Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#76 by Hamza » 17 Jul 2013, 22:04

You also tried it with just 000-kernel.xzm and 001-core.xzm?
Yes and this doesn't works.
Nothing in your rootcopy?
No, it's a fresh install and using "Always Fresh" mode which remove "rootcopy" feature.
Have you checked the md5 of 000-kernel.xzm and 001-core.xzm?
They're both prefect.
Have you some extras in your kernel / APPEND line in porteus.cfg?
Using the default one so there is no extra parameters or line.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#77 by Rava » 17 Jul 2013, 22:12

^
And nothing to be seen on the text screen when you scroll it with the keyboard?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#78 by Hamza » 17 Jul 2013, 22:14

No, there is nothing to see so far. No warning, no error. It just freeze/stop at "udev" and seems to works ... without end.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#79 by brokenman » 18 Jul 2013, 01:22

This is a very strange case since everything worked in rc1 correct? The kernel and 000-kernel.xzm module appear identical in both rc1 and rc2 however the initrd.xz gives a different md5sum. It is most certainly a hardware problem if it stops at udev. Hamza you have an nVidia card right? Any major changes in initrd.xz fanthom? Did the pciids for nVidia change? Also what filesystem are you trying to boot from Hamza?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#80 by Hamza » 18 Jul 2013, 01:29

I didn't run rc1. Switched from 2.0 final to 2.1rc2. Yes, I have an nVidia card. I'm booting from a NTFS partition using grub.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#81 by fanthom » 18 Jul 2013, 07:42

@Hamza
you wrote that you were able to hear KDE4 sound which means that booting continued. it's probably just a backlight issue so you could insert max brighteness value through rc.local as per:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=1727&p=11865
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Backlight

if that wont help then please setup 'changes=' and give me log files for review.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1122
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#82 by donald » 18 Jul 2013, 10:59

XFCE-v2.1-rc2-i486 (32bit)

In Thunar (as guest) I'm able to mount/umount every Patition without being root.
Even if I unmount them as root I can mount them again as guest.
Only a hidden Partition says NO (trying to unmount as guest)

btw: I would like to have the clearlooks-theme back

And as I said before:
In PSC I choose Firewall-mode Block all, after rebooting it is
always back to strict.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#83 by Rava » 20 Jul 2013, 06:02

Up to now I got no answer to my post on last page. (about renaming the label of a USB stick using gparted / mlabel error); for details click the above link.

____________________________________________

System: XFCe Port 2.1 rc2 fresh x86-64.

Some usr/share/man errors left in 2.1 rc2 XFCe x86-64 with nVidia-304.88-porteus-v2.1-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm :

Code: Select all

/usr/share/man/man1/nvidia-cuda-proxy-control.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/nvidia-installer.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/nvidia-settings.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/nvidia-smi.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man1/nvidia-xconfig.1.gz
/usr/share/man/man3/drmAvailable.3
/usr/share/man/man3/drmHandleEvent.3
/usr/share/man/man3/drmModeGetResources.3
/usr/share/man/man7/drm-gem.7
/usr/share/man/man7/drm-kms.7
/usr/share/man/man7/drm-memory.7
/usr/share/man/man7/drm-mm.7
/usr/share/man/man7/drm-ttm.7
/usr/share/man/man7/drm.7
The modules activated are:

Code: Select all

001-core.xzm
002-xorg.xzm
003-xfce.xzm
04-firefox.xzm
06-abiword.xzm
07-printing.xzm
nVidia-304.88-porteus-v2.1-rc2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
Also, trying to install fbreader using PPM resulted in the error that the modules have been corrupted:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda1/porteus/modules# file fbreader-0.12.10-x86_64-2ponce.xzm libiodbc-3.52.7-x86_64-2.xzm liblinebreak-2.0-x86_64-1ponce.xzm qt-4.8.2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm
fbreader-0.12.10-x86_64-2ponce.xzm: HTML document, ASCII text
libiodbc-3.52.7-x86_64-2.xzm:       HTML document, ASCII text
liblinebreak-2.0-x86_64-1ponce.xzm: HTML document, ASCII text
qt-4.8.2-x86_64-1ftm.xzm:           HTML document, ASCII text
root@porteus:/mnt/sda1/porteus/modules# grep broke fbreader-0.12.10-x86_64-2ponce.xzm 
<center><h1>OMG! You broke teh Interweb!</h1>
<img src=/broke.png><br><br><br><br>
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#84 by fanthom » 20 Jul 2013, 07:04

@Rava
you must have some changes still saved from porteus-1.2 as all these modules belongs to 1.2 repo.
probably you have to manually delete LIBS.TXT and PACKAGES.TXT from /opt/ppm. not sure about the files from /etc.

