Porteus first run setup

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Porteus first run setup

Post#1 by brokenman » 20 Jan 2011, 20:14

First the question, do you think a first run setup script is a good idea for porteus?
If so should it be run in console or kdialog? (requires booting to KDE)
Lastly what should be included in the setup. So far i have 'changes setup' and 'network setup'

I have almost finished writing one with the following features:
  • It looks to see if running from non writeable media and skips setup.
    It dumps a marker file in boot folder which it looks for during startup. If found it skips setup.
    Autosensing of FAT partition after which it will use slaxsave.dat file to save changes and ask what size you prefer
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1505
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#2 by Blaze » 20 Jan 2011, 21:17

Hi. This theme about changes on MS patriotion?
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#3 by brokenman » 20 Jan 2011, 23:48

Hi. This theme about changes on MS patriotion?
It looks at partition porteus is running from. If FAT32 it suggests changes be saved in container file (slaxsave.dat) and does the decompressing and setting up of changes.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#4 by Ahau » 21 Jan 2011, 02:57

How about checking to see if the speakers are muted in alsamixer, and unmuting them if they are?
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#5 by brokenman » 21 Jan 2011, 03:26

Thanks. Will do this.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#6 by fanthom » 21 Jan 2011, 13:08

kdialog is good looking and functional but i would vote for console as more universal solution. LXDE users are growing in strength and we should also think about other desktops like XFCE.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
KSA_ARAB
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 52
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 00:54
Location: Saudi Arabia
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#7 by KSA_ARAB » 22 Jan 2011, 03:46

of course , if will be kdialog => that's mean ignore lxde users.
console is good, but how about xdialog for both kde and lxde !!

I do not think this script will be important .
but this script should not work if we run Porteus LiveCD or Copy2Ram, this script should work after installed Porteus on HardDisk.

# this script can help in:
* chose layout language, and which buttons 'alt+shift' .
* connect network, LAN or WLAN.
* time zone and date.
* ...etc :pardon:

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#8 by Rava » 08 Mar 2011, 09:25

fanthom wrote:kdialog is good looking and functional but i would vote for console as more universal solution. LXDE users are growing in strength and we should also think about other desktops like XFCE.
About XFCe...

I know, late reply is late... and I wrote the same already in the slax forum...

My idea/Suggestion: tweaking a standard Porteus into a Porteus with no KDE but XFCe instead means also include all the non KDE programs from the console, like cdrecord, mkisofs and more like that (and manfiles and readmes and setup files), and create that module for each and every Porteus version anew. Same is when someone wants to create a Gnome-Only Porteus.
And technically spoken the users need to download that extra module, although all these programs and manfiles and readmes and setup files are just the same as in the original Porteus ISO...


005-kdeapps.lzm
006-koffice.lzm
can be ommited. Same with 003-lxde.lzm

BUT the non-KDE programs from 004-kde.lzm are needed for any non-KDE porteus as well...

Therefore my idea: to me it sounds easier when we would split the 004-kde.lzm for each any every generic Porteus version - like into:

003-lxde.lzm
004-konsole.lzm
(or maybe: 004-programs or any other neat name) [here goes cdrecord, mkisofs and whatnot]
005-kde.lzm (the rest of the original 004-kde.lzm from Porteus 0.9 to 1.0a - but this time really only the KDE stuff)
and the rest of the modules with the according number.


And I think it would be possible to write a script that auto-splits the module... Simply based on a listfile that lists all the path and filenames to be removed from the original 004-kde.lzm


What do you folks think of that idea?

I hope I was able to explain it in an understandable way, since I sometimes have issues doing so in English... :%)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#9 by fanthom » 08 Mar 2011, 21:58

Sorry - it's little bit off topic but important:

@Rava and others
what about merging 004-kde + 005-kdeapps into 005-kde and create 003-multimedia with moved libs+utils (like mplayer, cdrecord) from kde desktop?
it would look like here:
000-kernel
001-core
002-xorg need to export all libs to 003-multimedia
003-multimedia need to import all libs from kde (except of qt and kde specific libs) + optionally: merge 007-firefox
004-lxde
005-kde
006-devel

in this case lxde (as well as Gnome, Xfce, etc) users would have mplayer, cdrecord and other non kde specific utils and libs available by default.

What do you think?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 118
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#10 by hypomania » 09 Mar 2011, 00:49

idea to rearrange base modules !

ok , as I read many topics on internet says "LXDE" is the best lightweight desktop currently and faster than XFCE.
-------------

maybe should move KDE applications from "005-kdeapps" to "004-kde" and rename "005-kdeapps" to "005-apps" ,
and this "005-apps" module contain applications which work on both LXDE and KDe , for example: unrar, mplayer, xdialog ... etc.
that's mean if we deleted "004-kde" will not lose applications in LXDE, also if we deleted "003-lxde" will not lose applications in KDE.

regards !

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#11 by Rava » 09 Mar 2011, 11:20

fanthom wrote:Sorry - it's little bit off topic but important:

@Rava and others
what about merging 004-kde + 005-kdeapps into 005-kde and create 003-multimedia with moved libs+utils (like mplayer, cdrecord) from kde desktop?
it would look like here:
000-kernel
001-core
002-xorg need to export all libs to 003-multimedia
003-multimedia need to import all libs from kde (except of qt and kde specific libs) + optionally: merge 007-firefox
004-lxde
005-kde
006-devel

in this case lxde (as well as Gnome, Xfce, etc) users would have mplayer, cdrecord and other non kde specific utils and libs available by default.

What do you think?
You mean, when making an XFCe only Parteus the user would use:
000-kernel
001-core
002-xorg
003-multimedia
007-firefox
00X-xfce

I would keep Firefox (incl. recent Flash) in an extra file since it should be updated when a new version is available (security and vulnerability issues and all that jazz)

Or:
Gnome with LXDE:
000-kernel
001-core
002-xorg
003-multimedia
004-lxde
007-firefox
00Y-gnome

When I got that right then I would say: Yes, let's make it so :Yahoo!: , but please keep FFx in its own module.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#12 by fanthom » 09 Mar 2011, 23:32

@Rava
yes - that's my intention :)
do other agrees on this change?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus first run setup

Post#13 by Rava » 10 Mar 2011, 01:02

fanthom wrote:@Rava
yes - that's my intention :)
do other agrees on this change?
Well... I sure do, but with the extra thingy keeping FFx in its own module because of the easier update and it being a vulnerable part of the OS...

And I would help you with splitting up the modules for... say, the Porteus 1.0 beta version. :) ahem, I meant gamma version of course...
Since that would have been my work to do anyway... :friends:

EDIT:\\
let's move discussion up here:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=359&p=1949#p1949

fanthom
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Post Reply