printer

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

printer

Post#1 by ralcocer » 18 May 2013, 17:49

When I try to setup my printer, I have to start the rc.cups manualy. Is this normal with version2.0?

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: printer

Post#2 by brokenman » 19 May 2013, 14:00

Fanthom pointed us over to this post and asked to check that rc.cups is executable by default in 32bit v2.0 which i can confirm.

Please give output (directly after boot) from:

Code: Select all

ls -l /etc/rc.d/rc.cups
During boot all executables in /etc/rc.d should be started. Do you have any extra modules that may be overwriting the existing default rc.cups file?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: printer

Post#3 by ralcocer » 19 May 2013, 20:39

rc.cups is executable , it will not start , gives lp* errors if I start it manually /home/guest# /etc/rc.d/rc.cups start
cups: started scheduler. it will run. It did the same thing from .iso.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: printer

Post#4 by ralcocer » 20 May 2013, 13:52

Solved, the problem was the Brother cupswrapper script. just forgot I put it in the rootcopy.

Post Reply