@brokenman
maybe you could stamp some config in /etc with repo version and cleanup old files in case when user does an upgrade?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#85 by Rava » 20 Jul 2013, 07:42

@fanthom
Nope, it was a fresh boot without any old stuff... Strange. Where are all the files needed so that I can check, aside from /opt/ppm ?
Or is the stuff only in /opt/ppm ?

_________

UPDATE
I checked which PPM I seem to run, and it's from 002-xorg.xzm :

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/mnt/live/memory/images$ cat ./002-xorg.xzm/opt/ppm/ppmversion
PPMVER:
120112
LPVER:
121207
Is that a date stamp? Then it's quite old indeed...

But these are the new ones that I got using the web page / XFCe 2.1rc2 / x86-64. (/x is a symlink that always points to the boot device... :D )

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/mnt/live/memory/images$ ls -o /x/porteus/base/
total 151392
drwxrwxrwx 2 root     4096 2013-07-17 12:48 .
drwxrwxrwx 7 root     4096 2013-07-19 11:11 ..
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 14573568 2013-07-09 20:20 000-kernel.xzm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 45993984 2013-07-09 20:20 001-core.xzm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 37908480 2013-07-09 20:20 002-xorg.xzm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 24633344 2013-07-09 20:20 003-xfce.xzm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 25047040 2013-07-09 20:20 04-firefox.xzm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  6860800 2013-07-09 20:20 06-abiword.xzm
md5sums:

Code: Select all

f1ac7b859f69778fea9904a50da1c64a  /x/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
957e88d056569e1b20b3749def9dc282  /x/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
7da378c8a19c621f86b2fda15427e2f9  /x/porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
c66cb3c28f904cd81bfb844cc3583524  /x/porteus/base/003-xfce.xzm
c114de8ad2c53e5f2d1d539788a85285  /x/porteus/base/04-firefox.xzm
c29b99c12328475c68b3da113b4a8cdc  /x/porteus/base/06-abiword.xzm
Sadly, there is no md5sums.txt on ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/testing/Porteus-v2.1-rc2/ ... or am I just too stupid to find it? :(

I checked the md5sum from 002-xorg.xzm from ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/testing/Porteus-v2.1-rc2/ and it's the same md5sum that I have with my used / local one...

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/mnt/live/memory/images$ uname -a
Linux porteus 3.9.4-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat May 25 21:56:02 UTC 2013 x86_64 Intel(R) Pentium(R) D  CPU 2.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
... May 25 sounds indeed old for 2.1rc2... or not? O___o
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#86 by fanthom » 20 Jul 2013, 15:02

@Rava
your stamps are correct (as per ones shipped with the ISO) but on the server we have:

Code: Select all

PPMVER:
120112
LPVER:
130710
and PPM should fetch the last version when you launch it. maybe you did not have internet connection at the time of opening PPM?
please run 'Updates' -> 'Update Module Database' and check if stamps changed.

btw: recreated md5sums on /testing
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#87 by wread » 20 Jul 2013, 15:33

@saman
Here is how I added proxy settings to chrome/chromium:

1)You go to this site and click the green button "Add to chrome",

2)As I work normally as root, I found the plugin under two folders: /root/.cache/chromium and /root/.config/chromium.

3)Put the two folders found above (I guess if you are using chrome, they will be named accordingly) in rootcopy.

4)Reboot. Your Proxy settings button is installed! :Yahoo!:
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#88 by Rava » 20 Jul 2013, 17:26

@fanthom
please run 'Updates' -> 'Update Module Database' and check if stamps changed.

Doing do, it told me "You have the most recent versions of all PPM items!"
And now the stamps are:

Code: Select all

PPMVER:
120112
LPVER:
130710
So, it seems I did NOT have the most recent version...
So, when I run without saving changes, I better put the most recent /opt/ppm/ppmversion in my rootcopy folder, I presume?

btw: recreated md5sums on /testing

Yay! :Yahoo!:
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#89 by fanthom » 21 Jul 2013, 06:45

So, when I run without saving changes, I better put the most recent /opt/ppm/ppmversion in my rootcopy folder, I presume?
nope. you just need to launch PPM which compares local ppmversion with one on the server and downloads update when necessary.
no other action is required from your side.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
TomasXu
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Jun 2013, 13:50
Distribution: porteus , Fedora
Location: China
Contact:

Re: Feedback and Bug Reports for Porteus v2.1 RC2

Post#90 by TomasXu » 21 Jul 2013, 13:14

[Porteus 2.1 RC2 lxde, 32bit]parcellite is causing troubles to pcmanfm
Hi,
Here I've got some awkward experiences with copying/moving files with PCmanFM
Once the clipboard program parcellite is running and holding contents, the filemanager pcmanfm will fail to copy/move any files. I also noted that to kill parcellite or to clean up the clipboard contents would make PCmanFM function properly.
The test was all done using Always Fresh.

Any ideas on this potential bug?

(May be the site administrator want to delete the repeated page : viewtopic.php?f=53&t=2353 )

Post Reply