What do you use porteus for?

Non release banter
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4984
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#16 by francois » 02 May 2013, 02:11

I use porteus as my main system on my last four laptops. I was fed up with the slow speed of w* and the constant updates needed by the os. The speed of the system is the most important quality of porteus. Working with other oses, I tend to become very impatient. It could be related to the os, but I have been told by my physician that it might be related to high blood pressure too.

My main needs are satisfied with porteus in terms of packages. But maybe we should ask what would you like to be able to do with porteus?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#17 by cttan » 02 May 2013, 15:34

Hi francois,

Well said! I am also getting very impatient with the OS(Wxxxxx). Keep asking to update patches and constantly running something in the background and dragging the OS to become slower and slower.

I have since moved on to Porteus when the time is right(Sep 2012) and never have to look back. I have not booted into my Wxxxx os even once for the last six months.

:beer:

UrUtusUbU
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 70
Joined: 21 Apr 2012, 00:19
Distribution: Hannah Montana Linux
Location: inmygrave

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#18 by UrUtusUbU » 25 Jun 2013, 19:19

hi all
for make another distro

xtudiux
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 72
Joined: 07 Mar 2011, 06:01
Location: Philippines

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#19 by xtudiux » 15 Aug 2013, 16:57

Main OS on my ACER v5-171

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4984
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#20 by francois » 15 Aug 2013, 18:58

Main os on my toshiba satellite z930 laptop. I do everything lightning fast, with much pleasure and satisfaction. :D

There is nothing that windows stock could do better. And all packages are free spirited. :twisted:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1175
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#21 by donald » 15 Aug 2013, 20:49

.....to keep my 12 Years old Box alive and useful.... :Yahoo!:

rollingscissors
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 02:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.0.1
Location: People's Republic of China (I outsourced myself...)
Contact:

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#22 by rollingscissors » 15 Oct 2013, 09:50

Porteus 2.1 is great! I have used SLAX Remix for a long time, and dabble in Debian Sid. Porteus is top notch, im my opinion, because it runs smoothly and does fast work. It is not hard to use, either.
Cheers,
William Munny
http://mofolinux.com

flux
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Germany

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#23 by flux » 17 Nov 2013, 20:42

I use Porteus on an USB drive with xbmc to watch livetv with an dvb-t-adapter and videos over wlan from a local samba server. With a HDMI connection to my tv it is a great revival for my old notebook with HDMI port.

Thank you for your excellent work!

flux.

hypomania
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 117
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 10:50
Distribution: Windows phone
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#24 by hypomania » 19 Nov 2013, 02:08

I use porteus linux for everything except:
1- those website which require Windows and they use Silverlight add-ons in IE browser.
2- fix Android phones and install Frimwares, like Odin for samsung....etc.

router
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 18
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 02:22
Distribution: Porteus 3 and pclinuxOS
Location: usa

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#25 by router » 02 Aug 2014, 20:03

i'd like to see this topic come alive again. i'd be interested to see how the answers evolve as Porteus evolves, and i believe there may be some value toward the advancement of Porteus and some inspiration for its growth if people share in this and similar discussions about what they have done, and maybe challenges they have overcome in getting some unique or exotic thing to work.

right now i'm using Porteus 3 on a dell latitude d810, and am in the next days going to install it on an old compaq tower i have that i use as a server for a few things i play with from time to time, that right now are running under windows, i'd prefer them on a linux os.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3196
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#26 by Ed_P » 03 Aug 2014, 02:42

I've used it because it supports all of my hardware. My BIOS, my SATA hard drive, my NIC, my screen, my keyboard and my printer all out of the box. Plus a browser that gives me Internet access and the ability to access files and folders on my Windows machine. But mostly because it has great forum support people who have helped me learn Linux.

While it runs on 3 different ASUS ONE netbooks I also have a Dell Latitude, a D400, that I want to try it on in the near future.
Ed

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#27 by freestyler » 03 Aug 2014, 20:34

Porn...
https://www.porteus-apps.org

THX2006
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 15
Joined: 26 Sep 2014, 00:16
Distribution: Porteus LXDE
Location: U.S.

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#28 by THX2006 » 26 Sep 2014, 02:09

Warm Fuzziness ?

User avatar
bdheeman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 77
Joined: 15 Sep 2012, 19:39
Distribution: Porteus 3.0.1+ MATE/XFCE
Location: Chandigarh, PB, India
Contact:

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#29 by bdheeman » 26 Sep 2014, 06:39

I use the Porteus + MATE as a mainstream desktop; here follows a list of default modules (though, some of these are home-brew) loaded into RAM:

Code: Select all

[guest@porteus:~]$ ls -1 /mnt/live/memory/images/
000-kernel.xzm/
001-core.xzm/
002-xorg.xzm/
003-mate.xzm/
004-firefox.xzm/
004-flash-plugin.xzm/
004-hangouts-plugin.xzm/
004-thunderbird.xzm/
005-additional-fonts.xzm/
005-devel.xzm/
005-gimp-studio.xzm/
005-oracle-java7-jre.xzm/
005-stardict.xzm/
006-libreoffice.xzm/
007-printing.xzm/
What I find still missing is only lack of some proper integration; see:

Code: Select all

[guest@porteus:~]$ xdg-settings --list
Known properties:
  default-web-browser           Default web browser
[guest@porteus:~]$ xdg-settings get default-web-browser
xdg-settings: unknown desktop environment
Hence, I'm unable to set 'default-web-browser' for MATE/Gnome apps :wall:

I find, the videos play a lot better and quite smoothly over other distributions even in VESA mode under X; I'm forced to fallback to VESA because we don't have any stable and, or OSS drivers for:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~]$ /sbin/lspci -nn |grep -i vga
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 771/671 PCIE VGA Display Adapter [1039:6351] (rev 10)
--
Balwinder S "bdheeman" Dheeman (http://bdheeman.BlogSpot.in/)
"Working together, works! The proof is GNU/Linux and F/LOSS Projects;
Do you too voluntarily work on or contribute to making any difference?"

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: What do you use porteus for?

Post#30 by brokenman » 26 Sep 2014, 15:10

bdheeman open /usr/bin/xdg-settings and at line 318 add this:

Code: Select all

elif [ x"$DESKTOP_SESSION" == x"mate" ]; then DE=gnome;

Then set default browser to:

Code: Select all

xdg-settings set default-web-browser browser.desktop
This will ensure compatibility when you activate a different browser module.
Fixed in next release. Thanks.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply