Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#1 by casalej » 06 Aug 2013, 22:50

Hello, I am completely new to linux and Porteus distro. I managed to go through the wizard on a ubuntu virtual machine and get a boot-able usb. I am getting a black screen on my kiosk computer when after the modules are booted to ram. the Monitor has a green light so it is getting a signal. when i boot to the custom iso image on my virtual box it works perfectly. So it seems that there is a driver incompatibility. The kiosk computer is from an obscure manufacturer named Nagasaki. Any help on getting this working would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#2 by brokenman » 07 Aug 2013, 02:32

Can you post the graphics specs for this kiosk machine?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#3 by casalej » 07 Aug 2013, 13:10

The necessary Devices are as follows as read from the default windows 7 install.

Display Adapter: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3600 Series
Mice and other Pointing Devices: USB touch Screen Controller (Universal)
NIC: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller.

Thanks for your help, Let me know if there is anything else you need.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#4 by fanthom » 07 Aug 2013, 15:48

@casalej
unfortunately you'll have to remaster ISO manually and burn it on your stick.
please follow this instruction carefully:
- unpack the ISO
- edit /boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg and add 'acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor' to the "append" line so it should look like:

Code: Select all

append initrd=/boot/initrd.xz quiet copy2ram acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor
- create /porteus/rootcopy/etc/rc.d/rc.local file, make it executable and put following content there:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

setpci -s 00:02.0 F4.B=00
- create /porteus/rootcopy/sbin folder and put 'setpci' utility from this package:
http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... i486-1.txz
- create new ISO with /porteus/make_iso.sh-org script
- convert it to hybrid (install syslinux package first)

Code: Select all

isohybrid porteus.iso
- burn on usb (make sure that destination matches correct usb letter):

Code: Select all

dd if=porteus.iso of=/dev/sdb
should be ok now :)

btw - moving this thread to the Kiosk section of the forum.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#5 by casalej » 07 Aug 2013, 19:53

Thanks I will give that a try and let you know. After reviewing instructions I may have some questions as I go but I will do my best to research first.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#6 by casalej » 07 Aug 2013, 22:05

I have tried all that you have suggested and I am still getting the same behavior. I tried twice just in case I make a mistake somewhere along the line. There were two things that I thought I might be doing wrong though.

For background I am creating this flashdrive on a virtualized copy of Ubuntu.

To create the rc.local file I right clicked and picked the Create New Document and selected Empty Document. it seemed to want to make it a word document originally but when I went to make it executable it opened in the notepad application.

When I went to make the iso a hybrid it took no time at all.

otherwise all was as I would have expected.

Thanks for the help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#7 by fanthom » 08 Aug 2013, 09:13

there is a chance that my solution does not apply to your particular case. please install our standard porteus-2.1-rc2 on the USB and check if you can boot without problems. if yes then please dump full 'Porteus System Info' raport and upload to pastebin.com.

you could also upload your kiosk ISO somewhere and send me PM with download link so i could check if you followed my steps correctly.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#8 by casalej » 08 Aug 2013, 17:00

Again, thanks so much for your help.

I installed Porteus-KDE4-v2.1-rc2-i486.iso on my flash drive using the instructions on the website. I got through the boot process to where I can select a boot up mode. I select the first option and it cycles on trying to load xorg. it states

xorg failed to startup. Using modesetting driver on second try.

there is a cursor on the screen at this point and the mouse and touch screen work with it.

I hope this helps, I will up my iso in a bit.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#9 by fanthom » 08 Aug 2013, 21:02

a) inspected your ISO and is made properly so must be something else.
b) looping Xorg is caused by modesetting driver in rc2. this bug is fixed already so please come back tomorrow and test kiosk-2.1 and if still no luck then 2.1 standard edition and provide 'Porteus System Info' raport.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#10 by casalej » 09 Aug 2013, 16:34

Ok So I booted the New kiosk iso after recompiling it myself and it didn't work, same behavior as before. So I booted Porteus-KDE4-v2.1-i486.iso with a monitor connected and I got past the boot screen on the monitor but not the touch screen. now it has stopped at a black screen with a mouse cursor and Porteus logo in the top right hand corner. I had to boot in always fresh mode because I made it on a windows fat32 partition.

Again, thanks for working with me.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#11 by fanthom » 09 Aug 2013, 16:54

any chance to get a photo of the stage where porteus standard edition stops booting?
maybe you could install other linux - like puppy - and check if you can boot on this machine.
if puppy wont boot then i would give up. if you get it to work then please upload 3 things:
- output of 'lspci -knn' command
- /var/log/dmesg
- /var/log/Xorg.0.log
to pastebin.com and link here so i could check what's inside this PC.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#12 by casalej » 09 Aug 2013, 17:12

Ok I was able to get the mouse to work and get in to the terminal and run the report the paste bin is as follows

http://pastebin.ca/2430084

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#13 by fanthom » 10 Aug 2013, 14:16

@casalej
bad news - your GPU is supported by 'gma500' driver which is "a blody mess" under linux:
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTEyMjU

you may have a better luck with distros which aims on supporting such hardware like Pixie Live:
http://www.pixielive.org/dotclear/

sorry about that.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

casalej
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 22:40
Distribution: porteus-kiosk-v2.0.5-i486
Location: Goodland KS

Re: Black Screen after Modules booted to Ram

Post#14 by casalej » 12 Aug 2013, 13:12

Thank you guys so much for your assistance. You have been nothing but helpful. I will give Pixie a shot. Thanks again.

Post Reply