Increase Ram Disk

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Increase Ram Disk

Post#1 by lukaluki » 29 May 2013, 21:38

Hello,

my RAM-Only Mini-PC has 4GB of Ram, when I use porteus in copy2ram mode, the virtual disk only seems to have 2,2 GB available - so how can this be increased because there seems more ram been unused ?

kind regards
Last edited by lukaluki on 29 May 2013, 21:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Increase Ram Disk

Post#2 by Hamza » 29 May 2013, 21:39

Use ramsize cheatcode.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

lukaluki
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 08 Dec 2011, 01:01
Location: asdfw

Re: Increase Ram Disk

Post#3 by lukaluki » 29 May 2013, 21:46

Does it will cause probelms if I set the Disk Size to 3,5GB when the PC has 4GB available ?

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Increase Ram Disk

Post#4 by Hamza » 30 May 2013, 07:44

There shouldn't any problems but please be careful as your system may needs some MB for "shared memory".
NjVFQzY2Rg==

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 117
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: Increase Ram Disk

Post#5 by hypomania » 30 May 2013, 10:09

there is alternative solution for RAM , you can make new Swap device or new Swap file.

Code: Select all

#mkswap /mnt/sdb1 1 GB
or
#mkswap /mnt/sda1/temp.swp 3 GB
if you make swap file, then you can mount it and delete it.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Increase Ram Disk

Post#6 by Ahau » 30 May 2013, 18:57

You can also experiment with the "zram" cheatcode, it creates a virtual block device inside your RAM that acts as swap, with the data being compressed.

You mentioned this is a RAM-only machine, does it have a USB port or card reader? You could add a usb flash drive or SD card for storage and reduce the amount of RAM you allocate for changes, or you could even create a swap partition on your flash media and activate it for additional RAM. This is slower (usually much slower than having swap on a hard drive) and it's not good for the flash media because it gets written and erased a lot, but it does work in a pinch for the right situations. I do this when I'm compiling stuff for ARM - my tablet only has 1GB of RAM and several programs require up to 3 GB in order to compile, so I stick in a USB flash drive with a swap partition on it :)
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

Post Reply