:58

'login=root' works for sure in 'Always Fresh' mode so there is something happening in saved changes. Ahau should track it down soon.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#11 by pchan » 11 Aug 2013, 17:48

Thanks fanthom,

yes, i noticed now that in francois menu.lst, there's no file.dat (save file).

this means that the system is ext3 so no need to have save.dat file.

my pendrive is fat32 so i'm using a save file for persistence. Somehow, the login=root could not work in fat32.

I hope the problem can be solved. I really like using porteus.

Thanks

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#12 by Hamza » 11 Aug 2013, 21:00

Please post a full xpsinfo report.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5136
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#13 by francois » 11 Aug 2013, 21:19

I am ext2. Maybe you could make 2 partitions on your usb if you want to keep some place for some windows' files. :)
Carpe diem.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#14 by Ahau » 12 Aug 2013, 17:53

@pchan, is there a chance you have another (older) porteus install located on your machine, on a hard drive or cdrom, perhaps?

If not, please try booting into 'always fresh' mode to see if that works, report back here, and in either case, please upload the xpsinfo report as Hamza mentioned, this should help us track down the cause.

Thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

pchan
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Jul 2013, 07:22
Distribution: Porteus v2 xfce
Location: malaysia

Re: how to load my desktop and bypass login screen?

Post#15 by pchan » 12 Aug 2013, 18:12

LABEL xfce
MENU LABEL Graphics mode (XFCE)
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus login=root
TEXT HELP
Run Porteus the best way we can.
Try to autoconfigure graphics
card and use the maximum
allowed resolution
ENDTEXT
Here's my porteus.cfg

Porteus 2.1 xfce
Fat32 sdcard
Netbook : acer aspire d257 netbook
Intel Atom n570


Hoping to be able to log in without login screen
Cheatcode "login=root" is used and typed in at the end of the append line.
Status : not working. need help

Post Reply