[HOWTO] boot multiple versions of Porteus from one partition

Here you can post about non-standard installation methods
(for example when using grub4dos).
Post Reply
User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

[HOWTO] boot multiple versions of Porteus from one partition

Post#1 by Ahau » 24 Jan 2011, 15:46

This Article has been posted to the main site, here.

Edit 14-7-15: Approximate Update for above Link

Feel free to continue discussing this article in this thread.

Thanks!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: [HOWTO] run 64- and 32-bit Porteus from the same partiti

Post#2 by fanthom » 24 Jan 2011, 17:11

need to admit that before Ahau mentioned this i used to copy and paste 32/64 bit versions from other folder to the main one.
Now i dont have to :)

Thanks!

BTW - instead of:

Code: Select all

mknod /dev/loop/142 b 7 142
mkdir /mnt/iso
mount –o loop /path/to/iso/isofilename.iso /mnt/iso
you can just do

Code: Select all

mloop /path/to/iso/isofilename.iso
this is one of the hidden features of Porteus (thanks to brokenman) :wink:
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: [HOWTO] run 64- and 32-bit Porteus from the same partiti

Post#3 by Ahau » 25 Jan 2011, 00:22

Great, thank you!

To be honest, I've been using the max_loop cheatcode and using 'mount /path/to/iso.iso /mnt/iso' without any other options, but I thought mknod and mount -o loop were more technically correct. Courtesy of brokenman, it looks like I can now have it both ways!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply