terminal prompt

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

terminal prompt

Post#1 by ralcocer » 21 May 2013, 21:04

How do I personalize the terminal prompt, I have change the usual places in etc/HOSTNAME and profile and razor but still get porteus as the general ID of the system.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: terminal prompt

Post#2 by Hamza » 21 May 2013, 21:19

How do I personalize the terminal prompt
~/.bashrc ?
I have change the usual places in etc/HOSTNAME
You should reboot Porteus (or any other Linux distros) after modifying the hostname.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: terminal prompt

Post#3 by ralcocer » 22 May 2013, 16:27

I did replace it in all the places however I had to hard code the change, the "h" variable seems to be hard coded into the system bacause no matter what you have in HOSTNAME porteus always comes out., also just before the "issue" file is displayed it says it is logging in to porteus.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: terminal prompt

Post#4 by fanthom » 22 May 2013, 19:35

no matter what you have in HOSTNAME porteus always comes out.
if 002-xorg.xzm is active then NetworkManager manages hostname, ip, dns, etc...
please change hostname in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
also just before the "issue" file is displayed it says it is logging in to porteus
this is hardcoded in linuxrc (inside initrd). there are many places where porteus name is present (scripts, config files, even artwork) so rebranding is tough but still possible. please dont ask me about these cause i dont even remember all of them.

it may be a better idea to use Linux-Live-Kit by Tomas M which (afaik) let's you choose a name of your live distro:
http://www.linux-live.org/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: terminal prompt

Post#5 by ralcocer » 22 May 2013, 23:30

Thanks, I will be moving on.

Post Reply