how to create module from ( .run )

Post links to your 64bit module repos here. Repo maintainers are responsible for resolving any issues caused by their xzm's.
Post Reply
unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

how to create module from ( .run )

Post#1 by unixino » 04 Aug 2013, 16:15

Hi
i have a program with (.run ) package
how to create a module from that ?
Thanks

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5068
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#2 by francois » 04 Aug 2013, 23:13

Which file or package do you intend to install on porteus? Are you talking about installing the nvidia driver?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#3 by unixino » 05 Aug 2013, 00:55

no it's Modo ( 3D application)

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5068
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#4 by francois » 05 Aug 2013, 01:29

If you have downloaded the file in the /home/guest/Download folder, try in terminal:
cd /home/guest/Download (to position yourself in the right foler)
ls (this will give you the exact name of the .run file)
./the-name-of-the-file.run

With luck this will work. However, there might be some prerequisites to run modo. They should appear in the readme or install file.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

unixino
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 31
Joined: 28 Dec 2012, 11:42
Distribution: 46 bit xfce
Location: Egypt

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#5 by unixino » 05 Aug 2013, 03:38

merci
but how to convert the installation to a separat ( .xzm ) module
to easely add or remove it from modules folder

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#6 by fanthom » 05 Aug 2013, 08:54

.run files are the worst as they do not support DESTDIR. try 'changes-time' as per:
http://www.porteus.org/faq.html#twenty9
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#7 by phhpro » 13 Nov 2013, 02:41

...
Last edited by phhpro on 03 Feb 2016, 21:49, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: how to create module from ( .run )

Post#8 by brokenman » 13 Nov 2013, 11:50

A .run file is likely a packages file that will install it's files into the appropriate directories. In this case you can run the file and then as Fanthom suggested run changes-time from a CLI which will track all files installed and copy them into a temp folder at /root/changes*.

The other type is a package file that contains all the runtime static libraries in one folder. For this you will need to extract the file. Try running the file like this: name-of-file.run --help
This will give you options available. Look for the option to extract the file. You may even be able to 'list' the files to know them, then run the file. While it is running there will be a temporary folder extract somewhere (maybe in /tmp maybe in the same folder as it is run) and you can copy the files from the list command.

Hope that explains things.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply