[SOLVED] Font display in Firefox

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hool de Nord
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Jan 2011, 15:00
Location: Poland
Contact:

[SOLVED] Font display in Firefox

Post#1 by Hool de Nord » 22 Jan 2011, 17:52

I've compared differences between how the font
is displayed in Porteus, Slax and Windows:
http://i53.tinypic.com/33wb3ol.png

Is it just me, or the font displayed in Porteus is the ugliest?
I installed Microsoft Core Fonts in Porteus before comparing,
but I think that Firefox just doesn't use installed fonts.

Sorry if it's not a bug.

EDIT:

Ok, maybe I didn't describe my problem clearly.
When I install Windows fonts in Slax, Firefox uses them.
When I install Windows fonts in Porteus, Firefox ignores them
(at least default font stays the same).

Nevermind, it's probably me doing something wrong.
Last edited by Hool de Nord on 23 Jan 2011, 19:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Font display in Firefox

Post#2 by fanthom » 23 Jan 2011, 18:30

i have used dejavu-fonts-ttf by default.
if you have other proposition please post it and i'll consider adding or replacing default one.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

bong
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 12:27
Location: Philippines

Re: Font display in Firefox

Post#3 by bong » 16 Apr 2011, 16:34

as a follow up can you just make sure that firefox uses all available fonts in the system first so that it can render websites the way the website designers intended them to be viewed? or is this not an option in linux because i noticed that opensuse
firefox does the same thing its uses the system default font but wont use other installed fonts to render the website accurately like it does in windows.
Opera behaves the same on windows also, if it can find the fonts then it will use them.

Post Reply