Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manager)

Porteus based on Arch with pacman package manager.
stifiling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 03:10
Distribution: Porteus w/pacman pm
Location: home

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#166 by stifiling » 21 May 2014, 23:52

are you getting an error when u run the command:

Code: Select all

cupsd
if not try:

Code: Select all

pidof cupsd
and see if a number pops up...

It's been a while since i've owned a printer...but the usual "CUPS 1.7.1" homepage comes up on my installation when i go to the url "http://localhost:631/"...after installing libcups, cups, and running the command cupsd....

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#167 by francois » 22 May 2014, 02:18

You are right it comes up. But as soon as you try to install a printer. There is no more response.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

stifiling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 03:10
Distribution: Porteus w/pacman pm
Location: home

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#168 by stifiling » 22 May 2014, 02:32

I'll have to poke around w/it when i get to a printer. are you using a HP printer? if so, i see on the arch wiki it's saying to install hplip.

Once again though, i'm not too sure about the printing end of things. Looks like it's going to take a lil pecking though to get it all figured out. I'll try to get to a printer and mess around w/it this weekend.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#169 by francois » 23 May 2014, 21:40

Hello stifiling,

Hplip is for hp printers, I have a brother printer.

Please try installing system-config-printer an additional program and open the package. It works on the top of cups. You will see what I mean.
You do not need a printer to test the package. With system-config-printer package tries to install network with ipp settings as shown in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=1994

Under cups:
viewtopic.php?t=822&p=14057
viewtopic.php?t=727

But maybe you gave me an idea.
Last edited by francois on 01 Jun 2014, 13:56, edited 1 time in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

stifiling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 03:10
Distribution: Porteus w/pacman pm
Location: home

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#170 by stifiling » 01 Jun 2014, 05:57

I got it printing. install gutenprint, killall cupsd and then run cupsd again. and when u browse to localhost:631...see if you can find or add your printer. admin's username/password = root/toor

jawbonegroove
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 May 2014, 06:54
Distribution: Arch Linux
Location: pdx/usa

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#171 by jawbonegroove » 02 Jun 2014, 07:25

hello. i'm just starting to poke around looking for interesting distros, and this is fantastic! i think think this project needs more exposure/development.

i do have some questions/comments.

francois: regarding adduser, that tripped me up too when i moved from debian to arch... the command is useradd, here's the arch wiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Us ... management

i'm still working on login / window manager settings, as i'd rather not use root all the time.

i don't know if you want to throw some more packages in there or not (maybe a laptop module?), but the clickpad (no right click) and touchscreen (calibration) on my sony laptop have been a bit of a pain. working on that now.

i ditched pacman express for pacaur; it runs -Sf instead of -S --force which fails whenever i needed to force anything (which seems to be a lot so far)

really though, i like this enough to dedicate some time to it; i may even get adventurous and work up a fltk wrapper for pacaur.

i haven't tried tracking this down yet (it doesn't seem to effect functionality that i've seen):

Code: Select all

# pacman -S foo      
warning: config file /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist, line 4: directive 'Server' in section 'options' not recognized.
thanks for the work you put into this!!
cheers

stifiling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 03:10
Distribution: Porteus w/pacman pm
Location: home

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#172 by stifiling » 02 Jun 2014, 13:19

which Sensei are you using? 2.1 or 3.0?

I found a different way of building the system, and --force installing packages shouldn't be necessary anymore. also the contents of /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist should look exactly like this:

Code: Select all

# WARNING! Do not edit this file if you want stable system!
## United States
Server = http://seblu.net/a/arm/2014/03/25/$repo/os/$arch
so as we can see...it's only 3 lines. no "line 4"...

jawbonegroove
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 May 2014, 06:54
Distribution: Arch Linux
Location: pdx/usa

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#173 by jawbonegroove » 02 Jun 2014, 16:49

sorry, should've included that... i'm using 3.0 64bit with xfce. my mirrorlist is the same, looks like it was just prepended by pacman express:

Code: Select all

# Server list generated by rankmirrors on 2014-05-30
( i got a little excited with the fancy buttons i guess )

but the problem is the same ... after removing line 1:

Code: Select all

pacman -Syu
warning: config file /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist, line 3: directive 'Server' in section 'options' not recognized.
EDIT: i can't remember now what all i forced ( or whether i tried without it first; i've slept since then ) except the devx64-xfce30 package which wouldn't install without.

stifiling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 03:10
Distribution: Porteus w/pacman pm
Location: home

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#174 by stifiling » 02 Jun 2014, 17:47

the system is built using the ARM (Arch Rollback Machine) packages dated March 25th. Using the default arch mirrors, is more than likely what's causing the issue. Although this system is based on Arch, it's not a rolling distro. So pretty much...u should use the seblu.net server in the mirrorlist file...like I have illustrated above. Editing the mirrorlist using rankmirrors, or even changing the seblu.net date from 03/25, is presently untested by myself, and since the packages are about 3 months old now...for the most part, probably won't work too well.

jawbonegroove
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 May 2014, 06:54
Distribution: Arch Linux
Location: pdx/usa

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#175 by jawbonegroove » 02 Jun 2014, 17:59

also maybe of interest. i have a boot partition with just the kernel and init image for each of my boots (currently arch, porteus, sensei, slitaz, debian and windows -- suggestions welcome).

my syslinux.cfg entry:

Code: Select all

LABEL sensei
    MENU LABEL Sensei Linux (Porteus-Arch)
    LINUX ../sensei/vmlinuz
    APPEND initrd=../sensei/initrd.xz copy2ram root=/dev/sda6 from=/dev/sda6 changes=/dev/sda6 timezone=America/Los_Angeles
seems to work well.

note that any time i modify my kernel or init image i need to copy them to my /boot/sensei/

jawbonegroove
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 May 2014, 06:54
Distribution: Arch Linux
Location: pdx/usa

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#176 by jawbonegroove » 02 Jun 2014, 18:01

looking for that now. i didn't think i enabled any arch mirrors but i'll poke around some more.

jawbonegroove
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 May 2014, 06:54
Distribution: Arch Linux
Location: pdx/usa

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#177 by jawbonegroove » 02 Jun 2014, 18:05

okay, i'm just an idiot.

Code: Select all

#[testing]
#SigLevel = PackageRequired
Include = /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
beautiful.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#178 by francois » 03 Jun 2014, 15:30

stifiling wrote:I got it printing. install gutenprint, killall cupsd and then run cupsd again. and when u browse to localhost:631...see if you can find or add your printer. admin's username/password = root/toor
Very busy now. I will try it as soon as I get some spare time.

Thanks a lot.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#179 by francois » 06 Jun 2014, 03:09

According to the wiki:
I have gutenprint installed. But it seems that cups is not starting at bootup

1) According to the wiki:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/CUPS
[/code]

You should issue the following command to have cups at startup:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# [code]root@sensei:~# systemctl enable cups.service
bash: [code]root@sensei:~#: command not found
root@sensei:~# 
It does not work. And I did not found a cue with google on some kind of solution.

2) however using cups command will permit access to the installed printers.

But:
3) cupsd command will not get system-config-printer to function properly.



[/code]
is not enough. You have to issue the following command:

Code: Select all

root@sensei:~# systemctl enable cups.service
root@sensei:~#
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

stifiling
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 93
Joined: 14 Jul 2013, 03:10
Distribution: Porteus w/pacman pm
Location: home

Re: Porteus/Arch aka Sensei (Porteus w/pacman package manage

Post#180 by stifiling » 06 Jun 2014, 05:22

to get it to start at bootup you could add cupsd to your /root/.start file. the systemctl command is systemd related...and this doesn't use systemd.

did you get it to print to your canon printer after installing gutenprint? even though you don't have cupsd autostarting at boot yet?

Post Reply